We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
36Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
16Attractionswithin 0.5 km
911Reviews
171Photos
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 448
  • 288
  • 116
  • 40
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed with friends in January. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was very good and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The room had tea/coffee making facilities but sadly no biscuits. The pay car Park was close
Read more
Following the Swan's recent refurbishment we thought we would try Sunday Lunch it has never really appealed in the past but it had been a given a lovely 'makeover' We booked a table for 1.30 and were very disappointed when our table was out the back somewhere even though there
Read more
Response from Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your visit was disappointing. We do use the whole of our restaurant, especially at weekends, and bookings are allocated to tables in order to use the space most efficiently. As it is a weekend, there are often families with children in our restaurant, but we don't reserve a specific area for families.I apologise that you found this disruptive. I am sorry also that you found the food not up to standard. Our roasts are usually very popular, so it is disappointing that you didn't enjoy your meal. If you would like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact me on swanhotel.arundel@fullers.co.uk. Best wishes, Beata
Read more
Just enjoyed another stay. Appears to have a recent refurbish. The 1st room we were given was room number 2.very nice but no bath. Staff quickly changed us to room 10 with double shower and free standing bath. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a cooked
Read more
Response from Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your change of room, and that you found it comfortable. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts, so I am glad you enjoyed it! We would love to welcome you back for another stay, and hope to see you soon.
Read more
Stopped here for a light lunch. Service friendly and efficient. Room spacious with wooden tables in the bar. iPod selection of beers and lagers. Had sandwich which was very tasty and served with chips. Also leek and potato soup which looked a little too green and didn’t taste of
Read more
Response from Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed the food and the ambience. I apologise for the soup surprise! We often change our soup depending on what is fresh and seasonal, and this obviously wasn't communicated properly. I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon for another visit.
Read more
The menu was limited but the food was good. We had fish and chips, burger, cod, venison. All tasty. Service was slow but we weren't in a rush. Free parking after 6pm in the public car park round the back.
Read more
Response from Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2019
Hi, Thank you for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed the food. I apologise that the service was a little slow, we are always trying to improve our services so will ensure this is brought to the attention of the staff. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Beata
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Our bedroom
The swan hotel, built in 1600's, great location in centre of town.
PreviousNext
12345613
Hello Foodhero, Apologies for the slow response to your question. Unfortunately due to us being a Grade 2 listed building, we don't have any accessible rooms. Best regards Beata Slapikaite
0 votes
Show all answers
The hotel has no private parking. There are a few slots just opposite that you can use to unload your bags. The recommended parking is the public area just behind the hotel.
-1 votes
Thank you for your enquiry. Superior rooms 6 & 12 and Executive rooms 2 & 10 have queen size beds. Just write a comment on your booking info and we will do our best to allocate it for you.
1 vote
PreviousNext
12
"sloping ceiling little trickier for my husband who is over 6' but well presented, clean, comfortable and quiet."
"Ask for a side room"
"ask for a room not onto the street as was very noisey"
"All fine view of river is nice"
"Very Central but quiet."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 79 - US$ 202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Arundel Swan Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandArun DistrictArundel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing