We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 962: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We was treated very well by the staff from the moment we walked into the hotel. Afternoon tea was amazing and extremely good value for money. Our dinner on the night was also amazing and the chocolate truffle cake, which was recommended to me did not disappoint. The staff work very hard to make everyone happy and our server Rob...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emrichjen
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Fiona General Manager

Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

I stay at many hotels with my business and have on on whole had a good experience with holiday inn hotels. This hotel had nice rooms and a good check in service, even then breakfast was good. The bad - the night manger had a major chip on his shoulder at the bar and wanted to talk to me about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Kevin H Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay. I can see that many elements of the hotel you found exceeded your expectations; however this was impacted by an experience with our night’s team. I would really welcome the opportunity of discussing this with you so I can gain a greater understanding....

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I had planned with the Novotel right by the airport but didn't remember the name well. I ended up at the Holiday INn Express. I was disappointed at the beginning because I would have to drive to the show every day but it was finally not a big deal. The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WoREditor
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear WoREditor Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased we managed to surprise you and exceed your expectations. We hope you will remember to try us again the next time you visit the area. regards Fiona General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

I booked the hotel as it had an offer for £35 And was close to NEC. Well it's not close It's 25 min walk through pitch black car parks with no signposts. The hotel is dirty and extremely noisy. I would highly recommend paying extra and staying in a better hotel. I will never ever stay there again. They must...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank apjnnp
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please call the hotel on 0121 782 32222 to discuss your stay further. I would really welcome the opportunity to discuss the problems you had. Regards Fiona General Manager

Moray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend the NEC. On arrival we received a friendly welcome and moved our bags into the room which looked fine and appeared clean and fresh. As we had been on an early evening flight we decided to pop to the bar for a bite to eat and a drink - only options available were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YCS64
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear YCS64, I am sorry your stay was so disappointing please call the hotel direct on 0121 781 3222. Regards Fiona General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Easy to find, just off the main road. You have to pay for parking (park just outside the hotel). A decent pub next door if you dont want to eat at the hotel. Clean and tidy room. Check in was fast and the staff very friendly. A very good budget hotel. No frills. Breakfast was decent (scrambled eggs, sausages, baked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunu
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Fiona General Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We booked a room for 3 persons including parking for Birmingham airport. We left the car from the 8th October returning after our flight on 15th to stay the night. Drop off on the 8th was excellent, hotel package included taxi which was prompt and similar on our return however on arriving back at the hotel, tired after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefBScotland
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear StefBScotland, I am sorry for the problems that you encountered at the hotel on the early hours of the morning. I can only imagine how stressful it must be after along flight. I have checked into your booking and can see that we had the information that only one person was due to be in the room which is...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

This is truly outstanding hotel. The staff that checked us inn early at 11 am were so kind and helpful they are a credit to IHG other hotels could learn a lot from the staff in this hotel. The rooms were clean warm and nice we checked inn at 11 am on 15.10.15 to rooms 322 and 320. Thanks everyone....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear zcarsaus, Thank you for your lovely comments about the team I will be very proud to share this with them. I hope we get to welcome you back soon. Regards Fiona General Manager

Reviewed 12 October 2015

Great stopover hotel for going to an event at the NEC (staff will phone you a taxi which cost £5 door to door).Very clean,comfortable room,with everything that you need and a nice clean bathroom with good shower.Decent self service breakfast and a well stocked bar for an evening drink.What made it better than your typical stopover hotel though,were the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Lyn W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments regarding the team. We hope that we get to welcome you back in the future. Regards Fiona General Manager

Alfreton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Firstly, on arrival i wasn't greeted with the warmest of receptions. Upon getting to my room i found that there was still rubbish on the side(an empty tooth paste tube) from the previous guest. I decided to go the bar for a pint and something to eat. I would usually dine in the pub next door (the little owl, i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeBuzz
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Leebuzz, I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your stay with us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss it with you. Please come and speak to the duty manager this morning before you leave or call me on 0121 7823222 Regards Fiona General Manager

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.7 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,227 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. In addition to free Wi-Fi, facilities at the hotel include evening meals, parking, meeting rooms, licensed bar and prices which always include breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 3,835 - ₹ 16,648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Oxford, United Kingdom

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no "best" rooms. Think they are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles S4954LTdavidm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You will need to get a taxi if visiting the NEC or airport.”
 of 5 bubbles VeryWhiteBrit, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“add in the cost of the taxi to your stay £ 13.00”
 of 5 bubbles yaeman, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles 6papahotel, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Probably all the same rooms. No views to speak of.”
 of 5 bubbles stevelU427MH, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5