We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 579: English reviews
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was very nice stay, great location and building has great character and staff are very friendly. Only two negatives were portion sizes of cooked breakfast were pretty small and dinner closed at 8pm despite room info saying 9. Overall very nice though, good value and will be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam D, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's good to hear that you felt it was a very nice stay and liked our 400 year old building! I apologise if there was misinformation regarding the dinner times in your room - I will get this checked to avoid any future confusion. We look forward to...

Noordwijk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely cozy hotel in the lovely center of Arundel! Together with the area the food and the very nice people a very nice experience ! We are definitely visiting the Swan and Arundel again! Only down side was the small room but because of all the outdoor activities we didn't stay there much!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeroenw936
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jeroenw936, Thank you for your comments! It's great to know that you had a very nice experience and that you felt our hotel was a cozy place to be. Please do call us to book when you would like to stay again and we will offer you the best room we have available - rooms vary in size and...

Southend On Sea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel as it was close to Arundel Castle where we were attending a MG car meet. The staff at the hotel were very pleasent and gave you a warm welcome.The rooms were as described and could not fault the amenities provided

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 541malcolmh
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 541malcolmh, Thank you for your review. I'm very happy to hear that you felt warmly welcomed and that you were pleased with the amenities. I hope you would stay with us again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great pub in an excellent location. We booked a last night here as it was in Arundel (for the Castle), and within an easy one hour drive to Gatwick the next morning. We had a room overlooking the street and did not find it noisy at all, well provisioned and with a comfortable bed. We had dinner and breakfast, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bilgola1 .
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bilgola1, Thank you for very much for your comments. I'm delighted that you had such a great last night of your holiday, that you were comfortable and found the meals to be excellent. We look forward to seeing you some time in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable and friendly pub, well situated but therefore noisy from main road. Newly refurbished en-suite had no heating. Bedroom nice and clean with plenty of tea and coffee. Good bed. Nice dining room and excellent breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M4878MEchristopherk
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M4878MEchristopherk, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's good to hear you felt comfortable and enjoyed the food. I hope you would consider staying again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a one night midweek stay. in a great location. decor was charming as were the staff. teh food was good too! overall would highly recommend. I only picked to stay here out of convenience for location a little bit last minute, but was also surprised how nice the place was. I would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ascott_424601
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ascott_424601, Thank you for taking the time to review us - I'm thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised, approved of the location and food, and would stay again. We look forward to seeing you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel,clean lovely room, helpful staff, would recommend and go again. Set in beautiful town.Brekfast , good selection, plenty of it perfect.Great cocktails, wish we could have stayed for the evening entertainment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Trevor, Thank you for reviewing! I'm delighted you had a great stay and were happy with so many elements of it. I'm pleased you would come again and hope you are able to join us for some evening entertainment in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a different visit from my previous one, and the experience was equally as good. We spent the whole time in the restaurant but had the 'opportunity' to sample many cocktails before and after a superb dinner, and the food and drink was both excellent. The bar tender even came to talk to us when changes were requested -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLM3080
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JLM3080, Thank you for your comments. We're very pleased that you had a really enjoyable evening and enjoyed sampling many cocktails! My staff take pride in creating a quality cocktail just as much as pulling a perfect pint or serving great food - we hope you would come again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly located for all attractions the town has to offer. For meals I would suggest booking is essential, throughout the town, as well as at the Swan. Parking is at the back of the hotel and is council run. There is no arrangement between Fullers and the council to reimburse customers with daily parking. Which as at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S M H
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S M H, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the advice to visitors. We do encourage booking with us so we can ensure that we have a table for you in our restaurant. We hope you would consider staying with us again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location in the centre of town - a cosy pub with good quality accommodation. Stayed in room 6 - ask for a roll top bath if you go for the INDULGENCE room - you also get a separate double shower. Staff friendly and breakfast excellent. Evening meal was just OK though. You get a little bit of noise from...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bashbarman
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bashbarman, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm happy to hear that you felt the accommodation was good quality and that you also found the breakfast to be excellent. I would be keen to know how you felt the evening meal could have been improved - feel free to email details to swanhotel.arundelmanager@fullers.co.uk. Most of our...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
896 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,897 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
0.8 km away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
81 reviews
6.5 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Pub
The Swan Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: ₹ 5,885 - ₹ 10,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel/Littlehampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
over a year ago
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room on the back of hotel if you want some peace.”
maureenjulia, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9,10 and 11 are not directly above the bar, and do not overlook the main road, so may be the quietest”
zensilence, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Visit The Cathedral Church of Our Lady and St Philip Howard Catholic cathedral.”
HerbertBaumann, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Travel light”
fisherman251, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check directly with the hotel if you want to make sure that you get a room with enough space.”
Jo1Surrey, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5