We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Excellent stay with excellent food, everything perfect, short walk from city centre, plus lots of places to visit just outside of the city, the best indian food I have ever had, would highly recommend this place you will not be disappointed, also a lovely english breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. Glad to hear that you found everything perfect with your stay, and you managed to sample the delights of Luigikhan's restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel based on price and proximity to the city centre in order to attend an event so we weren't looking for much, but we got the perfect place. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly, the room clean and neat with a good sized bathroom. The bed, despite initially feeling bit too firm, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen B, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests regarding their recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you had a good sleep. You shall have to return to enjoy the mouthwatering selection of Luigikhan's. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on...

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Looks could be better from the outside, reception area tiny but the rooms are great. Didn't fancy the breakfast area much and felt it was overpriced but cant really comment as I didn't use it. Rooms are comfy, TV could be bigger but tea/coffee making facilities are ideal. room size is great, wardrobe acceptable but could do with some extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grahame B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grahame B, Firstly thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We recently changed the layout at reception, adding the glass walls to enclose the breakfast area, making reception a little smaller, but adequate for purpose. I'm glad to hear you found your room to be comfy, in the near future we shall be replacing the televisions for...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

This place is a bit of a gem. Rooms are as good as some of the main stream luxury brands. The service from the staff is superb. We had a clothing crisis needing needle and thread. Within 5 mins the lad on reception had found some!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob P, Thank you for your feedback, its always nice to hear from guests regarding their recent stay. Glad to hear you found the hotel to be a "Hidden Gem" We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel and again it ticks all the boxes. Plenty of parking, easy check in, friendly/attentive reception. Lift to rooms, comfortable, clean room and large comfy bed, room over looking car park ...... Some traffic noise during night (Friday night!). Reception happy to book a taxi for you. We ate in Luigi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burn-Rubber-1969
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Burn-Rubber-1969, Many thanks for taking time to leave some feedback. Glad to hear we tick all the boxes. Its nice to hear you had a chance to sample the delights of Luigikhan's restaurant during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Best Western Ryokan hotel. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager

Rutland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The Hotel was much better than expected I have stayed at a lot of Best Western Hotels with Tesco points and have often found the rooms allocated disappointing and tired! NOT the case at The Ryokan the rooms were spotless very clean well decorated and a lovely shower and bath . The breakfast was very nice a choice of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne B, Firstly thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests regarding their experience while staying with us. It is nice to hear that you found the hotel rooms to be spotless and well decorated, and that you enjoyed the breakfast selection. I'm glad to hear you had the chance to...

Formby
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in September for two nights,very nice clean rooms with TV on the wall. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre so very handy to travel between centre and hotel. Hotel has free parking which is always a bonus for any hotel. The only down side was the fact that we sat down for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grazie100
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grazie100, Firstly thank you for leaving some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests and their experience while staying here with us. I am disappointed to hear about breakfast and the member of staff threatening the police? Please feel free to contact me at the hotel regarding this on 01912724930. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

This is my favourite hotel where I regularly stay after years of trying many of Newcastle's hotels. This hotel has everything you need and expect, plus more. I have found comfort and safety at this hotel and wouldn't change it, eventhough others are in more affluent areas. This to me has been both an accommodation for business and a family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pa Y
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pa Y, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests are their experience while staying with us. It is nice to hear that we are your favourite hotel, and you find comfort and safety at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Best Western ryokan hotel...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is not in the best location area wise, but taxis are quite reasonable from the centre.. On arrival, the main entrance just looked like a front door, and initially I wasn't sure if it actually was the entrance... So I opened the door to find reception.... The lady behind the counter was pleasant enough, but not overly welcoming......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bay-Pixie
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bay-Pixie, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. The West End of the City is going through a major regeneration program, handy for the City and taxi's are reasonable. The main door has a sign above saying entrance, that you possibly didn't notice. I'm glad to hear that you had time to sample Luigikhan's food offerings. Sorry...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Well we stayed yet again at the Ryokan hotel using our Best Western rewards points up an having another night out in Newcastle. We stayed this time on the 4th. of June and stayed in room number 104. Still the Ryokan hotel leave you a scribble pad but yet again no pen to write with was left. Again no breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN H
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan H, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. I have passed on your comments to housekeeping regarding the missing pen, we could have given you a pen if needed from Reception. The Best Western Reward points offer no longer included Breakfast, this can be purchased separately during your stay. You can also convert points to gift...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.0 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
378 reviews
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
219 reviews
1.7 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
230 reviews
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,788 reviews
1.3 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Ryokan Hotel is just a stone's throw from St James Park. Within a short 10 minute walk to the City Centre, to the many shops, theatres, bars and sport venues. 4 Miles from the Metro centre. The hotel is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1840, opened in 2010 and has a modern design inside, offering underfloor heating, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel FREE to all hotel guests. We pride ourselves in offering a warm and friendly Newcastle welcome to all guests, and with being a small hotel that most personal of service. While staying at the hotel you might want to try our restaurant LuigiKhan's which offers a mouth watering selection of Punjabi cuisine which is Halal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Address: 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: ₹ 5,112 - ₹ 8,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think they are all of the same standard”
 of 5 bubbles annebS9589OS, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was lucky to have a room overlooking the car park rather than the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles kintheuk, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor”
 of 5 bubbles 278rachaelp, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Have breakfast elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles PHEL56, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not very wheelchair friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles CrazeeChik67, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay