We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Vestry

21 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Chichester Cathedral
    0.3 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 6 days ago
Quirky but pleasant
Stayed here recently for a couple of nights. This pub/hotel is... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 251: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here recently for a couple of nights. This pub/hotel is bed and breakfast only. The room was very comfortable and roomy with a spacious bathroom, plenty of hot water and an excellent shower. Plenty of tea and coffee supplied too. I had to leave before breakfast which starts at 7.30 and a very nice man, at my request, supplied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne s
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely big bedroom and ensuite bathroom with a jacuzzi bath Large flatscreen TV coffee/tea making facilities very comfortable huge double bed Excellent freshly cooked breakfast with a varied menu in the downstairs bar good value for money included in the price of the room Staff very accommodating allowing us to check out later than the stated time We stayed on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nan0n
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Staying at the Vestry was such a pleasure. Decorated with beautiful Christmas decorations and a big cosy open fire. I was slightly worried after reading some of the reviews about the accommodation at the Vestry but was utterly delighted to find a very clean well presented room! And having little chocolates on the bed, a lovely touch! Feeling very welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChanelBellchambers
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Dirty room Tiolet had not been cleaned properly. Open half used milk carton. Very noisy due to live music no sleep so moved to Travel Lodge When I checked out they tried to charge me for the next night as there was no live music!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN H
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Really clean room with loads of space. Staff were welcoming and always eager to help us out. My wife is a vegetarian and there was a great choice of breakfast for her. Great location to explore chichester, thanks Vestry! Well worth the trip from Wales. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bork G
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Firstly I should say up front the staff in this place were very polite and friendly, but the place itself is pretty grimy. I know it doubles up as a pub, but there is nothing pleasant about eating your breakfast in a room which your shoes stick to the floor as you walk across it. Took me right back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Binny67
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Wow! What a fabulous find! My wife and I were greeted by a very polite member of staff then shown up to our room. The room was immaculate and very spacious, with a selection of tea, coffee and delicious biscuits. We stayed on Saturday night and did not hear any sound from downstairs. Breakfast service was fab and breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markhalford65
thevestry, Manager at The Vestry, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Vestry. Lovely to receive such positive comments. Hope to see you again on a return visit.

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed at The Vestry. The rooms were very spacious and clean, towels lovely and fluffy. The breakfast was well cooked, fresh and tasty. Lovely staff throughout. Very enjoyable stay and would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewson1997
thevestry, Manager at The Vestry, responded to this review

Pleased you had a comfortable stay and found our rooms to be spacious and clean. The Vestry breakfasts are famous in Chichester! Glad you enjoyed it. Very best regards

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The staff were friendly, the location was great and the room was large, just a shame the beds were stained and terrible. The breakfast was lovely but they stopped doing evening meals.such a shame it could be a lovely place if more money was spent

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chelseakirby1990
thevestry, Manager at The Vestry, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your review. I enjoyed chatting with you and I know you were disappointed we had stopped doing evening meals. Chichester has an abundance of restaurants and we are focussing on our music evenings and cocktails. I was very sad to see you had posted a photograph of the offending valance. The valances are regularly washed...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Staff lovely. Breakfast brilliant. No meals through the week. Good sized bedroom but disgusting bedding .was given a complimentary drink for the evening by the manager on the morning but when I went to get it the evening staff didn't know anything about it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry C

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.6 km away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
176 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Chichester Central
0.7 km away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 9 in Chichester
515 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
0.4 km away
Chichester Inn
Chichester Inn
#30 of 75 in Chichester
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Vestry

Address: 21 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Price Range: ₹ 5,733 - ₹ 8,804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vestry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Vestry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vestry Hotel Chichester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Vestry staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Vestry staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 11 and those nearby are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 242alisonp, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the Disco or bar area if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles raym817, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed equal.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenc529, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sorry - no idea..... as I said just a night out”
 of 5 bubbles 977mels, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 9 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Suejohnstone, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5