We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rutland Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rutland Arms Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rutland Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
Essex, England
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with friends after an evening event at the Racecourse. We had read reviews so came prepared. Such a shame as this Hotel has some great original features, spoilt by threadbare carpets which are old & dirty, peeling wallpaper, & dated decor. Our bedroom curtain was not much more than a piece of fabric on curtain wire. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fauts
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is under a contstant maintenance program and we do our best to make sure we keep the hotel as up to date as possible. Unfortunatly, with the hotel dating back to the 17th century, it is not always possible to keep on top of everything and some things are beyond our control.

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1night 139pnds dirty rooms bed like sleeping on a board in need of a good refurb bathroom dirty, someone used loo before we checked in, could write your name in the dust on furniture.the only good about the hotel the location stayed in travel lodge previous night spotless compared to this hotel not recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diana r
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to read your review and i will pass your comments onto the team, who will also be upset. The Rate would have been inflated due to a race meeting but this is no excuse for the standard of your experience. had this have been highlighted to the management team during...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The hotel is in a lovely historic building. However this has resulted in a labarynrth like network of stairs and corridors. Our room 145 was about as far away from reception as possible. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy but the bathroom could do with updating and our shower dripped constantly. The breakfast was very well cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni E
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenni, Thank you for your review. As you have mentioned the hotel is a 17th century coaching inn and th hotel has been designed around the original building. The part you stayed in was added onto the hotel and as a result is a bit like an 'annexe'. We are constantly trying to update and maintain our room standards...

East Anglia
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Lunch here with a friend turned out poor again. A cheese and onion toastie turned up as cheese and ham, waitress very apologetic and offered to sort it out. 10 minutes later a chees and pickle toastie arrived - by this time I just ate it. It's not the first time food has been shoddy, the last time it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastAngliaMiddy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

My experience of this hotel could at best be described as poor, and at worst, shocking, bordering on misrepresentation. We paid £165 for a standard double room and stayed one night in order to attend the horse racing at Newmarket. The hotel is a typical old coaching inn; plenty of stairs meandering through the large building. After more downs than...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank david j
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. The Deputy manager has made myself aware of your visit and unfortunately due to holidays and unforeseen circumstances they have been unable to respond to you personally. During racing there is very high demand for rooms in newmarket and as such the price reflects this. I am...

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed here last week on business. The building itself is very old and done great original features, but along with that came a musty smell. Very central in the town. Rooms are average if you can find it ! However I was very impressed with their restaurant. Super service and good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am please to hear that you were impressed with our restaurant. we look forward to welcoming you back in th near future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

What a shame to let such a beautiful old building with so many quaint and original features get so dirty. I don't need a hotel to have the latest and most modern interior design features, but what I do need it to be is clean! Our room and bathroom were so dirty, I was scared to walk bare-feet on the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JamesBexx
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

The overall impression of the Rutland Arms Hotel is adequate, but on race days you are paying a lot for the privilege. The hotel has some positives: all the reception staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful; and the four poster bed room we stayed in was comfortable. On the downside: the bar lacks character and is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. On race days it is very much a supply and demand pricing strategy. There is massive demand for rooms in newmarket and as such we reflect this in our pricing. I am glad to hear that the reception team were helpful. Our bar area is due to get a slight 'facelift' very soon. We do...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Generally good - having requested a quiet room I was given one right at the back which was quite a hike but worth it in principle - the problem was that although the room had no exterior noise to speak of there is little or no soundproofing between rooms so any steps, doors opening (and slamming) were heard as if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryParad
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that the reception team were helpful and friendly. The waiting team is relatively new and are on a consistant training programme to improve the service we offer. Thank you for highlighting an issue that needs addressing urgently. Had the concerns with the room been highlighted to the Duty Manager on...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Arrived late at night, having been unable to find anything within the budget in Cambridge. Luckily I was in a tiny rental car because the hotel garage is about as tight as any I've parked in (or maybe I've just been in Canada too long). Finding the room was something of challenge, with turns, corridors, plenty of stairs and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our car park can be tight at times, but we are very lucky to be right on the high street with our own car park. The hotel offers character with its winding corriders, as it is a 17th century caching inn with many original features. I am glad to hear that you found the room...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.3 km away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.9 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
851 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
2.6 km away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
38 reviews
12.1 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Price Range: ₹ 4,603 - ₹ 11,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Hotel Newmarket, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rutland Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rutland Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 111 which is most people's favourite.”
michaelr155, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are lots of stairs, some rooms are on different sides of the hotel.”
linp576, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not get room out the front on high St,NOISE”
kerryp652, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It really depends on the needs of clients the staff would talk it through with them.”
Beryl1513, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying at a weekend, ask for a room away from the main road if you are an early bedder”
BattyOne, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5