We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grey Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed in March 2015 for only 1 night as a special occasion (anniversary) we thought it an ideal location as right in the centre of where we wanted to be. First impressions were fairly good, we were advised that we had been given an upgrade (as we booked 'run of the house') so we were excited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank misscherylyoung
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and can't apologise enough that you experienced problems with the shower. We are expecting our exciting new refurb to start soon so have taken all your points on board. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff,...

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Located on Newcastle's most beautiful street, the Grey Street Hotel is a hidden gem. Retaining lots of original features but with a contemporary feel, the hotel is in the heart of the city and within walking distance of shops, bars, theatre, quayside and the metro. The staff are warm, friendly and very professional and go out of their way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhanpower174
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Siobhan! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as a GSH 10th year anniversary winner! We hope you had a lovely night at the pop up food stalls and we hope to welcome you back soon. I will be sure...

Belfast
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Stayed here for a trip to visit family with my little one. Great location, rooms and hotel were quiet, we were at front of hotel and still did not hear noise. Good value for money. Comfy beds, nice shower facilities. Lots of shops, bars, restaurants and transport nearby. Friendly staff. Tv and dvd player not working but management were aware.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drunken_Munky
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for a great review following your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay including the toiletries and location. Thank you for your understanding regarding the TV not working. We really appreciate it. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I chose this hotel because I needed to be in the centre of Newcastle and I needed a dog friendly hotel. I could not have had a warmer welcome. A dog bed and bowls appeared quickly. The room was pleasant and breakfast was excellent. Reception is open all night and there is a lift. The parking is in a public...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth S
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your fab review. I am glad to hear you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you both back soon! Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

West Country
Reviewed 20 May 2015

A very good deal made us choose this city centre hotel for 3 nights and we weren't disappointed. Fantastic location for theatre, shops and restaurants etc. The staff on reception were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. A problem in the bathroom was fixed almost immediately. We did not eat in the hotel as there were so many good places for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJay1
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for a lovely review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your 3 night's stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will be sure to pass them on. We hope to welcome you back to Grey Street Hotel very soon. Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

The delux double is not quite so delux. Missing from the advertised information and pics is that you have to go up 8 stairs to get to the room and then enter to a level with only the ensuite. You then have 13 stairs to descend to the bedroom, yes with a king bed but with a window to nowhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank auriel b
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for writing a review for us following your stay. I am sorry to hear that your room was not as expected. With having such a beautiful quirky building all of our room layouts are different from one another. However if a guest does have a problem with stairs we do have other rooms that we can...

Greater Manchester, UK
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Don't get me wrong. The hotel itself was lovely. Stylish and chic and in a great part of the city. Or as I liked to call it, the hipster part of town. And the staff were nice enough, but it sometimes felt that they were doing us a favour by allowing us to stay at this hotel. In short, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geckofabulous
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback. I am glad you found our central location ideal and stylish. I am sorry to hear that there was problem with the shower pressure and temperature. We do not have record of this being reported to reception, would you be able to...

fife
Reviewed 15 May 2015

just back from staying there for three nights. Reception staff are very welcoming and friendly. We were on the third floor and the allocated room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was fine, as was the temperature of the shower. The only downside was the side panel of the bath which had water damage from the shower and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mistyFife
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovley review. We really appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay and thank you for your kind words about the staff, I will be sure to pass them on. We hope to welcome you back very soon, Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Such a fantastic location, with shops and attractions very close by. WiFI was readily available and easy to connect. Bathroom had a large bath and overhead shower. Staff were very friendly and everything had a modern look to it. There is a bar and restaurant however i didn't end up having an opportunity to use them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seriouslyash
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for writing a lovely review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our central location and modern hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff. We hope to welcome you back to Grey Street Hotel in the very near future! Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during a business trip. I was not due in until 3pm and I arrived at 12 and the staff were kind enough to recommend nice restaurants to have lunch and even checked me in an hour early. Steve a member of the reception team brought me a full pot of ground coffee on the house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianorc
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your early check in and the tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Steve, he will be delighted. I am so sorry that you experienced some problems with your room. We...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
378 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,094 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,765 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,135 reviews
0.8 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: ₹ 4,699 - ₹ 8,904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to the theatre and city center .”
tynelady, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take breakfast elsewhere”
  • Toiletries
  • Stairs down into bedroom
  • Comfortable seats to sit on
  • Complimentary Prosecco, a nice touch
  • Bathroom
  • Another view of the bedroom
  • The TV and complimentary Prosecco
  • The bed
Brucestewart, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very good value for money”
456lynneg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front Superior Twin”
Boogdog, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If mobility a problem let the hotel know as some suites only have a couple of stairs unlike the one we had.”
sandrabQ899HJ, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5