We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thames Riviera Hotel

1.7 km from Maidenhead centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 634: English reviews
Start your review of The Thames Riviera Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After reading review we was apprehensive but need not have been. Greeted with a smile and quickly checked in, room was very clean and looked modern in the bathroom (pics posted) bed was very comfy and plump pillows. Room was very quiet over night. Lovely hot powerful shower! Negatives, a handle did come off in hubbys handed when we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wyattmachin
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You really do get what you pay for. The room was beyond basic, walls so paper thin you could hear the couples conversation from the next room. Bed so uncomfortable with a dip in the middle. To top it all there was a fire exit light in the room with a bright green light which kept us awake all night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The main building appeared to be clean and fairly recently updated. We stayed in the coach house - which had a fantastic view. But everything else about this room was awful. The carpets were old and thin, the furniture was chipped, scratched and dated. The paintwork the same. The curtains had holes in, didn't fully close or were stained with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly G
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arrival receptionist was not welcoming, every question asked was answered abruptly. Get up stairs the room is tiny, boiling hot and bed is small... I'm baring in mind 6 months pregnant! I check room and it's dirty! We go down for a refund and the manager comes down and again is rude! No apologies... Nothing. Can't believe the service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank teresamegan
Berkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The receptionist, Michael was very helpful and friendly, but that is where my positives end. I was offered an upgraded room as my friend had requested a river view in a superior room, and Michael kindly suggested that we be in rooms next door to each other, however I wasn't particularly bothered as we staying only 1 night and weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Daisyandbella
Management response:

The Michael Buble tribute evening was fully booked, unfortunately, it is impossible to grant all guests their seating requests. Management quickly arranged the only alternative available, which you most politely and graciously accepted. During the evening I did notice, all at your table were thoroughly enjoying the evening, as to be expected, I was delighted. Please be assured, all staff...

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were really looking forward to our trip to this hotel, we had booked in for three nights as it was my 70th birthday. After booking in we walked across the car park to a shabby entrance up the stairs to our room. Well what a shock. Just inside the door on the wall the plaster was coming off, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jandpnorfolk02
Management response:

We are in receipt of your correspondence, thank you, all of which has been acknowledged over the past 4 week period. We hope you have fully recovered from your illness. Best Wishes.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had 2 nights here. We have a baby and it wasn't ideal as they have no lifts in the hotel. It took forever to unload the car and take it up 2 flights of stairs. The rooms are pretty basic. It was clean but it could do with modernising. On our first night we only had boiling hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJP31
Management response:

Please be assured we review all guests observations and take the necessary action. We appreciate having taken the time to submit your views, your comments about the Housekeeping staff were very well received. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Thames Riviera, if possible, please advise reception in advance and we will endeavour to allocate your family a...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed at the hotel so that we could dine at the Hind's Head and not have to travel home. The location was good for what we were doing and the hotel is situated on the Thames so had quite a nice view. Check in was fast and very friendly. We were informed that we had been upgraded to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanniebr
Management response:

We have duly noted your observations, which have been passed on to the relevant department within the Company. The reception team much appreciated your comments and hope you do revisit again in the near future. Thank you.

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Awful place ..my husband booked me a romantic weekend away as it was my birthday ....drove up to hotel outside which looks lovely by the river ..perfect setting so we thought. We booked in and was told we are in the waterside lounge.....basically a block of council flats round the back . As we entered room 401 ground floor it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tracien
Management response:

I had the pleasure of speaking with your husband at reception on departure, who most most courteous. We discussed the issue about the change of room, I apologised for having been given incorrect information, in relation to the change in room type and refund, from a member of the Night reception team. As nothing further was brought to my attention,...

Cookham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Our daughter bought us an afternoon tea at the Riviera. When we arrived there was only one of the tables in the large dining room in use but we were told that we were to be seated on a table in the corner as this was used for bookings for "Groupon" which felt like we were the "poor relations" being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie J
Management response:

Unfortunately I did not get to meet with you when you visited. Please be assured,we do not differentiate diners requirements by means of how they made the reservation, I rather think it was a misunderstanding. The waitress requested if you had booked via Groupon, simply for verification of your required voucher details. The staff would have been more than accommodating...

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 km away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 12 in Maidenhead
206 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.1 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,092 reviews
2.9 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
555 reviews
1.3 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the River Thames by Maidenhead Bridge, this splendid Edwardian building provides the gateway to Maidenhead, just half a mile away. Car parking for guests. Housing a total of 52 bedrooms, with 18 situated in the Waterside Lodge which is sited to the rear of the main building. Many of the well appointed bedrooms offer superb river views and others balconies, which overlook the terraces and River Thames. The Hotel has a renowned restaurant and bar in The Blue River Cafe which has been the place to be for over a decade with its fantastic food and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: ₹ 3,209 - ₹ 8,958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Slough, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Daisyandbella, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the Premier Inn!”
 of 5 bubbles hanniebr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor with the bay windows”
 of 5 bubbles VPB_13, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the lodge are larger and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles winifredjay, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the main building rather than to annex”
 of 5 bubbles 442tonyh, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5