We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Townhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 476: English reviews
Start your review of The Townhouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Used to be a favourite restaurant for a romantic dinner for two or a place to while away a few hours in the bar. It's now like any other chain pub: bland, too brightly lit with quite frankly over priced, poorly presented food. They have stripped this place of character and individuality which is a real shame. Will not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstian F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a night to watch some friends who were performing at the RSC and I'm so glad we made the decision to stay here. The Townhouse is only a 5 minute walk from the theatre. This boutique hotel has recently been refurbished and I think we were the first people to stay in Room One since the renovation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chowee L
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is back - total refurbishment (need new photos on trip advisor). Really good, fresh look and staff extremely helpful and friendly. Very relaxed atmosphere . Already booked Dinner for Friday night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is difficult to offer enough commendation for this establishment!! Excellent staff, superbly appointed room, bar and dining area full of character and so tastefully re-furbished. Centrally located and they have an agreement with a nearby NCP for 24 hours parking for just £4.70. Food is excellent too and the pre-theatre menu great value. Live music on some nights also....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James B
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Lovely mix character and modern good wine list and a very good selection of gins which went down with our Gin drinking friends. The young pianist helped to creat a great atmosphere would recommend and we will use again next time we are in Stratford

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stocks56
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the review, we have now re opened and have expanded the gin range dont leave it too long to come and see us again Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

As frequent visitors to Stratford, we had wanted to stay at this hotel for some time as we always enjoy the lively bar with piano playing by local students pre-theatre/dinner, but their usual weekend policy is 2 nights. However, this January we were able to stay just one night which suited us better. We (two couples) arrived at 5.00 pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Hi All refurbishment work has now been carried out including the grumpy manager that you met hope to see you soon The Townhouse Team

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This one fine restaurant has descended into essentially an uninspiring hotel restaurant with a limited and poorly executed menu. Take the house burger and add an egg and a slice of bacon and it is suddenly transforms into a "special board" Item. I don't think so! First course took 35 minutes to arrive and was overcooked and the scallops over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishMike1964
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review

It's disappointing to read your comments Please take a look at the improvements to the menu that we have made and give us another try Many Thanks The Townhouse

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I recently had my hen do at the Church Street Townhouse, whereby we had use of the library room all day. As part of the day, we had afternoon tea here, which was delicious and they had generous portions too! Being a coeliac, it can be difficult finding suitable places to eat, but the staff were really helpful, and provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divatori
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments Don't leave it too long to come back and see us Many Thanks The Townhouse Management

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The whole hotel was lovely - the staff and the little extra touches made it great; fresh milk in the room and a small decanter of port in the room for guests was lovely as well as hair straighteners, an ironing board etc. We will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C M
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments Don't leave it too long to come back and see us Many Thanks The Townhouse Management

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I was in the townhouse while working in Stratford-upon-Avon and to be honest it just didn't feel warm for a single traveller. The bar atmosphere was at best prickly and the bar man was simply distant. I perused the menu with no input whatsoever from the staff and simply ordered a quick drink and left. The place just didn't do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j-curv
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review

W e have made a few changes here including the team!! come and see what we are doing now Thanks for the comments Many Thanks The Townhouse Management

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room with Bath (33)
Viewed
Middle Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,397 reviews
0.3 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,034 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,967 reviews
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
949 reviews
2.7 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This independently owned boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favourite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: ₹ 7,468 - ₹ 14,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Townhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
North Wales

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room One is set away from the bar and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Gullivers18, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 at the back is spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles A7267RRjamesb, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look on line for the best photos”
 of 5 bubbles GillB325, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Speak to the manager - he is happy to tell you about all the room so you can choose.”
 of 5 bubbles CM279, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 10 on the top floor if you want lots of space”
 of 5 bubbles SuzieNev, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5