We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

912 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 887: English reviews
Start your review of Bloc Hotel Birmingham
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A great location. As it was a Saturday evening arrival I found it easy to park with it being free after 6pm. Unfortunately, the receptionist was quite rude and clearly not in a rush to check me in and let me get to my room. She was clearly more interested in other admin tasks on the computer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, room was very small but had everything you need to be fair with excellent bed. Shower was a wet room, but once you got used to it, it was fine and you could get a great shower. Better than some hotels where you have to shower in a bath. No breakfast available, but not a problem with several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn F
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upgraded cheaply to smart apartment within hotel. Best thing is quiet location for a busy Birmingham. Close by to canal network, discounts to nearby restaurants, and located in the gorgeous St Paul's Square in the jewellery quarter. Very friendly staff, nicely priced. Short walk to cultural areas, also. Fabulously comfortable bed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked my stay with free cancellation. Had to cancel and got confirmation of free cancellation but have still been charged. Be very careful to check your statements if you book here. Guess it'll be a battle with poor customer service now to get the charge refunded. More time wasted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
Rebecca W, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm sorry to hear your experience hasn't been as you had hoped so far. We are a prepayment hotel here, which means, on booking, you pay for the full stay of your reservation. If you book a policy which includes a free cancellation period, you will be refunded...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed for one night. The hotel can be reached from New Street very cheaply by taxi. It is brand new but the windowless rooms are minuscule and almost cell-like. The bed is large and comfortable however. Wifi was free and worked well. The bathroom is modern but the shower does not have a separate enclosure. It's like a Scandinavian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skier789
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel claims to reduce the amount of unnecessary 'stuff' that you don't need, unfortunately this includes any personal space or character. The rooms are small to the point of squashed. Our bathroom door was only a couple of feet from the head of the bed, made worse by the fact that it was a glass door!! This means no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sully430uk
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very unique design at the Bloc, but it works very well. The rooms are perfect for a quick cheap stop over and the apartments are even better. Would go back again and am 👀 by for other cities that have a Bloc hotel! Better value than travel lodge and premier inn

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fulgrim
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

What a pleasure to receive such a marvellous review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Our cleverly designed, compact, standard rooms provide you with a wonderful, comfortable, King-sized bed with premium bed linens, an amazing monsoon shower, large HD TV and free super-fast WiFi, all within easy reach of the city centre; with room rates starting at...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Picked here for the location and price and both were spot on. Stayed in one of the apartments which were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Loads of space, beds very comfy, bathroom clean and shower v good. Separate lounge area with little kitchenette that was useful. Def come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear John Many thanks for posting such a great review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am so pleased that you were happy, not only with the good value for money that you get when you stay at BLOC, but that the Apartroom you stayed in was a hit with you! We pride ourselves on presenting...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Currently staying here and we leave tomorrow heading back to Scotland, the only issue is that the maids have binned out train tickets home for me and my partner going back upto kirkcaldy. £104 for both the tickets. Reception have said that they can't do anything for a week or so until they can get in contact with the manager....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derrimcvey
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Derri Thank you for highlighting the issue you have had with your train tickets in your review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. We are genuinely deeply sorry that your train tickets appear to have been disposed of by the Housekeeping team. We launched an investigation as soon as the issue was raised by you and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

this hotel is terrible. It is nothing like the pictures on the website. I decided to get an apartroom for more space and it was still tiny - for the price I paid for the room it wasn't worth it. The shower is terrible, it was dripping all night and wouldn't switch off. The walls must be paper thin because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
Rebecca W, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Laura H, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I'm really disappointed to hear that your stay wasn't up to everything we profess here at BLOC, that's certainly something I hope I can resolve with you. Firstly, the photos from our website and across the booking platforms are taken directly from the hotel,...

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 117 in Birmingham
1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,410 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: ₹ 3,346 - ₹ 7,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyo446, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 56nickm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Marry a Dwarf to save on space”
 of 5 bubbles deanj769, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles O1174HWchrisj, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be aware no restaurant or bar, but not an issue for us”
 of 5 bubbles carlm729, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5