We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Coventry City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Coventry City Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Coventry City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Burton on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Pretty basic, tiny room, the digital switchover can't have gotten to coventry yet as the TV was only tuned for channels 1 - 5. The room was clean and smelled of soap. Would do as a base to rest your head. The shared toilets/showers were cleaner than some reviews suggested. Even in the dead of night. And with it being... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank craig j
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post the review. I am glad that you found the bedroom and bathroom facilities clean and sufficient. I am very sorry that other guests did not behave quietly at night. Formule 1 hotel is patrolled at night by security company on a regular basis. I will be sharing your feedback with... More 

Czestochowa, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our stay, mine and my mum, was quite nice, however during the night we had have some unpleasent incidents didnt realeted to hotel condition (some guests were shutting the doors in the late night hours, and once even fire alarm tuned on with an incredible noice at 1am because someone was smoking in the room). Despite that our room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margarett125
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. At the same time, I am sorry that you could hear other guests at night. I have shared your feedback with hotel security team. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager. More 

coventry
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

i have stayed in many hotels in my time and this is the worst hotel by far the costumer service is terrible , the bedrooms stink of bleach. the first time i went there i was given a key for room 114 when i got to the room i opened it there was a chinese coupel having sex on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank steven d
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. You review is very serious and I am sorry that you did not contact us in order to report the issues. We are looking into the problems described. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly on h2793-gm@accor.com in order to discuss. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I can only sum this dump up as a Knocking Shop. Truly awful and facilities -horrific. Communal showers filthy and not all working.Walking the corridors in search of a shower was a shock. If u want male company be my guest..... Not for me.

Helpful?
4 Thank Helenflute1
Management response:

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and will be investigating the matter accordingly. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager. More 

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It turns out this hostel is owned by the Ibis (nearby) It was very difficult to find how we were meant to get into the hostel, or check-in. Finally we went over to the Ibis to ask and it happened to be there, they gave us a key- didnt tell us where exactly our room was. As we were trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linnetey
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I have shared your comments with Housekeeping department. I am glad that you found the bedroom cleanliness meeting your expectations. However, the standard of communal bathroom cleanliess strongly depends on the guests using it during the evening. The same Housekeeping team cleans the bedrooms as well as... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I've not been in prison before but I imagine this is what Formule 1 model their hotels on. On the plus side its cheap but that is the only good thing going for this place. I ended up here because everywhere else was full but I wish I'd taken the alternative of a 4am start for my meeting. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 186273Matski98
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. I believe you have also contacted me via e-mail to which I have responded promptly. Again, thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

It is very nice experience to stay in this hotel (or hostel). Before I went to, I expected the small hostel with dirty bathroom, but it is over my expectation. The bedroom is quite well, It is enough for 2 of my friends and I sharing together. The bathrooms and toilets are quite new and clean. I really recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kong10
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. I have shared your feedback about clean bathrooms with housekeeping department. My team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager. More 

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
476 reviews
1.5 km away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#27 of 39 in Coventry
417 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.8 km away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#29 of 39 in Coventry
336 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Coventry City Hotel

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Price Range: ₹ 3,682 - ₹ 6,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Coventry City Hotel Coventry
Formule 1 Hotel Coventry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coventry City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles 534travellingm, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles christH8765OH, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Rooms far away from toilets will in theory be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles craigj854, 9 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Ask for one far from the bathrooms, as you'll get less traffic in front of your door that way.”
 of 5 bubbles PastryNinja, 6 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Don't stay there END OF!”
 of 5 bubbles SAP91, 22 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5