We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 453: English reviews
Start your review of Grey Street Hotel
 Click to rate
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was at college locally but needed a stay over at Newcastle for a night so booked this hotel. The room was great, the location very central but the big problem was breakfast, which I had paid for. I just couldn't find or get a way into the breakfast area with the instructions given by staff leading to a door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toonbhoy16
Glasgow
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We picked this hotel at random and it was great. Being refurbished but that never impinged on our stay. We were allocated a very nice room which had already been refurbished. Staff were pleasant & the hotel was really central for our first trip to Newcastle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joggy58
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Grey Street Hotel last weekend - Friday-Sunday. We were on level 4 (room 38) in a refurbished room, on the main road side. There was a lift which was a bonus. It was obvious that a lot of work is being carried out - hopefully the staircase will be on the list. Staff were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear you will be back to see us again in the future. Do come back and see our new function rooms, bar and Urban Beauty Retreat! Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night with partner. Room spacious & clean. The room had the noisiest bathroom fan or central heating in a hotel that I have ever experienced. Left feeling absolutely exhausted as there was no way of turning it off. I'd avoid coming back due to this. Left disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAH333
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Grey Street Hotel. I am sorry to hear you have left us feeling disappointed. Please could I ask you to email myself at assistantmanager@greystreethotel.com with further details and I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate your comments further. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect Hideaway. For the past three years I have stayed at Grey Street Hotel, great place lovely staff and so Central for walking everywhere. The restaurant is good as is room service. Whole place is slowly being refurbished but keeping all the original touches.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boogdog
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am thrilled to hear you have stayed with us for 2 years and will continue to do so. Kind regards, Lainey Westgarth

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst visiting the area. Although the hotel is undergoing major refurbishment, to be finished in April we were told, this did not detract from our stay as we were in one of the newly completed rooms in the 4th floor. The room was very comfortable and had all the amenities one would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hjpwbm
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review. I am thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again. Come and see us when our refurbishment is complete which includes function rooms and a spa! Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Hull
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over with hubby for an event the room was perfect everything we could ask for Inc champagne and petals for valentines❤ Was seeing a drag queen that day and was even more pleased when I found her checking in and in next room 😁. Really pleased with service highly reccommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozzetteHull
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, we cannot do much better than 'Perfect'. Thank you very much for your review. Come back soon. Kind regards, Lainey Westgarth

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Myself and a friend stayed here in a twin room while in Newcastle for a weekend break. We were mainly visiting for the nightlife so this hotel was perfectly situated within walking distance of all the main bars and clubs. Although it's currently undergoing some renovations we had no noise disturbances whatsoever as a result. The room was spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Osulle46
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you found your stay 'faultless' and please do come back soon! Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert and was a bit disappointed with our deluxe room on the first floor (6). The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment so there are workmen on site and we heard banging late afternoon after checking in. The hotel is centrally located so is perfect to see the sights of Newcastle, though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hutchinson2
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience whilst staying with us. We are currently going through a refurbishment therefore there is workman present through out the day however we try our best to keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum. I would hope if you were not happy with...

Benidorm, Spain
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We booked this hotel as a deal was available for a suite with prosecco. The room was very clean. plenty of space in the bathroom which was just as you come in the door. Only issue if any one has mobility problems the sleeping area is down approximately 15 stairs. This is due to the hotel being in an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the spacious and clean standards or our room. The room in which you were allocated is one of our Junior Suites which we complementary upgraded you to. If you have issues with stairs you just need to let us know and we can accommodate you accordingly. Please come back soon....

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
365 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,061 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
448 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
0.8 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: ₹ 4,500 - ₹ 9,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 456lynneg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front Superior Twin”
 of 5 bubbles Boogdog, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If mobility a problem let the hotel know as some suites only have a couple of stairs unlike the one we had.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrabQ899HJ, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are steps in some rooms so you need to be careful my sister got up for the loo through the night and fell and hurtled her ear”
 of 5 bubbles 683shirleyb, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Facing the back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Mosymoo, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5