We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Barr Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Great Barr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my partner stopped at the Great Barr hotel in October 2016 . We didn't book through the hotel directly and managed to get a great price, for what we thought look quite luxurious . There was ample parking and the reception was easy to locate and access . Which is a bonus if you have many bags which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to a retirement party around 20 of us. It was a Abba tribute. The room was packed and it seemed somewhat overcrowded hardly room to move freely between chairs and tables. Starter I ordered salmon which was lovely. Mains I ordered pork which came with potatoes and veg. The pork was over cooked and extremely dry. The potatoes were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon L
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Many thanks for posting your comments and highlighting your concerns to me. Obviously I was aware of these issues prior to your comments, as I did do what I could on the evening with regards to the guests that you mentioned in your review, however as I am sure you can appreciate it is a fine line in...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I held my 40th Party here Jan 2017, What a great evening the food was amazing a vast improvement on previous parties I have attended. The staff working were great from the Bar staff to the restaurant staff wow yet again great, polite and on the ball, nothing was too much trouble. The refurbished bar looks the bees knees welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank webb77
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, both myself and the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday party here at the hotel. Pleased that the rum punch was a hit also. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel soon. Regards, Mark.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't read any reviews prior to booking, perhaps best I didn't, because I personally had no major problems with the hotel. My room was clean. Best thing about the place - the absolutely outstanding breakfast, one of the best Full Englishes I've ever had, not only compares to other 3 star hotels but even better than some 4 I've been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo N
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, both myself and the staff are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast also and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in this area. Regards, Mark.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading the reviews, I was a bit cautious into booking at this hotel, but I was glad that we did. Firstly, there is ample parking. On arrival to reception area we were greeted by a lovely receptionist, who gave us the info that we require (bar times, breakfast, wifi etc). Our room was clean, tidy and appeared recently decorated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharonDEdinburgh
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, we are pleased that you found your stay to be good value for money. I will pass on your comments to the staff with regards to watching their conversation, I am sorry if this offended or embarrassed you in any way. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Regards, Mark.

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through hotels.com and when we checked in they gave us the wrong room. Was only a double bed, the email said kingsize but we had to stay in the double the first night as it was late but the next morning they put us in a kingsize as soon as we said something again 👍🏼 we stayed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaCGxx
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your comments and sorry for the issues with regards to the room size on check in, however I am pleased we were able to rectify this and that you felt your stay to be good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Regards, Mark.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was checking out for an early flight and was told by the male clerk I owed 65 pounds, which was quite strange has the hotel are pretty insistent on obtaining payment upfront. The clerk informed me that i was unable to leave the building even to place my baggage in the car, which was to detain me against my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soothsayerman
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for raising your concerns, firstly let me apologise that you experienced these issues. I am sorry for the manner in which you were dealt with when it came to you checking out of our hotel, I will speak to the staff concerned and discuss how information is held on clients reservations so that there is not this misunderstanding...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here a few times previously and given excellent reviews but this last stay was ABSOLUTELY APPALLING!!! room was disgustingly dirty cobwebs hanging, toilet filthy! When myself and my partner went to sleep when people in the adjacent rooms on the hall way flushed toilets the noise was deafening because the pipe work was noisy and I actually thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly let me apologise again that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion. As you will understand I am very concerned about the issues that you have raised and this is not the normal experience whilst we have guests stop in our hotel. As I believe I have told you when we have spoken on the phone the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked via Bookings.com on a free cancellation deal. Upon arrival we were pleased to see a modern entrance with friendly staff. We checked in to one of our two rooms. It was basic and in need of an upgrade (105). We waited for a friend in the bar and sampled the burger and chips. The food was really tasty. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shortstayer85
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of the issues that you encountered whilst staying within our hotel. I think on the whole it sounds as though you enjoyed your stay once the room changes had been organised. I will speak to the Rooms Manager and ensure a refund request is submitted to head office and keep you up to date with...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hired The Millennium Suite and booked Christmas Lunch at the Palm Court Restaurant for the Christmas meeting of the Domestic Cleaning Alliance, 18th December 2016. As always everything went without a hitch - all 18+ guests were happy with the venue and no complaints. Venue was clean, adequate, and the refurbishment of the bar & toilet areas was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, and both myself and the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, both for your meeting and your dinner, we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Park Hotel
#102 of 142 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#106 of 142 in Birmingham
406 reviews
Westmead Hotel
#31 of 142 in Birmingham
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 4,192 - ₹ 8,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cardiff
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look round for deals on the internet”
 of 5 bubbles 331daniellet, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room that was subject of flooding earlier they have a better finish”
 of 5 bubbles Soothsayerman, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book a double room as the single was particularly small”
 of 5 bubbles suem555, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“be very careful when booking this hotel if you want a special day please advoid”
  • this is how the cable were scattered around the room
  • hair dryers in rooms showing the last pat test
 of 5 bubbles dianec289, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Possibly freshen up the decor but very good value and we really enjoyed our stay.”
 of 5 bubbles neilpU1377OO, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay