We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 511: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We are at their Emlyn restaurant for Sunday lunch. Usually I never think 'Restaurant Roasts' are quite as good as your own but I was pleasantly surprised. As we were looking at the menus we were given some home made bread with 3 different butters - different and very tasty. We all chose the roast beef for our main course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tor223
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tor223 (and family) Thank you very much for your kind review of your Sunday Lunch at Emlyn. I'm really pleased that you were pleasantly surprised and thank you for sharing you thoughts with us. I'll certainly ensure that the team see your lovely comments, and I do hope that we can welcome you all back to Emlyn, and Mercure...

London
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This was our third visit but first for lunch. It was really excellent. Beautifully presented and beef melt in mouth with wonderful small cottage pie on plate. Vegetable presentation also excellent. Couldn't manage dessert but looked great. Excellent service. This restaurant a new favourite and lucky it's just down the road. A comment about set menu in evening. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnLock
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnnLock Thank you so much for your kind review. It's always lovely to hear from a regular visitor to Emlyn and for three different experiences - Christmas Party, Dinner and Sunday Lunch. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food and service so much and am really grateful that you're going to return to the Restaurant in the future. I'll...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We are planning an event in April so visited the Burford Bridge today for lunch in order to check it out as a possible venue, and we are so pleased we did. The ground floor was refurbished a couple of years ago and has been very tastefully fitted out. However, far more important than the decor was the warm welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank someonesqueen
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear someonesqueen Thank you very much for the lovely review of your recent experience at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel at Box Hill in Dorking. I am very pleased to hear that you highly recommend us and that you will be back very soon. Our kitchen team and the acclaimed Head Chef Nick Sinclair are known for their high quality...

Leicestershire
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst working locally. Really easy to find, just off a roundabout at the bottom of Box hill off the A24. Warm friendly welcome at check in. Beautiful country style house furnished to a modern, contemporary high standard throughout. Room was great, well equipped and comfortable. Wi-fi was excellent throughout the hotel. Bar area was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Atters68
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Atters68 Thank you very much for your considered review of the hotel. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments about the feel and ambience of the hotel. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed the food in the bar and breakfast... We hope to welcome you back to the...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We checked out of the Hartsfield Manor Hotel nearby as the rooms were awful - it is a place to avoid. We therefore checked into the Burford Bridge. The rooms are a good size and modern and the communal areas of the hotel are very welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and the staff all very welcoming - recommended all round.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ozb123
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ozb123 Thank you very much for the kind review of your recent stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel. We are very pleased that you choose us over another hotel and that we are recommended all round. We would like to thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you soon again when in the area....

Lechlade
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Easy to find on the A24. good location at base of Box Hill. Warm and friendly welcome. Stayed in a pleasant room in the main building with view of garden. Great lunch with friends and a splendid breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JASMOSE
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jasmose Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the welcome, and very happy that you had a great time with your friends. We look forward to welcomming you back in the near future. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Friendly staff who were very helpful. Really nice room, good facilitates. Evening meal and lunch was excellent - good selection of food although some of the choices were quite expensive. Good selection at the bar and nice seating area to relax. Free wifi and was pretty fast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy M Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed the room, facilities and especially Emlyn Restaurant. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Nice old house, charm of old England, almost at the country side, yet not far from train station (London Victoria at about 1 hour). Very good high speed Wifi (measured 20Mbs for the free wifi from my room. Now, it's an old building, cracking floors, you can hear whatever next room occupants say or watch on TV. Avoid rooms that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matoux00
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear matoux00 Thank you for your recent stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you liked the hotel for its charm and character. I am sorry to find that you did not have a good experience with our Room Service food. We generally have great feedback regarding the quality...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We want to thank Burford Bridge including all the staff for an amazing wedding, we had the best day of our lives! Special thanks to Michelle who after losing our previous wedding planner made the last few months of our wedding and the day as smooth as can be. From the lead up, to the day before, and on the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Faye W
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Ansell Thank you very much for the fabulous review you have given us here. It has been a great pleasure for us to host your special day and we are glad to have been part of making it one of the best days of your lives. I have passed on your feedback to Michelle and Leslie...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We booked by phone after a sudden bereavement and agreed a room for 3 adultsover the phone she explained it was a sofa bed they would make up - the receptionist when we arrived was not very welcoming she insisted the booking was for 2 and said the sofa bed had not been made up and they had no staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AJE27
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and I'm really sorry to read that you had trouble on check in. Please rest assured that I have investigated this matter with the team member involved to avoid reoccurance and I apologise for any confusion. We generally receive very positive feedback regarding our Reception Team so I'm sorry that you this didn't match your...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
6.8 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
36 reviews
2.4 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.5 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#5 of 8 in Dorking
175 reviews
7.6 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
501 reviews
7.5 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: ₹ 6,780 - ₹ 12,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
20 days ago
london
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the garden are lovely, but as the weather was bad, we changed to a room in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles CHP1536, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 102 !!!!”
 of 5 bubbles mariathatsveryfussy, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As far away from the Barn (late night music) as possible and at the rear for no traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Alison49, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on garden side (very loud on the road side according to an unlucky colleague)”
 of 5 bubbles Winchris, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back should have less noise...we think?”
 of 5 bubbles Akwandrews, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5