We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lygon Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lygon Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,104: English reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Really impressed with The Lygon Arms, the room (83) was spacious & clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The facilities in the spa were excellent. The restaurant was great value, our dinner was lovely and the breakfast was possibly the best hotel breakfast we've ever had - the eggs benedict was particularly good! Every staff member we encountered (from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess W
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Jess W, Thank you for your comments and for recognising the whole team for their hard work during you visit to us. It is also really nice to read that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast, and I do hope to welcome you back for another flawless visit. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed only 1 night after finding a great deal on Secret Escapes. On our arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were shown to our room. We were in the more 'modern' end of the hotel but it had the same charm as the rest. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen W
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Karen W, Your comments have truly brought a smile to my face and I am so pleased that you through enjoyed your time with us at The Lygon Arms Hotel. The beautiful village of Broadway is another reason why many people flock from miles around to stay with us and as you mention in your review, so magical when...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

A fantastic hotel, with everything you could want, great food, leisure facilities and amazing rooms. We were lucky enough to get the room that is shown online on their website and it was truly beautiful. The staff could not be more helpful, the food was delicious and the leisure club was small but perfectly formed with a decent size pool...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca B, Thank you for the 5* review and I am so pleased that your whole stay was perfect from start to finish. Also, thank you for the comment about the team and I do hope to welcome you back for another wonderful visit again very soon. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Lovely old hotel floors all over the place but great.staff very good nothing to much for them.all very attentive .Good size rooms we had a four post bed full bathroom.Breakfast very good hot food cooked to order.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen L
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Maureen L, Thank you for the fantastic review and I am so pleased that you had a truly amazing stay at The Lygon Arms. The service staff and I would like to thank you for your recognition and I do hope that you will return for another visit again very soon. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights to relax and be generally pampered. Loved it so much booked another night and came back to stay for 3 more nights 2 weeks later. Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Offers to help with cases from the car and up the stairs. One very nice waiter who saw me sneaking off...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anita b
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Lovely morning booster spa spent with some friends few weeks ago. Staff very welcoming, all staff at the spa were really helpful. Treatments were great - the only thing that spoilt it was that you couldn't stay in the pool very long as it was freezing cold. There was also some slight confusion by hotel staff as to where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MysticPurple58
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear MysticPurple58, It is great to read that both you and your friends had a relaxing spa morning with us. I do hope you mentioned the temperature of the pool to a member of my team as this is usually monitored throughout the day. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We hope to welcome you all back soon. Kind...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Had a brilliant time at the Lygon Arms celebrating my Birthday. Struck lucky with being allocated " the Great Chamber" a wonderfully large vaulted room with large ensuite. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant followed by breakfast the next morning. The hotel had some marvellous old features and the staff were friendly and helpful. Few problems with other...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparkyrbh
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear sparkyrbh, Happy Birthday! I am delighted that you enjoyed every moment of your stay from your room and evening meal to our team’s friendly service. We hope to welcome you back soon to relax and explore some more. Warm regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Just stopped here one Sunday night, was a Sunday night deal, on a short break to the Cotswolds. The hotel is comfortable with lots of old world charm, everything you could want in your room including a massive king size bed. Our room was in the modern section of the hotel which was a bit disappointing, it would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldPinDog
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear OldPinDog, I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay here with us. Please do not hesitate to request a room in the older part of the building and we will try our best to accommodate your request if you return. Thank you for leaving us a review. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind...

Reviewed 27 August 2015

The wardrobe in the room was so old and damaged. You can hear noises when you press wooden floor. The room is quite small. Garden is quite nice. Staff is not very friendly, they even didn't carry our luggage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasin Turgay K
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Yasin Turgay K, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with aspects of your room on this occasion. My concierge team usually take our guests luggage to their rooms and also tell guests a little about the history of the hotel. I am at a loss as to why this was not the case for you and...

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed at The Lygon Arms one Sunday recently, after being tempted by an Amazon Local voucher for a B&B stay, which coincided with a long journey south for a party. Our arrival was greeted by sunshine, an easy check in and a nice room (56) overlooking the (sort of) courtyard area, with easy access to outside/gardens and car park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSLWolves
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear CSLWolves, Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lygon Arms. It is also great to read that you landed on a fantastic deal and I do hope to welcome you back for another great stay. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

839 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (433)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Broadway Suite (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Traditional Four Poster Room (20)
Viewed
Deluxe View Feature Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Rambler Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (18)
Viewed
The Great Chamber (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Third Standard Double Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.4 km away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,248 reviews
2.1 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.7 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
760 reviews
17.4 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,188 reviews
1.9 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Price Range: ₹ 13,709 - ₹ 32,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway
The Lygon Arms Broadway, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lygon Arms staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Lygon Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room inside old building or newly refurbished room in outside block.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveL_Canterbury, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Call to see if the room is one of the newer most recent decorated rooms”
 of 5 bubbles nicholasg273, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room in the main building is an advantage if you stay in colder weather as you have to get to the main building from outside.”
 of 5 bubbles 690kathys, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles richardcI9593JM, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a king size room”
 of 5 bubbles satnavlover, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5