We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,351: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

Unique hotel, great location, very cheap (we paid £38 for the night) friendly staff, clean hotel room, perfect for a night out in Birmingham, but only if you're not going to spend any time in the hotel room (awake.) The toilet didn't flush properly, the taps on the sink leaked. I never tried the shower to be honest. The telly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NurseAbbers
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my sincere apologies that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, and thank you for your comments with regards to our excellent value for money and location. Regards

Reviewed 21 January 2015

The only good thing is location..although it's cheap - 72 GBP for two nights, the quality is very low.I didn't expect 5* lever for this price, but this was plain horrible..The hotel is very old,which would not be the big problem, if it would be clean..But previous customer's unfinished tea in the teapot and shower gel marks in the shower..dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank birdy86
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one, enabling you to leave...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My friend bought me a birthday treat of a night's stay at the Britannia Hotel in Birmingham, to include a three-course meal and a bottle of wine. The room and breakfast were OK. However, on returning to our room around 6pm, in time to get ready for our evening meal, we received a phone call from the Manager, saying there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra B
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

This complaint has been dealt with by email. Over heard conversations are never a true reflection of the facts. Apologies once again.

Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

In the car, my partner rang the hotel, knowing they had no parking, to ask where the nearest public car park was. She was abruptly told 'we have no parking' then the man on the phone just hung up! Now I know it was probably a busy member of staff, but there's just no excuse for that when you work...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dannystravel
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in...

Reviewed 18 January 2015

We paid £29 for a double room the nearest car park a few minutes walk £11 for24 hours. The location next door to primark right in the city centre a minuted walk from the train station They offer smoking and non smoking room's which you don't see much of theses day's. If you have been to 1 of the britiannia...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank welshhonesty31
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my sincere apologies that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, and thank you for your comments with regards to our excellent value for money and location. Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

This hotel is excellently located and was probably quite grand in its day but now it's very tired. Reception staff unfriendly. Bar and waiting staff much nicer. Breakfast was the highlight of my stay. I stayed in a gruby single room on the 4th floor. As some rooms are smoking and they are quite cheap in price attracts quite rowdy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zominger
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, we have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time to make them aware that you were unhappy, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay...

birmingham england
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We went on a 3 day break over new year and what a great time we had,i am fed up of negative reviews for brittania hotels we have stopped at several over the years and you get what you pay for.ok they do with a lick of paint here and there but so what it is 3 star not 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevinmckeown2000
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2015

This hotel is slap bang in the centre of town! access is through a tunnel of sorts ! reeks of urine! however this is not the hotel staffs fault. the hotel is very dated and very old! check in was ok! although staff seemed preoccupied . Lift Is frightening! on finding my room...OMG no no no! I left that night!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gary-scottish1
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, we have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time to make them aware that you were unhappy, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 14 January 2015

The location was perfect thats it.. Dirty and dingy. Only 1 plug socket in the room?? thats a weird one. Receptionist was rude and abrupt. The room was stuffy and dust everywhere. Looked nothing like the pics.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SuperstarGer
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, we have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time to make them aware that you were unhappy, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2015

I booked into this hotel for a week and left after 3 nights having managed to rearrange my work schedule. The list of failings is long but key from my experience would be: In Room: - Threadbare carpet - Damp and stale smelling - Non functioning TV - Damp patch on wall (worryingly juxstaposed with the only 13A socket in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John P
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in...

718 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (694)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (198)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (362)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: ₹ 2,404 - ₹ 7,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
6 days ago
6 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't bother go somewhere else”
Y8366IEannal, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
Laibach, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a city view, (9th Floor window 16 feet by 8 feet)”
134gerrym, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If your worried about possible noise ask for one of the rear facing rooms”
goodfoodjudge2016, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“no idea - slip the receptionist a fiver?”
splant3, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5