We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass

TravelocityUS$ 41*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 73*
US$ 41*
US$ 43*
US$ 73*
US$ 41*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
 Click to rate
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was well located, with lots of places to see/walk to/explore close by. It was tired, but the views made up for it. Would recommend for a budget break. Everywhere was clean including bedding. Plenty of hot water for shower etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0nesy61
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night and had a fantastic experience staying here. As you'd expect with a YHA the dorm was clean, bedding fresh and shower/ toilet areas clean and clear of rubbish. The kitchen facilities were good including microwaves, ovens, fridges etc. The dorms contained 2 accessible power sockets (both near the door) but there were plenty spare in the kitchen....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
About Property's Favourite Review
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and to see you made good use of all the facilities we have to offer here. Hope you enjoyed your adventure on the mountain and, of course, we all hope to see you back again very...

West Point, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant in the hotel seemed well attended by locals and regulars. The sandwiches, drinks and decor were all decent, nothing really exceptional except the people who were very nice. The bathrooms were nice and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Climb Snowdon. So easy from here. Great staff. Relaxed and friendly. Clean bed linen. Clean facilities. Lots of advice and tips from staff and leaflets. Food was ok but ran out of quite a few things as we ate late.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinedU8440CT
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Jacqueline, Great to hear you enjoyed the stay and the facilities we offer here. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back again soon.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted a venue with easy, quick access to Snowdon as we only had a couple of days trip. The YH was in the perfect spot for the Pyg Track & Miners Track. I can't fault the service we received - very friendly. The only minor issue was the cheese salad sandwich in my lunch pack, when I'd twice said...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CMcTavish
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. Always good to get some good feedback and it looks like you enjoyed your stay very much. Apologies about the packed lunches, we would like to look at other options for vegans aside from salad which should add more to the experience. Great to hear you enjoyed the rest of the food along...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Clean en suite room. Perfect location for Snowdon. No WIFI, but makes a refreshing change. Would stay again. Slight issue getting a refund on a breakfast reservation, but got there in the end.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn169
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry if there was an issue with the breakfast refund, but we are glad you sorted it. Hope this didn't affect your enjoyment at the hostel as we would love to have you back again soon! Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

​ Located on the road at the bottom of Mt. Snowdon this hostel was perfect for our weekend. Me and three friends stayed three nights, and as it is based at the foot of the mountain there was no need to worry about driving and parking anywhere in the moring of the hike as this was all sorted. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulMcCulloch
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Many thanks for the review. It is great to see, in detail, how you enjoyed your stay up at the hostel. wifi has always been our biggest battle, with infrastructure simply not reaching us it is unfortunately just a waiting game, but we are close..! Very happy to hear your enjoyed the rooms and facilities and we would...

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This hostel is really nice. Located just at the foot of two of the most famous ascents of snowdon and so super convenient for walkers. The only issue is parking is very limited and so there is no point going back to the hostel in the middle of the day since there is no where to stop the car. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmachambers2016
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay along with the facilities at Pen-y-Pass. With regards to always cycling back up hill....it makes that cold beer at the bar that much better! Hope to see you back again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Was hesitant about staying at a YHA at age 55 with my 14yr old son,but so glad I did. From the moment I arrived my fears were alayed by the scenic setting and inside the warm welcome by staff and very clean reception and rooms. Room 26 we booked had separate toilet and shower facilities and bunk beds with nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi there! Great to hear you enjoyed our new, extra thick, pillows along with our restaurant and your room. The team have been working very hard so your comments are welcome and much appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

yorkshire
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on one of our 6 monthly walking weekends. We had a 6 berth room to ourselves and the room was well equipped and clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good although don't leave it too late to eat as they were running out of some items. We used the hostel as a base...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YorkshireCrispy
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

HI there, Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and defeated Crib Goch!! I am sorry to hear you thought our evening meal was average. We have recently implemented a new menu nationally and would love to get any specific feed back, both good and bad. Please feel free to get...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
7.5 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
18.3 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,238 reviews
9.4 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
#11 of 20 in Caernarfon
82 reviews
4.7 km away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
64 reviews
8.2 km away
YHA Snowdon Ranger
YHA Snowdon Ranger
#2 of 2 in Rhydd Ddu
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located with-in The Snowdonia National Park at 1000ft. above sea-level, and set amongst stunning, jaw-dropping scenery, and with two of Yr Wyddfa – Snowdon Mountain’s - major footpaths – The Pyg Track and The Miner’s Path starting on our doorstep, YHA Pen-y-Pass is the ideal base from which to climb Snowdon. The famous knife-edge ridge of Crib Goch – The Red Ridge - and the start of the Snowdon Horseshoe dominates the view from our dining room windows. With Tryfan, the Glyders, Moel Shiabod and Y Garn to either side, YHA Pen-y-Pass, not surprisingly, has it’s own place in the UK mountaineering history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass

Address: Nantgwynant, Caernarfon LL55 4NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: ₹ 2,336 - ₹ 9,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass Caernarfon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
8 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Poole, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room was a double bed on the bottom and a single bed on top (bunk)”
L4244CArachelc, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 25 with great views but there was some road noise”
ar2000d, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment.”
LiverpoolCJK, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“watchout for the shelves alongside your bunk in the dark! ;-)”
AMorse44, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you would like a private room book months in advance. Shared dorms get so hot at night during the summer.”
Plantatheart, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 41* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$ 43
Orbitz.comUS$ 41
PricelineUS$ 73
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates