We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plas Derwen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Plas Derwen
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 197: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely friendly place to eat and drink. Staff were very helpful. Food was really good and lots of families were there. Highly recommend this pub. We took our 10 month old baby and they were more than happy to get a highchair and provide hot water for his food. Will visit again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoy Plas Derwen any time of the year. The restaurant is a combined bar with eating area. It is spacious and the conservatory area is bright. The food on Christmas day was excellent and I am definitely making a return visit asap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraWill
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met with my friend here today , greeted by Kevin we hadn't booked but he still managed to get us in. Kevin had a great knowledge of the menu and explained things brilliantly, beautiful atmosphere and food was great, one of the nicest places in Abergavenny must give it 10/10 and the service from Kevin was 10/10 many thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The atmosphere calm and relaxed. The tables looked lovely and the staff unfailingly cheerful. The service was exemplary and the food very tasty indeed. Plas Derwen is very easy to find and there is plenty of parking. Visit Abergavenny when you come as this pretty town has a great deal to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Boardmans
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of ten ladies thoroughly enjoyed a Christmas celebration, beginning with a free glass of Prosecco. The food was excellently cooked and presented, the selection varied and interesting. It was accompanied by very good quality Christmas crackers and because we ordered at the time of booking had 20% off wine. The service was friendly and efficient which all added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bsrbara M
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We visit the Plas Derwen most weeks usually for a drink. Decided to have our family Christmas party here this year and so glad we did. The food was fantastic, soup, main course and desert were all amazing. All the staff offer great service and always make us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend anyone trying the Christmas fayre here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyfm
Bath
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We visited for lunch today and were VERY disappointed. Firstly we ordered and were waiting for food for ages, we had drunk all our drinks, no one came to offer us more so we had to go the bar to order ourselves (£4.25 per pint of Staropramen seems a bit steep!). We didn't complain and waited for the food to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheGould-Halls
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We had Sunday lunch yesterday which was great after being let down by another pub in the area we turned up at short notice but still you fitted us in I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to you and all your staff the service was brilliant and the food was of a good standard , We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MOLEMASTER59
Management response:

Glad you enjoyed your visit too us! Thank you for your lovely comments, I'll be sure too pass these onto the team! We Look forward too seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Kate

Reviewed 5 November 2016

Have been a number of times previously and the food has always been to a god standard. However at today's visit the food was extremely poor. Jerk chicken skewers were literally 3 pieces of chicken with a salad garnish. There was no pineapple or relish as described on the menu and for something described as jerk the flavour was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Management response:

I would like to offer my apologies for the bad experience you had on this occasion, as you have previously visited you know this is not to our usual high standard. I you would like to contact me directly so that I can kindly discuss your experience and investigate this further I would be very grateful and can hopefully resolve...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Five of us stayed here for two nights because we were going to a wedding nearby. All three rooms were very large for the price charged as well as being warm and clean. The staff were so obliging especially at breakfast time. We only ate one evening meal in the restaurant but the food was of a high standard. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beechwood24

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
1.0 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
793 reviews
6.1 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
448 reviews
10.6 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
271 reviews
1.1 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 31 in Abergavenny
111 reviews
0.7 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: ₹ 6,568 - ₹ 6,734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plas Derwen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to the railway station and easy access to the main motorway connection. Excellent countryside close at hand - good for walkers.”
 of 5 bubbles bsrbaram, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Several rooms are set across the car park - they are big, very quiet and cars can be parked outside the door - good if it starts to rain!”
 of 5 bubbles PKNelson, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I can't advise on this, I have experience of three rooms and have had no cause for complaint.”
 of 5 bubbles jrdo5959, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in converted stable block are nice and quite, bedroom for elderly relative (or disabled person) is ideal with parking close by.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH185, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 has no windows had to change”
 of 5 bubbles 630jasg, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay