We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,775: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We had room 333, a very spacious Twin, with lots of room. The room was very clean, the beds and pillows comfy. The Bathroom was gleaming and the towels large, white and fluffy. Room was very hot when we arrived but thanks to help from reception we finally got the air con going. Appreciated the follow up call from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allvox
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allvox Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Redditch
Reviewed 18 April 2016

I had a retirement party in the Baccus bar and was recommended to stay at the Burlington by a friend. I fully endorse the recommendation. We were made welcome the room nice, clean and very ccomfortable. As we were travelling by train the location was perfect. We had breakfast which was excellent, a really enjoyable stay. I would not hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipr974
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philipr974 I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your room and how welcome you were made to feel by the team. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and writing such a positive review! We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Burlington is central Birmingham , has lovely style loads of marble , reception very helpful. Sat waiting for service in the bar for a while and had to go find some. Room not as warm as might have liked . Nice airy bedrooms with good bed and all the bits and pieces

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cragnet
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cragnet I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, however I am sorry for your disappointment with some aspects of your experience. Please be assured that your feedback will be discussed with the team at our weekly management meeting to ensure that any similar disappointment could not be repeated. It is always helpful to receive feedback...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianrF3552OV
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

The hotel was understaffed with one person attending to a long queue of guests waiting to check in, guests trying to retrieve left luggage from a locked room that the one staff did not have a key for, and guests trying to change rooms as they were not happy. I waited 20 minutes which after a long journey was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tina m
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tina m Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am truly sorry to learn of your experience and very disappointed that we appear to have let ourselves down and failed to meet your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback has been the subject of a management team review to ensure that the lapses you...

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Dated tired rooms with 1980s style furniture.Curtains not attached at one end of rail,and all of chair upholstery soft furnishings and carpet felt grubby. (Felt need to keep shoes on whilst walking on carpet )Bathroom has been partially renovated but only had tiny corner shower with rainfall shower & no handset . Not at all what would have expected from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carl H I am extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and have a refurbishment programme taking place in 2016. On this particular occasion it appears you were allocated one of our older bedrooms, although I fully appreciate this should not detract from...

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The biggest problem was lack of efficient staff on reception booking in and worse booking out 1 person and a line of frustrated customers concerned they would miss the train.The room had cups and saucers but no tea coffee or milk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 752gwenb
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 752gwenb I was extremely concerned to receive your review and would like to apologise for your disappointment. Please can I ask you to contact me directly on hotelmanager.burlington@macdonald-hotels.co.uk so that I may investigate with the team and reassure you personally. Best wishes James James Bee Hotel Manager

London
Reviewed 13 April 2016

This hotel may be bang central in Birmingham but it's decor throughout is tired and, frankly, depressing. The hotel itself was surrounded by impressive developments when we visited - New Street Station right opposite undergoing something of a renaissance, the city centre also being rebuilt in key places...sadly Macdonald Hotels have not followed suit with their hotel. I made the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank businesscameraman
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear businesscameraman Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am truly sorry to learn of your experience and very disappointed that we appear to have let ourselves down and failed to meet your expectations. I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly so I may discuss your stay and event and give you...

Coalville, Leicestershire
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic one night stay at the hotel it is perfectly located in the city center opposite, New street station so this was excellent for train travelers like myself. Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade to one of the Suites which was very welcome. It was a fantastic experience and I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingsy21
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kingsy21 Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

It may be four star but I would say it's showing its age. The room size was very good and they have made an effort to make the rooms more contemporary but as you can see from photos it's creaking a bit. Broken lights, bath panel, tiles, rubbish non steam iron, thin ironing board; I would expect more in budget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EthanHawk
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EthanHawk I am very sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations on this particular visit. Being a Victorian Hotel, our rooms do vary considerably in size and décor. We believe this adds character to our product which is sadly lacking in many of today’s newly built hotels and chains; however, I take on board your comments and...

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
2,165 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 141 in Birmingham
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
771 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 141 in Birmingham
2,002 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: 6 Burlington Arcade 126 New Street, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: ₹ 6,669 - ₹ 23,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had executive room. Very cold in there!”
 of 5 bubbles PhilH440, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the rooms at the back are lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles clairesilvey, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on 2nd floor at the rear....no view but quiet with no street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles dsteer2015, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a full sized bed”
 of 5 bubbles MXS540, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for view of arcade or main street”
 of 5 bubbles 818JOHNR818, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay