We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 526: English reviews
Derbyshire
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed here about 8 years ago and as we were visiting family in the area thought we would treat ourselves to a break at the same time. It was a wonderful break, lovely staff, superb room and breakfast cooked to order was fabulous. Thank you we will be coming back on a regular basis.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 851lucya
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 851lucya, Thank you for your review - I'm delighted that you thought of us again after 8 years and that you had such a great time - we look forward to your next stay with us. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I love gin and these guys clearly do too. What a classy place to enjoy your favourite gin. The wine looks great too but I have never been able to resist their G&T's. The bar staff are smart and knowledgable. The glassware is good quality and they use proper ice cubes, not the flat ones. They keep their mixers chilled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rfalkss566
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rfalkss566, Thank you for reviewing us! I am delighted that you enjoy our G&Ts and have taken the time to tell us so - I am very lucky to have some knowledgeable bar staff who take pride in learning about the drinks they are creating. We look forward to seeing you again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 September 2016

well meaning staff and happy atmosphere meant our trip was enjoyable. We had an executive room which was stylishly decorated and more spacious with a bath tub and shower. Other rooms were very small.The bar was very convivial and it was centrally placed for meeting friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonpX6108MR
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alisonpX6108MR, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is good to hear that you had an enjoyable trip with us - I hope you would consider staying with us again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights at the Swan. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, really comfortable and a lovely bathroom. There can be some noise from the road so you're better off with a room the otherside, not that it was a problem for us. Breakfast was very good as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy S, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you feel that way! I am glad that you were really comfortable and that you found the food very good. I hope you would consider staying with us again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Worthing
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Wedding night. Very poor reception, delayed response whilst waiting in wedding outfits in open bar area. Service was slow and couldn't understand what they were saying. No enhanced treatment for event. Thought we had pre paid on website confirmation and found out we hadn't putting stress on exit and had to use other payment sources. Very noisy over night

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank samanthat345
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear samanthat345, Thank you for your reviewing us. I really am sorry to hear that you felt this way about your experience as I am usually proud of my team's quality of service especially during such a special event - I was away during your stay and had I been present I would have been able to assist with your...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Breakfast, lunch & dinners were excellent. Extremely friendly service. House keepers were always helpful & nothing was too much trouble. Hence we will stay at the hotel again as its situation is right.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdul M
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abdul M, Thank you for your comments. I'm thrilled you felt the service from my staff to be so good, and that you enjoyed all meals had with us. We look forward to seeing you again in future! Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Reviewed 2 September 2016

This was a very friendly place to spend the night for the last evening of the Arundel festival Very pleasant all round. We had an evening meal and drinks followed by a comfortable night sleep Breakfast the next morning was very nice. Cereals, fruit, pastries and a choice of freshly cooked options

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steadily
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear steadily, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Arundel Festival, and that you found the breakfast to be very nice. I hope you would consider staying with us again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

visited the swan twice now in the last couple of months and on both visits we were made to feel very welcome from the staff (Julie) service was amazing and food delicious i would recommend this little gem to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Empress-Bar
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Empress-Bar, Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you felt so welcome and that you found the food to be delicious! We look forward to seeing you again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I booked a 2 night stay in an Executive Room (supposedly their best available) The room was large and airy, but very poorly furnished. There was no Wardrobe or any drawers for keeping clothes in. When I pointed this out to a member of staff on arrival, he said he would try and get us a hanging rail, but nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fisherman251
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fisherman251, Thank you for reviewing us. I am sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with the storage situation and will take your comments on board. I hope that you were happy with the other important elements of the stay, such as the comfort of the bed and quality of the food. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Great hotel, highly recommended. Arundel is a lovely place for a couples weekend, the hotel was right in the centre, very comfortable and felt a little luxurious. The breakfast and dinner was delicious. Would go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank londoner3583
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear londoner3583, Thank you for reviewing us. I am very happy to know that you would recommend us and that our hotel 'felt a little luxurious'. We would love to see you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
758 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,777 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
199 reviews
18.2 km away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#1 of 9 in Chichester
757 reviews
6.3 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Pub
The Swan Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: ₹ 6,236 - ₹ 11,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel/Littlehampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit The Cathedral Church of Our Lady and St Philip Howard Catholic cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles HerbertBaumann, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Travel light”
 of 5 bubbles fisherman251, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check directly with the hotel if you want to make sure that you get a room with enough space.”
 of 5 bubbles Jo1Surrey, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are quite noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles corrinas371, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 6, double aspect, first floor front corner, bath with integral shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 939richardl939, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay