We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Iken Barns

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Iken Barns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Iken Barns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014

An excellent situation on the banks of the River Alde estuary within easy reach of the local places of interest my wife and I had always wanted to visit - Orford (Ness), Snape Maltings, Aldeburgh, Southwold and many others. We stayed in the Old Mill House which is one of the smaller dwellings but very comfortable and well furnished. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ray C
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Good quality accommodation with good facilities within the cottage (greenacres). We had a great time and enjoyed the scenery and atmosphere . Our main reason for picking the accommodation was that we could take our horses with us and we were not disappointed in the slightest. Our horses are competition horses and needed the break as much as we did....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgina L
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A lovely working livery, if you like horses you'll love Iken Barns. All types of accommodation from 6 persons down to 2 and all in between. Our accommodation was Greenacres a spacious 1 bedroomed apartment, excellent sized rooms, well equipped and very comfortable. Perhaps only slight issue with fact on-suite only had a curtain rather than a door - feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianDerbyshire
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for a week in Estuary Barn. Well appointed, great view, excellent value, friendly hosts. Water from their own well; excellent but low or even no pressure at times due to demand from the livery stable. (Top tip: don't flush the loo while someone's having a shower - ouch!) I am informed that a new, better pump is on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank photochromatman
norfolk uk
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived and found front door unlocked !, although property was clean and tidy, there seem to be an awful amount of flies in all rooms during and obviously it's a constant problem as the property is supplied with a electric fly killer. The property is on the same site of a horse livery stable so this is why there are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fillipNorfolkUk
IkenBarns, Manager at Iken Barns, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry you did not feel completely satisfied with your stay at Iken, Flies can sometimes be an issue in the countryside and we do try to control them as best as we can. We hope it has not put you off returning to our beautiful spot and would suggest a barn with a river view on your...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On arrival at Iken Barns we had a very friendly and warm welcome from Emma and her Dad Richard. Bay View Barn was above our expectation, just like home from home, well equipped and very clean, fantastic views across the estuary and Snap Maltings. Also very Dog friendly. We had a fantastic week with our dog Oscar (Westie) he enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike w
Chelmsford
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Long Reach Barn over the bank holiday weekend. This holiday cottage is perfectly located with stunning views of the estuary. We loved seeing the seals and walking along the estuary to Snape Maltings and the church at Iken. We were made to feel very welcome, as were out two dogs. The accommodation was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very comfortable, well equipped holiday properties in a superb location. The barns overlook the estuary in a very quiet location. There's a very pleasant walk along the estuary path to Snape Maltings. It's a good location for cycling too - lot's of options such as Orford or Framlingham castle, Dunwich, Thorpeness and Aldeburgh to name but a few. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve P
UK
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Iken barns sits on the beautiful Alde estuary, in a great location for exploring the lovely Suffolk coast. Our little dog was welcome and we had great walks along the river accessed from steps or a sloping path from the garden of the property. Each part of accommodation has its own yard, while this is not entirely fenced, it does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northernvalentine
Norfolk
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in Gardeners Den for 5 days and we found the location stunning The views from the accommodation are breath taking and the silence deafening well apart from the cries of the sea birds We took our dog who made friends with the resident dogs and we fed apples and carrots to Don the resident horse who walks around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NorfolkNat333

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
5.8 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
953 reviews
12.2 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.2 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
623 reviews
14.8 km away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
309 reviews
17.1 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iken Barns is a family run business (Richard and his daughter Emma). We have eight luxury self-catering converted barn in the heart of the Suffolk Heritage Coastline near Snape Maltings. Our three larger properties (Long Reach, Bay View and Estuary) all enjoy stunning estuary views. All our properties have been designed to make you feel at home. During your stay we are able to offer Riding, cycling, kayaking and tours of the river on Dinah the stunning barge which sits in the Iken Bay. Iken Barns has a beautiful function room on site and is popular for groups of family and friends wishing to get together for celebrations and reunions. All properties enjoy underfloor heating and some have wood fires - others have a gas effect wood burner. Both Bay View and Long Reach have AGA cookers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Iken Barns

Address: Iken, Woodbridge IP12 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Iken Barns Woodbridge, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Iken Barns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a property that over look the estuary and not the yard”
 of 5 bubbles fillipNorfolkUk, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“No tips all rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles U3615LZmikew, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Any of the barns are very good value.”
 of 5 bubbles GailM244, 9 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Go for the bigger rooms for space and views - but dont ignore the smaller rooms. Still excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles bobmsmart, 30 Sep 2012 | Read review
“We stayed in the Estuary Barn and loved it. You do need to climb steps however to stay in this second floor unit.”
  • Looking into the kitchen area
 of 5 bubbles Zabelle, 21 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5