We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

42 The Calls

Expedia.comUS$ 97*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
42 The Calls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

808 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for 42 The Calls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 802: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at 42 The Calls previously and recently came back with my husband and upon reading some recent reviews I felt compelled to write a review myself.   First of all, it was yet again another delightful stay, on a Saturday evening, yes there is some outside noise, but you are in the heart of the city centre, not...

1Thank Annie J
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 review. As a return customer it was great to read that you had enjoyed another wonderful stay on a Saturday evening. I would like to thank you for your patience and understanding with regards to the fire alarm. I have shared your comments with the team, who are thrilled and look forward to your return...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A lovely family run boutique hotel. We stayed in a junior suite (101) for 2 nights and had a lovely view of the river. The bed was huge and SOOOO comfy, complete with duck down duvet and mattress topper, and a box of Smarties each. wardrobes with internal light - a life saver (I hate not seeing what's in the...

Thank Jo F
MissHelenBradshaw, Opeartions Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at 42 The Calls and found the bed, comfy, breakfast, delicious and the team pleasant. The team and I look forward to welcoming you and any of your friends to the hotel soon. Kind regards Helen Cooper Operations Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was a disaster made worse by the attitude of the hotel. The room was dirty, tired and a little threadbare. The bathroom was disgusting with excraiment stains on the toilet. At 1.30 am the fire alarm went off and after that we were kept awake all night by night club goers crossing the bridge. In the morning the manager...

2Thank aifreeman2016
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for brining your views to my attention. Having spoken with the team members, I believe you were assisted by the Duty Manager, with your queries about your room not long after your arrival and these concerns were rectified. The fire alarm did sound through the early hours of Sunday morning and I can appreciate that this was not...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here Saturday with my wife and two friends in rooms overlooking the canal. My first frustration before entering was the lack of parking near the hotel. I ended up parking down the street two hundred yards in a very tight space. If I had a nice car, I would not have been happy leaving it here. Anyway, on entering...

Thank Hobby2014
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Overall I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although there is not a safe within your room, if you have anything you would like to be placed in the hotel safe this can be done between the hours of 7am and 11pm. We do operate a self service bar, but any member...

Tyne and wear
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in Saturday afternoon, check in quick and friendly, first impressions of room (217) was very good, closer inspection was the decor and silicon in bathroom need updating, TV was some type of computer system and monitor popped out of wardrobe (it's 2013 everyone has a flat screen tv on wall) there was a honesty bar in the hotel...

Thank Kenny D
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that overall you would return to 42 The Calls. We are currently in the process of updating the TV's and system as part of our refurbishment scheme, however we do not have a completion date for this, but in the meantime if you ask the reservations team they will be happy to...

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Best nights sleep I have in a hotel for a long time. All staff were very polite and the breakfast was yummy If traveling by train and have luggage better to get a taxi from the station. There is a pub two doors along from the hotel which very nice as well called the Landings

Thank bobthetaxi
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you had such a great night’s sleep whilst staying with us and found the team polite. They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day so it was great to read that you found ours yummy. The team and I look forward to your...

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed for one night for business - an executive room booked through hotels.com for £140 room only. Pros: Glass of wine on check-in is a nice touch - I don't drink wine and was kindly offered a beer instead Smarties and hand-made biscuits in the room appreciated, as was good selection of drinks on tea tray Beds are very...

Thank Howard J
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. Having found your bed comfortable and enjoying some of the added extras I was concerned to read your other comments. I am sorry that you had issues with the Wi-Fi during your stay, a maintenance issue with the Wi-Fi was detected and a technician has since been on site and rectified...

Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel at the start of October. It's a lovely looking hotel with lots of period features and beautiful decor. The location is fantastic (it was noisy on the Saturday night but in the middle of Leeds that's expected!). The staff were nice and friendly and even brought our complementary wine to our room....

Thank Claire H
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Having had a pleasant stay and finding the staff helpful I was concerned to read your comments. There are procedures in place to ensure the privacy hatches are cleared during and after a guest departure so I am sorry that this was not the case for yours. I have spoken to the kitchen and porter...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at 42 The Calls in mid September. Upon arrival I was blown away not only with the wonderful interior but also by the helpfulness and politeness of the staff ... not to forget the complimentary glass of wine. The room was perfect. It was warm, clean and very well presented. The staff had kept a...

Thank Marc R
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 rating. Your glowing review has certainly put a lot of smiles on faces. The team and I are thrilled that you had such a brilliant stay and will be back. Kind regards Helen Cooper Operations Manager

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and although it was nice tbh I wished we'd booked the the hotel we were looking at. It was quite dated in the rooms & corridors also was really warm we had to ask for a fan. I'm not saying its bog standard as to me that's a travel lodge...

Thank SMW2002
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Although you thought the hotel was nice, I was disappointed to read that having stayed for your wedding anniversary you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I would obviously like for you to return and if you do, please contact me directly so I can personally oversee your reservation. Kind regards Helen Cooper...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (183)
Room/Suite (59)
Bathroom (25)
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Dining (5)
View from Room (5)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,061 reviews
The New Ellington
#13 of 87 in Leeds
789 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 87 in Leeds
1,320 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
502 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Price Range: ₹ 5,565 - ₹ 12,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 42 The Calls staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Bradford, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from 42 The Calls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverside rooms have a nice view but can be noisy at weekends on lower floors”
Wasitanygood, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room 'at the back'. The 4am arrival of the bin lorries was not the best welcome to the new day !”
nauj63, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
E4554BRsteves, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room at weekend7”
MaryBSheffield, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get one next to the river”
lunesdalem, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 97* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 97
TravelocityUS$ 97
Orbitz.comUS$ 97
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates