We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of The Anglesey Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
england
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night in April. Didn't realise the room had shared facilities so was pleased to find on arrival it had now been refurbished to include an en-suite. It looked still in mid-renovation as some tiling and painting still hadn't been completed. We often stay in pub accommodation and therefore understand, and accept, that it will potentially be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spt3
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small and slightly dated with shared facilities. Room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good and we booked a table for the evening so had no problems. There was noise at night from the bar entertainment but if you wanted to be entertained the this was no problem. The building is quaint and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne D
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, you will be pleased to know we have now decorated all the bedrooms on the first floor and have added en-suite facilities, we are now looking at adding even more rooms which will have sea views and will also have ensuites Look forward to seeing you again soon regards Geoff

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Mixed sandwiches and salads for lunch. Club sandwich is a decent size and should fill most people up. Could have been more toasted though as cheese was unmelted in all of them. The ploughman's had tonnes of cheese and filled up a teenage son very well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Anglesey and hope to see you again soon

Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The pub was reasonably busy due to the Ireland v Wales Rugby earlier on in the day. The manager and staff were only interested in serving the locals at one end of the bar. Not acknowledge throughout the visit. External standards not the best and missing signage letters. Dogs allowed inside the pub! Not good if you are planning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Anglesey, the majority of people pack into the main bar so apologies if that came across as only being interested in locals; if you look at other reviews we get a very good rating on staff friendliness so apologies if it did not come through on this day. We...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in whilst walking past. Decided to have our evening meal here. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Food was lovely and reasonably priced. Lovely view from our table. Well worth a visit ........

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elisha12345
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

One of the nicest friendly bar managers we have met. John was very welcoming, pleasant, acomodating and kept us all entertained the whole visit. The food was really good wholesome and generous portions, thank you to the chef. The family will be going back again definitely. Top marks to a very family friendly pub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolbett
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

After reading that our 4 legged friend would be made welcome kym and I decided to pop in for lunch on a Monday Geoff and his staff made us most welcome and we loved the rustic charm of the Anglesey Arms right up our street.Good choice of menu and food was fab and you can imagine in all the years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonpaul M
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Booked on vey short notice as we felt like weekend away and with Caernarfon being only 150 miles from us, it seemed a great place to go. We'd never been here before and literally got the room on booking.com without reading the small print. Please note it is a shared bathroom and if we'd noticed this when booking then our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolStevieb
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the Anglesey, we have just finished refurbishing the facilities the entrance and bedrooms have all been decorated and we have added en-suites facilities to the rooms. Hopefully you will visit us again over the summer to enjoy a weekend awy and I can assure you it will be somewhat busier over the...

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Location is great and the staff and atmosphere are also very welcoming but the food was poor and the lamb was not edible. I informed the staff but nothing was done. Won't eat again and think twice before you do

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek L
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I m sorry you did not enjoy your meal, you can see from other reviews that normally we rate very highly on the standard of our food. The waitress said that you had eaten the entire meal which meant there was little evidence to substantiate your claim. In fairness I did check and have one from the same batch and...

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Stopped off whilst going for a walk with the dog, and so glad we did as the food was delicious. It was our first time eating here but we had passed it many a time. It certainly won't be the last. Excellent

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eirwen A

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.3 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,217 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.5 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
191 reviews
2.4 km away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
11.0 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a public house in Caernafon formally "the old port Customs house" adjoinng the Castle walls by the seafront, serving fresh seafood on the seafront wall with stunning views of every sunset over the menia straights, we have three rooms, and a newly introduced restaraunt(Irishes) featuring Irish chef and Co Owner Sean Devlin.Boats now deliver freshly caught fish, outside events are now plannned for the rest of the summer.These will include hog-roasts-live music events-and theatre style cooking with a look at doing live training out in our forecourt/patio area!!.We have recently taken this venue over and are striving to return this old girl to her former glory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Address: Harbour Front, Caernarfon LL55 1SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: ₹ 4,318 - ₹ 6,960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anglesey Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anglesey Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Anglesey Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shared bathroom was nice and clean.”
blackbeers, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We wouldn't recommend anything in 'The Anglesey Arms Hotel', to our worst enemy”
granniejones, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“did stay in hotel only had lunch”
soulcity52, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
AnthonyI15, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room,(3), didn't have a sea view but looked out onto a turret of the castle wall. Still very pleasant. Number three is a twin room.”
668jackied, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5