We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Visit hotel website
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern hotel located just off the A1 in Newcastle Upon Tyne, a short distance from Gateshead. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower and 32-inch flatscreen TV. The hotel has a bar and serves an evening snack menu with some pizzas available 24/7. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the intu Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
913Reviews
140Photos
23Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 365
  • 345
  • 133
  • 39
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for two nights this week on business, just your typical holiday inn express, clean and comfortable. The staff however were not the usual, all were very friendly and very helpful. No complaints at all. If back in the area, will stay again
Read more
Response from HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Responded yesterday
Dear colinsmith33 Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro and many thanks for your wonderful comments. We at the Hotel are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the friendliness of our wonderful team. We are very happy to see that you will return when next in the area, we look forward to this. Kind Regards Sharon Horrocks Guest Service Manager
Read more
We went as a family of three to visit Newcastle for the weekend. Decide to stay here as I thought a city centre location might be a bit 'lively' for an eight year old. We were driving from Scotland and arrived at about 1.00pm. We parked and popped in to check just in case our
Read more
Response from HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Dear ElsieRose, Thank you for taking your time to leave a Great review, we are glad you had a lovely weekend staying with us, The staff here at the hotel like to make sure you have the best stay possible, I'm sorry you had a bit of a disruption on check in, check in is 3pm although we do try our best to get you in if you arrive any earlier. Its nice to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and that your second night was just as good, We do hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Me and the wife decided to go to the metro centre in gateshead.i found this hotel and stayed one night.great room.comfy bed.good shower.spotless and good freindly staff.good breakfast. 10 out of 10.i would definitely stay here again,the next time we visit the metro.
Read more
Response from HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear titusaducks Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro. The team at the Hotel are over the moon that you had such a great comfortable stay and could not fault us they always go out of their way to make sure every guest has a great stay and they are always helpful and friendly. It is also great to see you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. We look forward to you next visit to the Hotel and hope its in the near future. Kind Regards Sharon Horrocks Guest Service Manager
Read more
My family and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights between Christmas and a New Year, 2018. On arrival we were greeted with a nice welcome and check-in was swift. Our family room was a typical size with one double king size bed and a double sofa bed for our boys, aged 15 and 10
Read more
Response from HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear The wanderer46 Thank you for you review regarding your stay over the Christmas period. I am happy to see you were greeted with a nice welcome and the team at the Hotel went the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one and you had one of our lovely rooms facing the river. The hotel is popular with guest who want to visit the Metro Centre and City centre because of the proximity and the great transport links from outside the Hotel. We hope to see you at the Hotel again in the near future. Kind regards Sharon Horrocks Guest Service manager
Read more
My wife and a I have used a number of Holiday Inns in recent times and this one was the poorest. It was cheap to book and to be fair it was probably value for money. The room, bathroom, and toilet were clean and met our needs for an overnight stay. A major disappointment for
Read more
Response from HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Petermet Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at the Hotel. I am saddened that you found the Hotel to be the poorest Holiday Inn Expresses you have visited as we are rated quite highly on the cleanliness of the hotel and how helpful and polite the team at the Hotel are. The bar stocks a verity of drinks although we don't have beer and ales on draft we do have bottled ales. However I am pleased to see that you have not been put off staying with us again. Kind Regards Sharon Horrocks Guest Service Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Drone comes from below these
5th floor view
PreviousNext
12345610
"Check early and ask if there are any offers on."
"The rooms overlooking the car park are quieter."
"Sorry no... too selfish for peace n quiet.. ;)"
"Choose a room not looking towards main road"
"Rooms away from 202 because there’s a terrible droneing noise from outside below the window"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 49 - US$ 162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express newcastle metro centre hotel newcastle upon tyneholiday inn newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
134
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing