We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 150*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 150*
US$ 149*
US$ 150*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We went there for our grad ball. And each paid a extortionate amount to do so. We pre ordered our food months ago and were all excited. We arrived to frankly invasive checks and pat downs. I was made to empty both my bags all over the dirty grass and even when no booze was found treated like a naughty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank willc3431
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear willc3431 I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your ball here. I am surprised about your comments as I was at the entrance as you were all arriving from the coach and don't remember seeing anyone having to empty their handbags on the ground, and this certainly wouldn't have been acceptable to me. Also, we have absolutely...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I was taken here for a postponed Mothers Day treat and the food was excellent. Very reasonably priced - when compared to London venues and food equally as good. In fact the 'size' of portion was perfect. Only comment i would make is the cake selection was too much 'patisserie' and a more 'english' style alternative would have balanced the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 727Cat
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 727Cat Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Afternoon Tea. We do vary our offering from time-to-time so your feedback is most welcome in order for us to improve. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We were very pleased on arrival: a lovely location; loved the refurbished 'superior' garden room overlooking the garden and the heated outdoor pool; restaurant and lounge areas very comfortably furnished. However, my son's 'classic' room was basic and a bit shabby. The aircon didn't work. The roadside location was noisy. The bed was on wheels and not fixed to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliviaJane108
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OliviaJane108 Thank you for your considered review. I'm really sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I do hope that you spoke to one of the Duty Managers at the time regarding your son's bedroom and the other issues that you faced. I would hope that we would have fixed the air conditioning or moved your son to...

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We had a large table at the restaurant to celebrate a family member's significant birthday. Service was excellent, food unsurpassed (flavour packed in to every morsel). Cannot recommend it more highly. (and a superb cellar too). Came away feeling thoroughly spoilt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Net6413
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Net6413 Thank you so much for your review of Emlyn Restaurant. I'm absolutely delighted that your party enjoyed their time here and I shall make sure that the team see your comments too. Thank you very much again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

An amazing venue lovely heated pool food spectacular very comfortably bed very clean room hot shower All complemented by a very professional team Thank you all very much A very rewarding experience overseen by the general manager nick bees

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemonblonde
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lemonblonde Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay here! The pool is superb at this time of the year and I'm really glad that you had chance to enjoy it. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

1st stay at this hotel - reception staff very friendly and made us feel very welcome- hotel is part country house part modern- rooms very clean with all amenities you would expect - lovely garden to sit and reflect on the day -weather permitting of course - there is an open air swimming pool where a no. of guests were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjames2016
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rjames2016 Thank you so much for your delightful and considered review of your experience. I'm really pleased to see that we met your expectations and that you will return again in the future! I shall certainly ensure that Taylor has read your comments -he's certainly an asset to the team! I'm sorry to see that your partner's ribeye steak...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This hotel has many features to attract visitors to it. Its location is excellent for access to the beautiful scenic area of Box Hill and the surrounding countryside. There is a large car park directly opposite the hotel entrance and it is conveniently near the A24. The hotel itself has a large and comfortable lounge. It also has an equally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tryphaena
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tryphaena I was very sorry to read of your poor experience of Afternoon Tea at the hotel. As our reviews will testify, this is an area that we generally receive very positive feedback for. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel, or ask for me the next time you visit, where we can discuss your experience...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I stayed here in May 2016 for a friends' wedding. The hotel is a really stunning venue and the staff were so helpful. Our room was very comfortable and clean, lovely modern bathroom. The hotel seemed to be really well maintained and the outdoor pool area is such a bonus. Luckily it was a very hot door so is was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R F
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R F Thank you so much for your considered review and I'm delighted that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay so much. We shall look at the manning on the dates that you stayed and investigate this. If we were full then we should have had more than enough team members working. We do tend to have a...

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Growing up in Dorking, I learnt to swim in the Burford Bridge Hotel pool but never expected I would one day stay there... The opporunity arose when our son moved nearby and we stayed 2 nights... It was a good-sized room with all one needed, a comfortable bed, and, despite its proximity to the A24 and M25, much quieter than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LM2509
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LM2509 Thank you for your considered review. I have responded to you directly on another review site, however just to reiterate, we are not allowed planning for lifts as this is a listed building unfortunately, however it keeps us fit carrying your bags! With regards the radio stations, it is something that we're currently looking at and hope to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We were forced to stay at Burford bridge hotel as our original hotel for conference had double booked for one night. What a surprise, a lovely hotel recently refurbished rooms at a beautiful location at the foot of Box hill in Surrey. We really enjoyed our stay, room beautiful and new and breakfast was amazing! a bracing walk up Box...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanstravelman
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear seanstravelman Their loss was our gain!! I'm really pleased that you were booked out to the hotel and enjoyed your stay. Our location is certainly a bonus for us and I'm really pleased that you had time to walk up the beautiful Box Hill!! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
7.1 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
63 reviews
2.6 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.5 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
514 reviews
7.5 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
636 reviews
7.4 km away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: ₹ 7,420 - ₹ 13,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
1 month ago
london
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms you are directed to the outside path to get to but you can go up the stairs and round instead.”
charlotterL6624LE, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rear of the hotel, away from the road.”
  • View of the main body of the hotel from the room
  • Lovely & bright & gleaming clean
  • Welcoming balloons and wine
770andyh, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We thought the rooms in the main hotel building were great”
BARRY28544, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the garden are lovely, but as the weather was bad, we changed to a room in the main hotel”
CHP1536, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 102 !!!!”
mariathatsveryfussy, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 150* /night
View Deal
MercureUS$ 149
Hotels.comUS$ 150
TripAdvisorUS$ 150
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates