We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • The Marston Green Tavern
    2.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Pre flight family perfect
We started for only one night before a flight from Birmingham... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 918: English reviews
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We started for only one night before a flight from Birmingham airport. The Manager made a great impression on us when we first arrived. Very friendly yet very professional. The kids were treated really well by all staff, the rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was excellent and the airport is only a very short taxi ride away, maybe 5 minutes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Jamie K, It's great to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We hope you will stay with us the next time you head out on a family holiday. Regards Fiona General Manager

Westbury
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a lone traveller the bedroom size was a pleasant surprise, decent work area and the sofa a big bonus. Downstairs a bit cold and open, no cosy corners. Pub next door has all the cosy, decent pub grub and well priced. Parking the only real downside, should be free for residents 😔

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Lesley S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ourselves. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be spacious for your stay. We do offer the first five hours free parking for our guests but due to our location do charge for any...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an overnight stay hear and I was pleased with what we got. Large car park close to the hotel, friendly and efficient reception desk, comfortable room/beds, great set up for taxis to the airport - which is only 5 or 6 minutes away plus a excellent country pub next door serving good inexpensive food. Would stay again in October...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lunchl0ver
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Lunchlover, Thank you for the review, it's great to see that you will stay with us again the next time you are due to fly! We hope you had an enjoyable holiday and we look forward to seeing you in October. Regards Fiona General Manager

Bracknell
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the alternatives of Travelodge or Hilton but I chose this hotel because I can avoid a taxi and walk to my office on the nearby industrial park. From speaking to colleagues who stayed in the other ones I definitely got the best value. It felt very new and clean and I was surprised at how large the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ultrak3wl
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Ultra3wl, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that we were able to surprise you in a positive way by being better value than you anticipated. We hope when you are next in the area you will choose to stay with us again. Regards Fiona General Manager

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No parking at the hotel we got in around 9 dodgy area at night, had to park opposite leaving at 8 30 in the morning omfg £29 to park we would have chosen a more expensive hotel with their own parking. The room was fine and shower good, shattered so we went to bed after 17hr flight, then it started...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1259vanessa
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear 1259vanessa, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you appreciated our room, shower and our breakfast selections. However, it is saddening to learn that you did not have a good experience due to the unavailability of parking, smell and noise issues. I would like to apologize for...

Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel prior to an early morning flight from Birmingham Airport. Unfortunately I was ill in the night and had to go to accident and emergency and ultimately did not get my city break. Staff at the hotel were very helpful throughout - finding the nearest casualty - keeping our room for a second night - and going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarrieGlasgow
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Barrie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to see that you were taken ill and not able to enjoy the plans you had made, but I am pleased to see that the team did their best to make the situation easier for you. Hopefully when you are better you will return to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Typically functional Holiday Inn Express. There's nothing fancy or exceptional except the lovely staff. Breakfast was much better than the previous weeks stay at the HIE in Bristol. It's very close to the NEC and airport and just off the M42. Paying to park was a bit annoying for a guest. Nice pub next door, just don't try the dough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Steve L, Thank you for the review it's great to see when a guest will stay with us again and we hope you will return to stay with us soon. We do have rates that include parking so be sure to select when booking next time. Regards Fiona General Manager

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night recently. Firstly i would like to thank Hayleigh the manager for her fantastic customer service, she really is a credit to IHG! Check in and check out process is simple and easy, and the overall look of the main restaurant / bar area is very modern, open and exceptionally clean. The room was clean, tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeza87
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Jeza87, Thank you for the feedback I will be sure to share your review with Hayleigh so she knows you appreciate her efforts. We know how important a good nights sleep is so its great to see that you loved our beds. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Fiona

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 4adults going on holiday to Mexico. We needed somewhere to stay the night before departure and somewhere to leave my car for 15 days. After checking various places, I decided on this place. Simple check in,rooms very comfortable and taxi to airport next morning was arranged at reception. Unfortunately, because of early flight, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muleskinner58
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Muleskinner58, Thank you for the review, it's always nice to see that someone will return in the future. We hope you enjoyed your holiday and will hopefully see you soon. Regards Fiona

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed two nights over Xmas period, only needed a bed because we were visiting family, however the staff working Christmas Eve very friendly and couldn't fault the service or the Hotel. My elderly Mother travelled with us and she had a disabled room and we had an adjoining room which was perfect. Close to the NEC, only complaint we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisscully20
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Chrisscully20, Thank you for the review of your recent stay, I am pleased to see that the team made you feel welcome. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Regards Fiona

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.8 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#36 of 115 in Birmingham
850 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#17 of 115 in Birmingham
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
2.1 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. In addition to free Wi-Fi, facilities at the hotel include evening meals, parking, meeting rooms, licensed bar and prices which always include breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 4,221 - ₹ 22,627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Wrexham, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably all the same rooms. No views to speak of.”
 of 5 bubbles stevelU427MH, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a taxi to the NEC and if you are going to eat at the pub next door you need to book.”
 of 5 bubbles C1080TXdianam, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“third floor very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles christinea561, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the attic rooms- these are fairly small and have height restriction areas in room.”
 of 5 bubbles shellw_12, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles hughe954, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5