We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Menai Bank Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Menai Bank Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Menai Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Greater Toronto
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We chose the B&B for the view of the water and the bay window in our double room provided exactly that. We knew it was facing a roadway, but if you sit back in the comfortable chairs, you can enjoy the sunset. Patrick is a wonderful host from welcome to departure with a sense of humour that our teenage boys...

Thank GeoRoadWarriors
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking time to write a favourable review. Your observations will hopefully tempt others when trying to decide where to stay in this area. Glad "Binker" got a mention..she says "Woof woof" too.

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for one night as it was conveniently located on the Welsh Coastal Path. The online booking process was easy. The hotel owner, Patrick, was welcoming and helpful. We were shown where the communal kitchen was where you could make your own breakfast. The fridge had individual room baskets in so you can keep...

Thank Michelle G
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a great detailed review. It answers many of the questions we regularly get asked and some we sometimes neglect to mention . This should be a useful guide for intending customers.. Thanks again.

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business purposes, located within easy reach of local town and supermarkets, accomodation although dated is clean an comfortable and the staff were wonderful and accomodating. My room was a twin and on a slant!! However bed was comfy although the pillows were too hard for my liking, bathroom was basic and clean.

Thank Psych2608
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We like the slant bit !! Regarding pillows..Did you try the wardrobe where there are extra pillows. we try and keep a good mix of pillows in each room to suit all tastes.Tip: Next time check at reception or when booking ask for a soft pillow and we will accommodate you :-) Hope to see you again. PS Ask for...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We wish we could have stayed longer. Very central location in terms of Caernarfon (we could walk to everything in this town) as well as North Wales. The owners, Rachel and Patrick, are friendly and helpful; guided us to good restaurants and trips. We were even upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. My husband and I were...

Thank joeyrc
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and we are always happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and may return again.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very nice, great value hotel with lovely, comfortable, well equipped rooms. The owners were very accommodating and it was just short walk into the old town either via the main road or by the sea. Also very accessible via public transport (we arrived by bus from Conwy) with a bus stop just up the road. As we had a tight...

1Thank Helen K
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. As well as a place for your takeaways in the evening the availability of a self service kitchen now means you have the option to make your own breakfast at no extra charge. ...which is proving very popular for those on a tight budget nowadays. Bus Tip: Those travelling by Bus should find the app "Traveline...

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2013

booked on wednesday and stayed on thursday and friday ,, overall very good,close to town centre,clean rooms,very friendly owners ,would stay here again when we are in caenarfon.breakfast was excellent

1Thank jaj112233
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We like the fact that you think we offer value for money. One of the main comparison sites has us as best value in Caernarfon on price. Our September Offers are available now. Thanks again

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked the hotel last minute based on other traveller reviews. We were made very welcome by Patrick and Rachel. Our room was at the top of the hotel overlooking the Menai straits; the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in and the bath towels are huge. Our room was spotlessly clean. My only minus comment is...

2Thank Yvonnenetball
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. For future reference.... Extra towels are not a problem, just ask at Reception if needed. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this at the (very) last minute. Extremely good service and a quiet, comfortable room. I wouldn't have gone for the breakfast - not because of the quality, but due to all the good eating places in town. Would stay again.

Thank Radish_Spirit
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted you found Caernarfon a good eating place. There are a few new additions this year and feedback is very good. Thank you for you review of Menai Bank and hopefully we will see you again.

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel at last minute booking as other hotel let us down when we arrived!! This hotel was simple and good! Our room was a bit dated, but we were very comfortable, the owner ensured that we were comfortable and our needs are met. They even have a fridge where we could store fresh cold food and...

Thank PhillipsVessey
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing and recommending us. We are glad you enjoyed the service. For your information each Winter we "update" some of our "dated" rooms without trying to spoil the "dated look" . The building dates from around 1860.

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Rooms are a little shabby and dated but ours was comfortable enough and had a great view. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast spread was comprehensive and generous although the cooking of some of the elements left a little to be desired. Would happily stay again.

Thank Aaron L
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We hope you might email us some specifics that we can address regarding your comments on roooms you were in and the cooking. This should help us improve our standards further which we strive to do on an ongoing basis.Thanks for taking time to review us.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (22)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (9)
Dining (2)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
1.1 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,157 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.8 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
128 reviews
3.3 km away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
6.7 km away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: ₹ 5,288 - ₹ 5,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not telling as I don't want everyone getting our favourite room”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a front room, stunning view.”
 of 5 bubbles 25keithj, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only the front rooms have a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles 346stevew, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles steviedib, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the sea, it was spacious and was a fantastic view”
 of 5 bubbles emmahunt2015, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay