We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Conwy

Hostelworld.comUS$ 35*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 52*
US$ 35*
Great Deal
US$ 52*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Conwy
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Conwy
See the most recent reviews
Showing 408: English reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Excellent Hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Good location for access to local sights and restaurants in case you want to eat out and treat yourself. I arrived early and the staff was very accommodating in terms of check in and baggage storage

3Thank pdxtop
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a bit of a clamber up the hill from the train station. I stayed in a four bed dorm which was comfortable and quite spacious. Good sized lockers. The shower in the bathroom was quite small and had poor water pressure. The dining room was huge and has great views in both directions. Good place to chill...

Thank Elise G
North Wales
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our school has been going annually to this hostel for over 17years. We take about 36 yr5 children. Our stay is always one of the best. Made this way by the superb staff who work there. They are always welcoming and friendly. We try our best to get lots of 'compliments' and as yet have never failed. The views from...

2Thank marg58NorthWales
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great bit of feedback. It's always encouraging to know that even after all these years, our guests are still satisfied with our service. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again next year. The team at YHA Conwy Youth Hostel

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Deep snow at Idwal YH meant we weren't allowed to camp there, but the helpful warden found a private room at Conwy - lucky for Easter weekend. We didn't specially relish heading into town, but the hostel was a really nice surprise: spacious, friendly, and above all, superbly situated with all-round views. It mightn't have the picturesque appeal of an...

1Thank nickmcw
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 27 March 2013

lovely hostel within walking distance from the town centre. stayed in a double room with one bunk bed. very clean and warm. plenty of hot water and nice bathroom/shower. Cooked breakfast as well as cereals fruits yogurts fresh juices teas/coffees offered additionally, £5 for adults £3 for children. great games room for the kids, nice tv lounge and staff friendly...

1Thank Marie S
Reviewed 17 March 2013

It's been a long time since I spent a weekend away in a Youth Hostel. I was party of a 20 strong party spending a long w/e walking in Snowdonia. The staff at the hostel were very welcoming, the food good and the accommodation clean and well maintained. Views from the hostel are excellent and there is good car parking...

1Thank Newroaders
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Very clean and well maintained hostel, the only downside was that if you want to have a drink on site you have to buy some of their incredibly overpriced booze - you're much better off going to the great pub at the bottom of the road

Thank jw1980
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed overnight as we were in the surrounding area for a couple of days. We received a warm welcome on arrival and check-in was straight forward. Our room was a comfortable four bed bunk with private ensuite, plenty of storage space and nice views of the grounds outside. Hostel has everything you could hope for including self service kitchen....

Thank Tao_Wild
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Great location and handy for a north Wales experience . Basic room yet clean and with en suite shower . Family friendly with a play area indoors . The ' crowd ' is retired couples and ' guardian reader ' families I. E middle class families who seem to enjoy walking and playing board games in the evening . Layed...

Thank lornajjones
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Hostel much improved since my last stay some 7 or 8 years ago. Very satisfactory in every way. Reduced rate also much appreciated It was nice to see quite a few families with children. Maybe a lot more advertising should be concentrated in that area. That is where the future of the YHA lies.

Thank jacques d

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (127)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
View from Room (17)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (12)
Bathroom (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Room/Suite (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Dining (7)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.6 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,106 reviews
1.4 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,499 reviews
0.5 km away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Glan Heulog Guest House
5.8 km away
YHA Rowen
YHA Rowen
#2 of 2 in Rowen
19 reviews
25.3 km away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 20 in Caernarfon
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Price Range: ₹ 2,947 - ₹ 9,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Conwy staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Conwy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“anywhere near the restaurant for good wifi”
jjinimm, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper rooms have a brilliant view of Conwy Castle and town”
russellwW3619PX, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“families or couples can book separate rooms.”
  • View from my room.
  • view from dining room
mark_davie_2000, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced the back of the hostel and we overlooked the castle in the town. Very nice.”
I3541PTjohns, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just make sure you take a towel.”
Thormark, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 35* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 52
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates