We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Paragon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Paragon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,130: English reviews
Start your review of Paragon Hotel
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were friendly & helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. It was a great night out and an equally great nights sleep. Only point to remember is that the cooked breakfast is charged and the continental breakfast is in fact no longer free with room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-Rosario
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a family gathering hotel was quiet good and comfortable. It fitted the purpose we needed it for. We didnt use the bar but did use the restaurant for breakfast and this was very good. We had a gluten intolerant person in our group and the staff were very happy to accommodate this person in every way they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scoobytravel1
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the Paragon mainly because it was such a bargain price and it would have cost almost as much to get a taxi home. There were mixed reviews but we had accepted it might be a bit dodgy! We were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly & helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vharri
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Chichester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived at hotel expecting the worst given some negative reviews. What i found was quite different. Greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who took the time to explain local area, transport links and history of this interesting building. We followed the route to our room and yes the corridor was a little chilly but entering our room it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chisunseeker777
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Right so... I read several negative reviews about this hotel but a lot of them are fairly petty and talk about the hotel as if they've payed £100+ per night... I stayed a night in the hotel whilst attending a concert at the Barclay Card arena. The hotel itself is comparable to season 5 of American Horror story and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack C
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff weren't very friendly. Had no hot water at all, after telling staff 3/4 times in the space of about 2 hours, finally we got moved to a different room (bridal suite) which was freezing cold the whole time even with windows closed and two heaters on! The place needs a make over. Whole hotel smells and doesn't seem very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessie R
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

ISLE OF MAN
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite the negativity of Trip Advisor. I had personal reasons to stay at the Paragon. I had a very pleasant stay the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. I don't have a problem recommending this establishment. My room was clean tidy and warm with a comfortable bed . My breakfast was well prepared and presented including on hot plates. Its...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MADMANX
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is spot on just a real same about the hotel, in need of a complete makeover!! understand that this is underway! Both windows were cracked in our room heater hanging of the wall and the room smelt of damp! Car park is a complete mess but they lock it up at night so is safe as far as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reggieedwards
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

. At the time of checking in there was a large crowd of mostly males who from either Australia or New Zealand checking in too, they were using foul language and the reception staff did nothing about it! Definitely won't be staying here again, guy who checked us in didn't seem interested that I had requested a ground floor room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam Q
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Okay, so the rooms are smaller than we're used to, but that's no biggy. It's the maintenance more than cleanliness they need to work on. The actual room wasn't dirty at all, the bed was perfectly clean and it looked like a brand new shower. I was pleasently surprised by the room that isn't actually that bad. Based on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Management response:

Dear Guest Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you most recent stay with us. It is only with true and honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward in customer service delivery. All comments are taken seriously and investigated, this however can take time and we appreciate your patience during this process....

793 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (773)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (135)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (437)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 117 in Birmingham
1,044 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 117 in Birmingham
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is currently going through a major multi million pound refurbishment programme that will transform the hotel back into its former glory. Completion of the refurbishment will be in late spring 2017 The Paragon is a Privately owned 241 roomed Hotel situated in the Digbeth district of Birmingham City. It is within walking distance from the city centre and well positioned for local bars within the Irish Community. The hotel has a vast banqueting room along with several smaller meeting rooms that can cater from 12 to 600 persons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Address: 145 Alcester Street, Birmingham B12 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 2,356 - ₹ 5,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paragon Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paragon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Paragon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Are you sober now?”
 of 5 bubbles Jamwall7, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't! book it”
 of 5 bubbles 589derrick1961, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you had better not stay in room 412”
 of 5 bubbles Pablos690_1, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
  • Mould on wall beside bed
 of 5 bubbles Caswell19, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineM507, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5