We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,277: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Wonderful service, friendly staff and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a a great place to stay in a central location, within the city. Perfect for sight-seeing or a romantic get away!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 525dianneh
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 525dianneh, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have passed on to the staff your praise and they are inevitably thrilled to have been of service. We have been known for our location in Stratford. We not only cater for romantic getaways but also a nice, relaxing break within a historic town. I look...

Holetown
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Nice, comfortable, surprisingly well outfitted, modern yet quaint hotel in a delightful old building shell overflowing with character and creature comforts. A short stroll out the front door presents the town of Stratford with all of its historical charm and just a stones throw from the train station. Location, Location, Location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P8609LLchristianm
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear P8609LLchristianm, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that we have impressed you during your stay with us. We are constantly improving our services to make sure that each stay is extra special. Our lovely location in Stratford has meant that guests are able to just explore the town easily. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Loved staying in this beautiful cosy hotel it had a lovely ambiance in the evening relaxing on the leather sofas.I would definatly go back but my only problem was room 123 where we were put was very noisy with the air con unit right below our window which was disappointing as I requested a quiet room,I mentioned it in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tortey
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tortey, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are committed to making sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and I can only apologise that your room was not quiet enough. However, I can say for certain that there are no air con units outside 123 as it is in a different part of the building,...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. With my family and 6 month baby this hotel treated us wonderfully. Breakfast included in the price and you can have that "in bed". The Shakespeare feel of the hotel was just great. They were more than accommodating to our needs, always ready to lend a hand. Parking isn't included but 24£ for 48...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noonan_74
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear noonan_74, Thank you for your review. Although we are known for a romantic stay, we do welcome families and we do like babies! We are so glad that we made your stay comfortable and we were able to assist with anything you needed. As with anything in Stratford, we are quite proud of our connection with our most famous...

Lymington
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Very good, tastefully furnished and comfortable hotel. Breakfast could be improved, although evening meals excellent. Hotel perfectly placed for visiting Shakespear attractions, all within walking distance. Unfortunately hotel doesn't have a car park so can be expensive to park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet S, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us. I have been updating our training and staff levels to make sure that we have a consistently high standard when it comes to breakfast—after all, it is the most important meal of the day. As you can read...

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Great location to explore historic Stratford. Rooms were excellent and hotel has loads of character with well executed refurbishment. The staff are friendly and helpful. Car parking is a bit tricky to locate but ample and very convenient. Will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardBell2013
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RichardBell2013, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am quite pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a wonderful location for exploring Stratford—one of the reasons guests keep coming back. The staff lives and breathes by our motto of Every Guest Leaves Happy so we are quite proud to have...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Had an amazing stay here, beautiful room,with fab bathroom, dinner and breakfast where delicious. Couldn't fault. In a great spot for visiting all tourists attractions, can't wait to go back. Staff very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenbow40
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kenbow40, Thank you for your review. We are so glad to have offered you a pleasant and comfortable stay. We are in a very good location, which guests and fans rave about as you can see. We do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Sol Yepes General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Excellent service in a tastefully refurbished hotel. Decent food and wine with spacious bedrooms. Nearby parking convenient in busy Stratford and outside dining and drinking facilities were enjoyable in the sun.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AndToby, Thank you for your review. While I am pleased that we have impressed you on many points, I am quite disappointed to read that there were some points left to improve. Our Maintenance man has been to see to your room as soon as you had informed us of the issues and I do hope that he has...

london
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at the White Swan and it is expensive. The decor is very dark but of course this is natural for a Tudor property. The room was big and well appointed with a large bathroom and dressing room. The view out of the window wasn't very nice which mostly included the road and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovingholidaysuk
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lovingholidaysuk, Thank you for your review. Our rates are quite competitive for the area. I can only surmise from your review that you had Hamlet room, one of our Character rooms, which is one of the best rooms in the hotel. As we are in a prime spot in Stratford, I can only offer my commiserations that we were...

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

What a gem of a hotel. Excellently positioned a short walk away from the centre of town, with an abundance of coffee shops and patisseries. Also a short walk through the town to the Waterfront and the RSC theatre. The waterfront offers boat trips and is a very pretty place to sit and enjoy the barges coming and going. Watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilary H, Thank you for your review. I am extremely pleased to read that your stay with us was very enjoyable and that staff have more than impressed. The reception ladies are in titters at your praise and Adrienne, Szilvia and Iwona would also like to convey their thanks to the special mentions; they are also pleased to read...

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Character Room ‘Hamlet’ (37)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Grand Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,590 reviews
2.6 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
781 reviews
0.2 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
839 reviews
0.5 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,006 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, British, Gastropub, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: ₹ 7,067 - ₹ 15,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Wakefield, United Kingdom
tass99onhols
5 months ago
over a year ago
Heanor, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are modern, but downstairs is Elizabethan.”
 of 5 bubbles steveeddy2015, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles BirminghamAmandaB, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet in any area unless the fair is in town!”
 of 5 bubbles gilly6827, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Large double a must.”
 of 5 bubbles steveaK5254XX, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Simply ask for a quiet room. 106 is brilliant.”
 of 5 bubbles KayHanson, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay