We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Ansty Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Ansty Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Ansty Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,210: English reviews
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The hotel was easy to find. Very elegant with stunning gardens and a church next door.its quite a popular setting for people getting married. The hotel was built in 1657 and retains much of the charm. The woman on reception was very helpful. Our room no2 was huge with a big bathroom with separate shower and a lovely deep bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Janet W Many thanks for your great review. I have passed your comments to the team who are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I would recommend our new seasonal a la carte menu that our skilled chefs have put together and when you book again let me know and I'll ensure you get the best table in the restaurant...

York
Reviewed 26 March 2016

You'd forgive this place it's haphazard levels of service if it wasn't so keen to charge so much given you're a captive audience. There was so much to like about this place such as the friendly obliging staff and the lovely surrounding and well appointed rooms. It's such a pity that was spoilt by several instances of bumbling incompetence that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QXZWS
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear QXZWS Many thanks for your review. I am sorry that some service levels weren't up to our usual high standards and I have passed your comments to the relevant people so improvements can be made. Our prices for our wine list and bar although in line with other 4 star properties in the local area, are currently under review...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Room clean and very comfortable, top quality. Staff great, extremely helpful, they couldn't do enough for me. Tried the restaurant - the food is superb. I've stayed in a lot of hotels for work, and would recommend this to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherseary
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear christopherseary The whole team are happy that you enjoyed your stay and are elated with your comments about the food and service. We strive to ensure all our guests leave happy and always look forward to seeing them return time and time again as so many do. I do hope we will see you in the very near future...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Sending ourselves to Coventry for the weekend proved a welcome experience, certainly in the capable hands of management and staff in Macdonald Ansty Hall. A lot at stake here, as everything was planned to celebrate a milestone birthday (my partner's, bringing her son with her, and both very much in need of some R&R for the weekend). From the moment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear David M Being sent to COVENTRY as you've discovered isn't necessarily a bad thing after all!! As a team we are always happy when we see the hard work and effort we afford all our guests pays off with such great remarks. It is always especially nice for us to entertain guests who have something special to celebrate, in...

Solihull
Reviewed 21 March 2016

4 STAR Hotel- 5 STAR SERVICE- superb!!! Stayed on Saturday night on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis. The service at the hotel is second to none- everyone was extremely polite and attentive. Evening meal and breakfast were very tasty. We were initially apprehensive as the hotel reception was packed with a wedding party so we were concerned about possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moyk
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Moyk Thank you for such a wonderful review and the staff were most pleased when I passed this on to them that their hard work hasn't gone unnoticed and are glad you enjoyed both our food and service. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Ansty Hall in the near future. Regards Gordon Harby Operations Manager

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

My husband and I wanted a weekend away to forget the stresses of our lives and just be together for a little while. The hotel offered a great offer for dinner, bed and breakfast so it was perfect to keep costs down and just feel like we'd had a treat. The receptionist was very welcoming, happy and polite. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvana S
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Silvana S I am pleased that on a whole you enjoyed your stay with us at Ansty Hall but am concerned by your comments regarding the restaurant which we so very often get nothing but praise about. I will address your comments with the team directly to investigate and make improvements where needed. I hope that you choose to...

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night for a 50th party here. Overall I would say the hotel is tired looking, bed large and comfortable. Bath very narrow! Worst was our disgusting discoloured toilet seat, not what you would expect in any hotel. We did complain and had a email offering to upgrade us on our next visit (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audia366
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Audia366 It was myself who sent you the e mail after your stay when you kindly high lighted an issue in some of our rooms regarding discolored toilet seats. As I explained in my e mail this was due to a cleaning chemical that our maids had been using to disinfect them that over time had resulted in the...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Afternoon tea for myself a some friends to celebrate my birthday, the staff were great, booking the tea was great, the staff I spoke to were so helpful and accommodating when I booked it, the library that I had it in was really nice, but sadly I was not overly impressed with the afternoon tea itself, the bread on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathydesmo
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Cathydesmo Whilst I am please that you were happy with the service and wonderful library that overlooks our gardens, I am disappointed that you left unhappy with the tea itself and had you highlighted this to me on the day I'd have been happy to address any concerns you may have had. I can confirm that the sandwiches were...

derby
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We went for a two night break get away my husband and myself. The hotel is very good clean and warm . The meals were excellent and service was extremely good was treated like royalty. The best food I've tasted in a hotel. Breakfast was also very good with friendly staff making you feel at home nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Tina F Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay. Next time that you are due to stay please contact me directly so I can further enhance your experience. Regards Gordon Harby Operations Manager

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

What a find in a wasteland for hotels. There really isn't much in this part of North Birmingham so it was a treat to find this hotel. Clearly a lot of other people thinks too, and the car park was full. My room was very comfortable and a lovely size with high Georgian ceilings. I had room service which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awislon
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Awision It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Macdonald Ansty Hall. I have had all our beds int he old hall checked and discovered the one you have mentioned and it has now been fixed so future guests don't have the same issue. We have a variety of rooms that differ in their...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
4.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,660 reviews
11.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
9.1 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
5.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at Ricoh Arena - Coventry
10.5 km away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Price Range: ₹ 5,957 - ₹ 11,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Ansty Hall staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Dartford, United Kingdom
11 months ago
norfolk uk
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Ansty Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend joining the McDonald club, as that contributed to getting the room upgrade I guess.”
 of 5 bubbles ianj912, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can't help as our room in annexe and daughter's room in main building were disappointing!”
 of 5 bubbles 747JanetS, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room facing the gardens are possibly best”
 of 5 bubbles Trunkers, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were in 118 which was next to the fire escape so no one backing onto us. window faced the car park”
 of 5 bubbles natashay616, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth paying the extra for a feature room in the old part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles peterKleen, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5