We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vine Hotel

Agoda.comUS$ 67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 67*
Great Deal
US$ 68*
US$ 68*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Vine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of Vine Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and found the hotel in an ideal position for the town centre. The staff are extremely friendly, the food is great with plenty of choices. Clean rooms with large beds and the tv is a large one too. I always stay at the Vine Hotel as I can relax when doing my business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Wigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible food, microwaved rubbish, nearly inedible. The "chef" needs to find another job. Staff pleasant but not fantastic. Breakfast was very good to be fair, full English with a choice of ingredients. The toilet/shower room was a disgrace, the cleaner needs instruction on how to clean or sacked along with the chef. It's not rocket science, what's wrong with you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crazymazdadave
Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We take all feedback seriously and discuss it at our regular management meeting. If you would like to discuss your issues further please feel free to call us, we are always looking to improve our service and welcome all feedback. regards

staffordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very dated the room was so small and the bathroom was dirty. The service was terrible and the food wasn't up to much. you could have a drink after 11.30 and it was only through the back of the hotel that you could get in late at night which wasn't very safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cabeeston09
Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the vine. Being a city centre pub it is not practical to have our front entrances open at night. We do operate a cctv system and have had no issues security wise with the back entrance. We take all feedback seriously and regularly review our cleaning policy. Thank you...

Midlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had meals at this hotel for years, and always enjoyed them, so we decided to stay a night there, as a treat. The hotel room was very shabby, not what we expected. We went to have a meal in the hotel restaurant that evening. The meal I ordered came with one item missing. When I asked, I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elisha60
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We used to go here a lot when it was managed by Amanda. The well run kitchen produced good tasty food that was served by friendly and efficient staff. We used to have Sunday lunch at the vine virtually every week and go perhaps once or twice during the week. It was always first choice for the Christmas fare menu...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David L
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Very complicated booking system by going through booking.com, Staff seemed unsure of payment. No hot water for duration , limited beverages in room . Breakfast very slow and meagre portions . Won't stay here again .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew M
Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We apologise for your bad experience, we do encourage our guest to book directly with us as its a much smoother, easier process. No payment is taken until check in as the card details are used as a guarantee only. In with regards to the hot water the water was off for one day...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel, it is way overpriced for what it is! Bedroom & bathroom completely below a average standard, i didn't really want to use the bathroom as it was like an old persons home.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ruth B
Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review All rooms have had new upgrades on the beds and are in the process of slowly re-vamping the hotel rooms. As we are the oldest pub in Stafford the rooms reflect this on the layout, design and general feel of the room. We do apologise for all of the above in your review. Regard...

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight at the Vine. Very reasonable prices and the room was nice and spacious and above all very clean. The building is old so you will here creaky floorboards so if you are a light sleeper this may be a minor irritant. Good standard fare in terms of food, and serves a good pint behind the bar as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William H
Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We are glad you enjoyed your stay. if you do stay with us again then you can state you would like a top floor room which should deter the "creaky floorboards" from other guest walking around. I will pass on your kind feedback to the rest of the team We hope to see you...

UK
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Living locally, I have eaten at the restaurant here a few times. The food is ok, nothing special. Service is a bit haphazard, with staff often needing prompting. There are several very friendly individuals working here who are only too happy to please once made aware of customers' needs, which leads me to wonder if this is a training issue....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vasilisa
Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We do apologise about your recent visit as we strive to be the best we can. In regards to the gravy we do not use meat juices as the gravy is suitable for vegetarians and gluten free so the gravy is used for a variety of different people, but we will take your comments...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

My husband booked this hotel directly online, a couple of months in advance. He didn't receive any confirmation (we guessed later that perhaps it had been sent, but went straight to his spam and subsequently deleted). So there was some doubt as to whether the booking had gone through at all. "No problem," I said. "I'll phone the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnaR010

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.3 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
521 reviews
2.0 km away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
5.9 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
5.7 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, The Vine offers a wealth of 'olde worlde' character to its guests. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of all the main attractions that Stafford offers, including the Gateway Theatre, Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. We offer secure parking for our hotel guests, just call in at reception and we will lift the barrier for you. Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, and classic pub food is served all day. A wide range of drinks are available from the bar. At the Vine Hotel, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vine Hotel

Address: 7 Salter Street, Stafford ST16 2JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Price Range: ₹ 4,070 - ₹ 6,783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel, its the only way !!!”
  • SACK THE CLEANER
  • BED TOO BIG FOR THE ROOM
  • NOT CLEANED FOR YEARS
  • MAKES ME FEEL SICK
  • BROWN
crazymazdadave, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't book this hotel at all.”
AnnaR010, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stay in twin bedded rooms unfortunately they overlook the bins!”
kathyspeedone, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the hotel rather than those on the ground floor would be of a higher standard”
56Elizabeth14, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The top floor, they're the best. Less creaking!!!”
F108, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 67* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 68
Booking.comUS$ 68
LateRooms.comUS$ 67
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates