We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Crown at Woodbridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Crown at Woodbridge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 285: English reviews
Bury St Edmunds, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sometimes you go to a hotel and it doesn't quite work. The main door is hard to open when you are holding a suitcase, the reception seems a bit offhand, the bar is a kind of long shiny corridor, the room is a bit chilly, the operation of the underfloor heating in the bathroom is perplexing, the Wi-Fi is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimbo2006
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your balanced comments, thank you. We're currently undergoing some changes, so we're really sorry to hear that everything wasn't quite right for you. But we hope that you'll come back to see us again soon, to find an augmented experience. If I can assist you... More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This Boutique hotel in central Woodbridge is an excellent place to stay. There is a good sized carpark, The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the service from the wonderfully efficient staff team is exceptional. The Hotel is very clean and tidy and provides a very good breakfast. Other useful aspects of this Hotel are the coffee bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hugh G
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback is important to us, so thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our Head Chef has only very recently joined us and he is currently reviewing all of our menu options. We can most certainly accommodate any dietary requirements, if we are advised about... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Crown is central to the vicinity of several of my friends. We meet there for morning coffee or afternoon tea. The staff are helpful and polite and will top up your teapot with hot water too. A selection of cakes too, ( maybe a few more Gluten Free options please.)

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. Our Head Chef has only very recently joined us and he is currently reviewing all of our menu options. However, we can accommodate any dietary requirements, if we are alerted to this in advance, so please... More 

Bury St. Edmunds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten here before, it's really stylish and the staff are very helpful, something for everyone on the menu, we just had a light lunch sitting in the bar, my husband really enjoyed the homemade burger, chips were dusted in fresh rosemary which were delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Cobs2
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk More 

Kesgrave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had a morning coffe and becon sandwitch. the coffe was cold and the bacon was chewy and tasteless very disappointing. staff were nice and woodburner was nice .the hotel was warm though and nicely decorated

Helpful?
Thank clicky662016
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We want all of our customers to have a good experience at The Crown and therefore we're really sorry to hear that everything was not to your liking. However, it is impossible to rectify issues, once clients have left the premises. If you had brought these matters... More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife booked us a table in the restaurant for my birthday meal. She booked a specific table and requested some balloons for the table. When we arrived, we got the right table but there were no balloons. When this was queried we were told that the booking did not mention balloons and that the person who'd taken the order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very good hotel, great rooms, the bathroom needed some attention and the TV only received four channels, two being Sky sports, but on the whole it was very nice. Don't be put off by the outside. Be aware that the rates advertised and then subsequently charged might vary, and staff with limited English not always able to help out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smithm42
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your constructive comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the Crown for a one-night stay in July, en route to a self-catering holiday in . Very impressed with central location, good service and the period decor of the rooms. Being on the River Deben estuary gives a very 'seaside' feel to the town, with many quaint features such as the local cinema, marina and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2rosecottage
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Crown on a number of occasions over the past year as we have family in Woodbridge and The Crown is a great base. The decor is lovely and the rooms really comfortable and when we have stayed previously, we have been very happy. This time however, was disappointing. We stayed in room one for two... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoseyFlanagan
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am really sorry to hear about your experience and I am currently looking in to the items you have raised. However I can advise you that this week (w/c 7 Nov 2016), our brand new Head Chef, Darran, commenced work with us and I know that... More 

East Dereham, Norfolk.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this hotel on-line for a short mini-break in Suffolk. Chose a superior double at £140 pn inclusive of breakfast. Very impressive web-site covering the hotel facilities as well as list of things to do in Woodbridge and surrounding area. If travelling by car it is best to put “Quay St” into the SAT-NAV, rather than “Thoroughfare” since the former... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norfolktraveller77
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind comments and very detailed review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk More 

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.3 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
886 reviews
3.2 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
11.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
445 reviews
14.7 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
749 reviews
35.8 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Luke Bailey showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Price Range: ₹ 9,237 - ₹ 12,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
5 months ago
London
7 months ago
London

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles 389hughg, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Number One”
 of 5 bubbles JoseyFlanagan, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room one very small and overlooked bath awkward other rooms larger”
 of 5 bubbles Elizasummers, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room was large (10) but the 2 rooms next door were even larger.”
 of 5 bubbles EileenC379, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the bedrooms are of a high standard with large bathrooms and comfortable beds.”
 of 5 bubbles rodmer4, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay