We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bull

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bull
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This was our third visit to The Bull. As usual the bar staff were efficient and the food good value. But we had so many problems with the rooms we had been allocated. The first was in a corridor looking more like a building site, the second set up for a single occupant. When we asked for a second bedside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us this time due to room issues, we have had some maintenance works going on to try and improve some of our bedrooms which you may have been caught up in. I do hope you will visit us again, feel free to call me...

Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and stayed over night at the hotel. Could not fault the staff who were attentive and friendly. The food was delicious, all delivered in a timely manner and still hot which can be a problem when you're catering to so many people. Gary was excellent. One of the members of bar staff could have looked a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacee93
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here for wedding celebrations...i can only apologise for the late night singing from your fellow wedding guests! We do hope you will visit again soon. Gary and the team at The Bull

Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

I have been living locally to The Bull for 10 years. I have visited it numerous times over the years and have seen the place continue to get better and better. The food is out of this world and the staff are very hospitable. I have also attended networking meeting there and devoured their yummy full English breakfast. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa M
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you kind comments. How lovely to hear that your visits to the Bull keep getting better and better and you always feel well looked after. I will make sure your feedback is passed on to the team & look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Gary

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015

I went to this tribute evening with a copy of friends and had a really lovely time. The food was excellent, the restaurant was very relaxing and the entertainment was good. Was well priced at £24.95 each for a three course meal and entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P00hBear67
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I was delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at our recent Blues Brothers night. These nights have been really successful for us and we will be publishing a list of future events for the New Year shortly. Please do like us on Facebook as well for more details of events & any offers that are available at...

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Stayed for our 25th.Disappointed in our room.Damp patches on the ceiling in the bathroom.We had a fire exit door,it looked dirty.(kept he curtains closed.On two occasions when ordering meals,popular dishes were not on the menu.On a posive note we would return.Staff friendly,most helpful.Food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 452flo
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. I was pleased to hear that you would return and that the team looked after you well. My apologies that some of the popular dishes were unavailable. We are also currently in the process of updating our Bedrooms and Bathrooms. I do hope to see you again soon, regards Gary

north yorks
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here when we were walking the Stour Valley path. The building is beautiful. However it stops there. I just felt you could tell it was part of a large chain and that there was no "soul" in the place . The staff on reception were disinterested and there was no personal attention at all . The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anmay4
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear of your disappointment and will certainly discuss the issues you have raised with the team. I do hope that you will try us again when you return to Long Melford. Kind regards Gary

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Went to The Bull as we had been before and the reputation is good, arrived around midday and sat down and chose from the menu - no problem. When we went to order the Tom Kerridge steak and ale pie which was highlighted on the menu and we had chosen was not available, also the fish dish and sausage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevor e
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your meals did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. I was really pleased to hear though that the team, in particular Ruth, looked after you well. We hope to see you again soon Regards, Gary

Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Excellent lunch in The Bull @ Long Melford. Reasonable price and lovely ambience. Fish and chips were fresh and delicious. Jacket potato was perfect with lots of prawns ! Drinks too for just £13 would have expected to pay more. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny021168
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent lunch with us and found the food excellent value and the staff helpful. We look forward to seeing you again very soon Gary & the team at the Bull

Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We were here for two nights to attend a wedding. The facilities for the wedding were lovely and I would recommend booking an event here, but not staying here. The room was tidy, but worn and shabby. The bath suffers from a serious case of damp and mold, the room wreaked of chimney smoke, and the fire escape for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MVTraveler31
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I was really pleased to hear you enjoyed the recent Wedding you attended here at the Bull, but was sorry to hear that the room allocated to you was disappointing. We are currently refurbishing our guest bedrooms and completely retiling the bathrooms in them to ensure our future guests are not left similarly disappointed. Kind regards Gary

suffolk
Reviewed 31 October 2015

On the 23rd Oct 15, our family held a wake for our brother at this hotel, & we could not fault the service provided, from Sue Berry organising & making arrangements for the day to the whole staff for the superb food & beverages provided with an attentive & respectful approach throughout the day. Also for providing technical equipment to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkGable
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of the Bull. I am really pleased to hear that the team looked after your family well and will of course pass your comments on to Soo in particular. I am glad that your family & friends were made to feel comfortable with us here on this very difficult day. Kind regards Gary &...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
6.0 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
116 reviews
0.7 km away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
962 reviews
18.3 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,068 reviews
9.4 km away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Bull Hotel Restaurant
Bull Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Bull

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Price Range: ₹ 4,963 - ₹ 9,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ely, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the summery time the rooms at the back are more quite with the windows that open onto the garden instead of the street.”
 of 5 bubbles cstewartDallas, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel. Bathrooms need refurbishing. No lift. Very warm hotel in January!”
 of 5 bubbles angelab448, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a superior room”
 of 5 bubbles loopyscotter, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“they are all different but good”
 of 5 bubbles kevinl1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask the staff for advice depending on what you want”
 of 5 bubbles V293WBjenniferg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay