We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

898 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 873: English reviews
Start your review of Bloc Hotel Birmingham
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Having never stayed at a Bloc hotel before I was a little apprehensive but needn't have worried. We stayed in an apartment and it was absolutely fantastic. A large flat screen TV in other bedroom and lounge area. Useful kitchen area. Very comfortable bed and pillows and super shower. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne F
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms are painfully small No Restaurant No Tea or Coffee in Room Staff Very Very Unhelpful You have to show a driving licence or Passport to get your room Plus points is you can use the toilet while you shower

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Nick, The only shock we want our guests to have when staying with us is what remarkably good value we are and I am genuinely very sorry if this is not how you perceived us. Our standard Sleep and Vista rooms whilst cleverly designed are undoubtedly compact and we make this very clear on our website including accurate photographs...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room has space for an admittedly massive bed and not much else. The bathroom is essentially a large walk in shower with a toilet and basin in it. But it's all finished to an incredibly high standard and was perfectly serviceable for my three night stay. The location is great, just a short walk from the centre (or you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank runningcity
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Super hotel, the low cost does not in anyway reflect compromise, the hotel does what it says on the package. Incredibly helpful and courteous staff. The Hotel itself is aesthetically pleasing and kept pristine. Travel options are very accessible and there are plenty restaurants nearby which offer patrons of 'Bloc' discounts(just ask at reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cush A
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Cush What a fabulous review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham, thank you so much. It is a genuine pleasure to read that we got everything right for your stay and I know that the staff team will be delighted at your comments regarding them being 'incredibly helpful and courteous'. Our aim has been to offer...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well, all I can say is the cat had a lucky escape because the room I had booked wasn't big enough to swing it in. I had heard that the rooms were a little on the small side but I wasn't expecting mine to be this small, my bathroom at home is bigger and that's no exaggeration so thank the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Dean, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and entertaining review of your stay at BLOC St Paul's. When designing and building BLOC we spent a lot of time thinking about what our guests would need for a short stay before or after a long flight. That's why you'll find 300 thread count sheets, smart...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not luxury, but for what you pay, it's absolutely fine. If you just want a comfy bed and a shower then it's perfect. It's in a good location in the jewellery quarter, easy to walk into town, nice pubs and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeilaS84
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Leila Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I'm pleased to hear that you very much enjoyed our great location in the buzzing Jewellery Quarter, its only ten minutes to the centre of town too, so BLOC offers unbeatable convenience. We like to think that we offer pared down luxury at BLOC; compact...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room, bed was comfy and everything you needed in the room Even a handy travel hair drier, Loved the monsoon shower, big selling point Drainage could have been better as didn't want to get bedroom floor wet but nothing a hand towel wouldn't stop, great views on to Birmingham and St Pauls too over all great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrlarmour
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a great review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Whilst we designed BLOC along very contemporary and stylish lines, we absolutely focussed on providing the highest levels of comfort and everything that you might need for a night in Birmingham. I'm pleased that you really enjoyed the fabulous monsoon shower, the floor of...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are small but you wouldn't know it... contemporary modern mixed with a Japanese style pod! Good set up, very comfy bed and pillows were great! Only disappointment was the window just had a blind so didn't keep all the street lights out, plus it was quite noisy in the hotel as the rooms didn't tend to keep noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Brett It is good to see from your review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham that you loved the BLOC style and particularly found the King-sized bed and luxury pillows provided you with the level of comfort that you were after. Our Vista rooms have windows with blinds which are designed to keep all the light...

Sapcote, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very modern pod room hotel. It's clean with nice rooms but be aware they are pod rooms so the bed spreads the width of the room and you'll have to climb over who ever is next to you in bed. Overall it's great if like us your after somewhere to just sleep and shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Peter I am delighted to read from your review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel that our concept of providing immaculate, yet compact rooms, at rates which start at just £49, worked for you and enabled you to have the night in Birmingham that you were after. If you did want a more spacious room, perhaps if...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitley not for weary traveller to stay, constant noise due to thin walls, banging either side and up above, youthsrunning amok at 2am in the morning! Toilet dirty, think it only gets cleaned by the shower that sprays out everywhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Chris, I was really sorry to read your review of BLOC St Paul's. We pride ourselves on offering exactly what the weary traveler needs and wants and thus to see that, for you at least, we didn't deliver is very disappointing. Whilst we cannot be responsible for the behavior of other guests I know that if you had alerted...

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 116 in Birmingham
1,037 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 116 in Birmingham
2,246 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#28 of 116 in Birmingham
1,092 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 116 in Birmingham
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: ₹ 3,330 - ₹ 8,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 56nickm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Marry a Dwarf to save on space”
 of 5 bubbles deanj769, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles O1174HWchrisj, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be aware no restaurant or bar, but not an issue for us”
 of 5 bubbles carlm729, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade for a window- £5”
 of 5 bubbles Giorgio-Lucia, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5