We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Angel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Angel
The Angel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

796 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Angel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 790: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We booked the Sunday slumber package (well worth booking -with the three course dinner included it saves a fair amount of money). To out great surprise, we receieved a complimentary upgrade to the Castle Cottage - which was lovely, with a stunning bedroom. The only improvement would be to include complimentary slippers with the robes, as the stone floors can...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicki G
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our Sunday Slumber package is very popular and I am delighted you enjoyed your upgrade, your evening meal, and your late breakfast in the bar. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Have been fortunate enough to stay here twice and currently planning another visit. The Mews is stunning but the Deluxe rooms are equally as good. Services is second to none.... Have eaten out on previous visits (surrounded by gastro heaven) but will stay for at least three nights on next visit to fully appreciate all this special place has to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David W
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read you had another wonderful stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed The Mews, along with our service being second to none. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte

wolves
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Spent my wife's birthday here. Very last minute booking and, despite only having a standard room available, we were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were friendly, the food delicious and the room was very good considering it was their lowest graded room. Bed was really comfy and a good size

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ownerofbravaccios
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your wife's birthday with us, and you were pleased with all aspects of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths Hotel Manager

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We spent a long weekend here to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The staff are always helpful, friendly and very professional. On Friday evening we had a lovely meal in the Oak Room. The Cottage has plenty of room and, a lovely secure garden, if you have pets with you. The garden is also very nice to sit in with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter J
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your wedding anniversary weekend which included the cottage and dinner in The Oak Room. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte

Telford
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We booked Castle Cottage as an expensive treat as we were eating at The Walnut Tree that night too. The Cottage was out of this world with its own small garden too. We ordered room service for our breakfast option and this was brought to us with our newspapers too. The bed is one of the comfiest I have slept...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SianTelford
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Castle Cottage is one of our most popular cottages and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay along with dinner at The Walnut Tree. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte

Corsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Spent one night in The Angel. The room was very comfortable and with a good choice of complementary teas and coffees. The shower was spacious and very enjoyable with a rain shower head. Everything was spotlessly clean. Check in was quick and all the staff were polite and helpful. Plenty of choice at breakfast although the continental breakfast could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Giraffe_101
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your comfortable room, spacious shower, everything was spotlessly clean, along with helpful and polite staff. I have made sure to note your comments regarding the continental breakfast. I am sorry there was noise on Cross Street late at night, however this is unfortunately out of our control. We hope to welcome...

London
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This is a beautifully furnished hotel. Soft colours, gorgeous lush paintings with beautifully styled public rooms. Bedrooms are glamorous; cool white linens and lovely squashy sofas at the end of the bed result in a lounge area feel so the room works well. Bathrooms were fine. We enjoyed afternoon tea with a real Welsh harpist and a splendid array of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ripplevale
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I have read your review with much concern. I am sorry to read you felt the service was poor, and your daughters bedroom was too hot then cold a few hours later. It seems strange that your daughters in Room 25 were distributed by street noise when Room 9 was found to be quite - both of these...

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Booked in last minute for one night. I was upgraded to a larger room. Excellent and spacious with real coffee, bottled water and a good selection of teas. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It is definitely more of a 4 star than 3 star and certainly rivals the last 5 star hotel I stayed in. Breakfast was fine although...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amarajyoti
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to read your poached eggs were not cooked enough, yet our team member was able to help with an alternative. I have noted your requests such as grapefruit juice, along with seeds with the breakfast cereals. I am pleased you enjoyed your bedroom and you found it quite. We...

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We had lunch at the court-hard of this nice-looking hotel. It was very busy thanks to the beautiful weather, but we were welcomed as if there were no other guests by very professional and representative staff. After a short wait, we got a big table under one of the large umbrellas. Tap-water is provided and the staff is very attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simone C
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Courtyard is a very popular area at the hotel for lunches and dinners, and I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths Hotel Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is simply stunning. You walk in and immediately you feel at home as the interior decoration is warm and cosy. My partner and I were upgraded so our room was spacious, particularly the bathroom. I really liked the complimentary tea, coffee, snacks and bottled water. There is no mini bar so bring your own tipple or head to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travellergirl32
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your upgraded bedroom, the sandwiches were tasty, and cocktails delicious. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths Hotel Manager

559 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (367)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Castle Cottage (110)
Viewed
Executive Room (59)
Viewed
News Room (90)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (38)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
6.9 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
449 reviews
9.8 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.0 km away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
811 reviews
0.3 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
142 reviews
0.2 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
Cuisines: British, Welsh
The Oak Room
The Oak Room
Cuisines: British, European, Welsh
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: ₹ 7,298 - ₹ 17,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Caerleon, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“15 ...... Good.”
 of 5 bubbles H3432LDchrisp, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 25 is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles 299scottd, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor quieter and the executive room was good value and well appointed,”
 of 5 bubbles julie-liv-ed, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“N/A to my visit.”
 of 5 bubbles allysone693, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not deluxe for us”
 of 5 bubbles shazzaSouthWales_UK, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay