We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,735: English reviews
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Stayed at the welcome over easter as birthday treat husband ordered champagne flowers and chocolates, flowers and champagne great but £10 for two chocolates was excessive. Room toilet ran all the time and side of bath looked dirty and had failed for the star rating very poor. Plenty of staff not sure what they did as service rather slow and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
TBurford, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear Dave S, Many thanks for your review. I apologise for the short comings you received and I will be taking your comments up with the team. Best Regards, Thomas & Team

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel in great location. Food was definatley NOT 2rosetted. Wouldn't even give it one. It was just plain cooked meal with no effort. Risotto was tasteless as was the soup. Buttered side veg had no butter and as plain as day. Wife's meat dish was just plain and tasteless. Desert was a preformed meringue with cream. The customer should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Syd-Bashford
TBurford, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear Syd-Bashford, Thank you for your feedback. I'm disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your meal with us on this occasion. We receive many compliments about the food and are proud of our 2 rosettes. Best Regards, Thomas & Team

Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Stayed for two nights over Easter. Staff were very pleasant, main areas of hotel restaurant, bar are lovely. Room was ok, ground floor in main part of house, not quite as big as I had expected. Spa looked good but being Easter swimming pool was full of kids so I didn't bother as its not very large, I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flakeykate
TBurford, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear flakeykate, Thank you for your review. We do have strict times for children which are between 10am-12pm and 3pm-5pm. It does get slightly crowed over these times especially over Easter. I will pass on your feedback to the chef with regards to your evening meal but glad you found breakfast plentiful. We hope you visit us again soon. Best...

Petworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Smart tidy hotel within walking distance of Stratford.Lovely breakfast which was included in the deal which was for a one bedroom self catering apartment The apartment was well equipped and would be ideal for self catering, we just enjoyed the extra space it provides. Excellent spa, gardens and views. Ate in the restaurant one night for dinner, lived up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melgreet
TBurford, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear melgreet, Many thanks for your kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the apartment to be well equipped. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Thomas & Team

Reviewed 27 March 2016

A lovely hotel where the staff are so friendly and helpful. Can't do enough for you. The spa is amazing and the food in the restaurant is fantastic. Not a bad word to say. Definitely going back. Would recommend a taxi service if you are going into Stratford as the traffic is horrendous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyprus274
TBurford, Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, I'm delighted you found the staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the spa so much. Perhaps next time you stay you can take a stroll to Stratford through our Welcombe hills! Best Regards, Thomas & Team

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived for my surprise birthday treat. Warm welcome but taken to a disappointing room. Strange shaped room in the ground floor right by back/side door entrance. This was a problem in the late evening as the party being held in the function room used this door to go out of, smoke and chat loudly. It was also used the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steps_1
Graeme N, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear Steps_1, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read you did not like the room allocated and only wish you had let us know when on property as we could have offered a different room type for you. You will be pleased to know our outdoor...

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Warm and friendly staff, beautiful environment and superb facilities. The spa is modern, and very relaxing. The golf course in the grounds looks very well managed. There are tennis courts and a modern Gym. Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the gardens. In winter, afternoon tea beside the log fire in the lounge is a must.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 728west
Graeme N, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear 728west, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Welcombe Hotel. I was delighted to read your enjoyed all aspects of your visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again

Solihull, England
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Staying on a Friday as part of a Secret Escapes deal we thoroughly enjoyed our 24 hours there. Deciding to give the spa a miss we opted for a light lunch and a glass of wine. All very good although the food is a little expensive. Our room just off the main part of the house was clean and tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulSomewhere
Graeme N, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear PaulSomewhere, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you found our team to be helpful and appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness of your room. We are in the middle of reviewing our wine list and I am confident your will find something to...

Tadley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We have now stayed twice - once in summer, in sunshine, and again in winter, in snow, so have seen it from all perspectives. Beautiful views from our bedroom, which was in the main house, and had a four poster bed. It was wonderfully comfortable and cosy, and blissfully quiet, with the snow tumbling down outside. The staff are eager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
Graeme N, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear Farseer, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Welcombe Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the splendour of our four poster bedrooms and that you found our team eager to please. Your kind words about the food quality experienced at dinner are very much appreciated and will be passed onto...

Birmingham
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Returned from a spa weekend last weekend, it was lovely. The apartments you stay in for groups are fantastic. - £139 for spa, treatment, 3 course dinner with cocktail and breakfast. We have been every year for the past 4 years. Would highly recommend. The staff are good and especially Connor the Manager on the spa very good at his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaovers
Graeme N, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review

Dear lisaovers, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Welcombe Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for a 5th year. Your kind words about Connor are truly appreciated and will be passed on. Thank you once again

592 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (573)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (266)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
6.2 km away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,942 reviews
10.3 km away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,383 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,400 reviews
2.0 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,967 reviews
1.7 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country House Luxury Hotel with spa and golf resort set in fantastic grounds with Italian Gardens and views over the Welcombe Hills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: ₹ 8,169 - ₹ 21,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for a room with the courtyard view ”
 of 5 bubbles gracestewart777, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get what you book!”
 of 5 bubbles 953paulinej, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the garden - and in the dining room, a window table.”
 of 5 bubbles 797judyd, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 216 is great, huge !!!”
 of 5 bubbles royTrowbridge, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room in the older part of the hotel which overlooked the garden and was quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles ludlowbrood, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5