We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grey Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel very well positioned to explore the wide choice of food & drink establishments. Décor in the room was very clean and modern with all the essentials to make your stay enjoyable. Room was very comfortable,neat and tidy with the added advantage of being quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank C384YZdenism
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I booked a couple of nights in this hotel around a conference (booked through Expedia). It's reasonably priced and despite the fairly central location was actually quite quiet. The room was reasonably sized and well appointed, and as per my title, the bathroom was amazing! It appeared to have been newly tiled throughout, modern looking, great shower and some lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to read of your compliments regarding our quality of price, location and bathrooms. Please come back soon. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth More 

London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I stayed here with a group of friends for my birthday and we all loved it! The staff were so helpful and very friendly. Extra credit goes to the reception staff. Rooms were great - some were huge! Overall the hotel was very clean, rooms were comfortable, the location is fantastic and the price very fair.

Helpful?
Thank Ruby06London
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am happy to read you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Our Reception staff are delighted about your comments regarding their service. Please come back soon. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth More 

West Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed in room 11. This room has ben converted from 2 rooms on separate floors. You enter the room and the bathroom is on the same level, then you go down a flight of stairs to the bed. Although a bit strange at first, the advantage is you get a more spacious room. Just a nuisance having to go upstairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveBMW29
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room in which you stayed in is one of our junior suites which are large rooms with the bathroom on a separate level. The design of the room is intentional to offer more space and I can confirm the room was not two rooms then made into one. Thank you for your compliments of... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The location is central and a short walk to the quayside, bus station and shopping centres as well as the main restaurants and pubs. We had a room overlooking the Main Street and it was very quiet. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed but the hotel was quite shabby and in need of a bit of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank LPW24
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us a review following your stay. We are very lucky to have such a great location in the heart of the city centre. We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment plan at the moment so your comments regarding the rooms will be addressed. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed here on business. This is my 4th stay. The hotel is an easy walk slightly uphill from the railway station. My room was a double, single occupancy, at £58, plus £10 for breakfast in the adjacent restaurant (accessed internally). The hotel has described itself as "boutique" in the past. Comfortable bed and nice linens and towels, lovely toiletries, my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mossdeeping20
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your positive and detailed review. I am very happy to hear you would recommend us here at Grey Street Hotel and you return to us often. Our hotel is undergoing major refurbishment at the moment therefore your comments regarding the room will be addressed. We have exciting times ahead. Stick with us and see the difference.... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel mid-week as a couple, stayed on the 2nd floor facing towards Grey Street. The stairs by the room were ridiculously creeky- as were the people outside until 2am, which wouldn't be a problem if there was sufficient noise blocking in place. The room itself was almost an illusion online - very clever photography. Very small, basic amenities,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick T
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you were disturbed by noise when staying with us. I would hope if you were to stay again and were unhappy with factors of the room, you would advise us and we can do something to put these right for you. We are undergoing refurbishment to all bedrooms and public... More 

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights as part of a revisit to our home town. At only £120 for the two nights it was amazing value for a city centre hotel. Perfect location between the sites the quayside and the shopping area. The room wasn't very big but adequate for us. Very comfortable bed too. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please do come back soon. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely awful hotel. Whole place smelled damp including bedrooms. Staircase is shabby and not what you'd expect in a hotel. Lift only fits two people in at a time so had to take the stairs a lot. Room was clean - ish! But in desperate need of redecorating as had torn carpets, grubby marks on walls etc. Bathroom was ok.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna R
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am deeply sad to hear such a negative review following your stay with us. Our rooms are currently going through a refurbishment plan therefore your comments regarding redecoration will soon be rectified. Unfortunately due to our city centre location, there can be some noise from outside however our windows are triple glazed and we... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed overnight with another couple. Ideal location, easy to get there, car parking at the nearby Dean Street. Hotel was spotlessly clean, room spacious, bed was comfy and big, staff friendly. A tad noisy but it is a central location. Ideal for overnight stay. Recommended as a base

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We do hope you come back and visit us again. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth More 

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
294 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,967 reviews
0.8 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
926 reviews
0.2 km away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,766 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: ₹ 4,736 - ₹ 8,352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a first floor room on the Mosley Street side.”
 of 5 bubbles St_Ogpan, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 faces on to the street”
 of 5 bubbles trevorc254, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“maybe a high floor, as we had noise from above”
 of 5 bubbles travellerdebsh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 had everything you could wish for.”
 of 5 bubbles JCQ19, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is on a corner so if you sleep with the window open you're going to get a bit of street and late night reveller noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveBMW29, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay