We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Luttrell Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Luttrell Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Luttrell Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and my humans have just returned from a few days at the Luttrell Arms and what a fantastic time we all had. Our room opened onto our own small patio, garden and then onto national trust land with lots of great walks. What more could a puppy want. I was one very excited boy on my first day so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Watson-Explores
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your humans on holiday with you - I hope they were well behaved! We love having dogs here and hope you enjoyed your dog bed and fields and open spaces to run in. We at reception are working on our next book of local dog walks, so next time you are here there will be new...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Having visited this venue on a couple of other occasions and enjoyed the food I was very disappointed when ordering the ploughmans this time round.....No onions, dressing on the salad leaves and a pickled egg with a soft yoke just to mention a few strange items.....I guess I'm a traditionalist and the description nowhere fitted what was on the wooden...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 769Elaine
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your meal on your last visit, the Ploughman's is usually really good and we get a lot of compliments but we obviously got something wrong on this occasion. I hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves.

Leintwardine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Stayed for one night Dinner Bed & Breakfast. We were shown to bedroom 17 which was an enormous room with beamed ceiling, carved figurines and deer antlers adoring the walls with a four poster bed, sofas and mullioned windows. A real wow factor, The remainder of the hotel was of a similar feel. The slight let-down was that the Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Room 17 which is named Dunkery Beacon as this is the highest point on Exmoor and also our most impressive bedroom. It is brilliant if you are looking for somewhere to stay full of history. We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Sunday evening...

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We were staying locally popped in once for snack and once for main meals. Lovely old building. Very welcoming and dogs allowed in so when rain set in we all could move inside. Did not make it to the hidden garden as there were so many nooks and crannies to explore. Beware of the sandwiches they are a meal in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Dunster is a great place to come with your dog as there are so many places to go walking. We welcome dogs to the hotel and have some great dog friendly rooms which open in to our secret garden. Next time you come in ask at reception and we will show you around the...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight to break the trip from MK to Exeter. Booked a very nice room (35) which was clean and comfortable, and spacious. Ate in the bar in the evening and impressed with the food and service. Very good breakfast with the usual suspects as well as fresh fruit. Will definitely stay here again (very friendly and efficient staff)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiteyboy1958
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Room 35 is very popular with the view of the Yarn Market from the window. Glad you enjoyed the food, if youre interested chef is putting on an Indian Dinner night in Psalter’s restaurant on Thursday 8th September. Please visit our website for more details

Manchester
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Beautiful old pub in historic and very pretty Dunster. The building is amazing and worth a visit just to look at the architecture including old panelling with sixteenth century graffiti of a boat! Excellent and friendly service, absolutely delicious food, great wines & beers, couldn't fault it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coastocoaster
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The building has a great history dating back to1442, did you pick up a leaflet from reception? If not let us know and we will send one to you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for just one night en route to Devon. The hotel was very welcoming and comfortable and has a lovely secret garden for lunch or pre dinner drinks. From here we visited the castle and surrounding gardens and also walked to Dunster Beach and on to Minehead. The countryside is beautiful and the village is a very quiet piece...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJWDXB
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing to stay with us in Dunster. I hope that we will see you again!

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We live near DUnster and were delighted when the hotel came under the same ownership as the Castle Hotel in Dartmouth where we stay frequently , we have not been disappointed, the food is excellent and the old building has maintained the lovely old features one would expect in a listed building The staff are polite and always helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmspeddie
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Very average but the staff were excellent. Save for the morning the owner decided to sprout off in the breakfast room which was rather boring. The food was very average and the Duster Castle Hotel where we ate the following night was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet R
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I also think our staff our excellent. Having said that i think we are far from average, so we can't agree on everything! There is nothing average about the Luttrell Arms, especially when you consider our historic location and unique 14th century building, not to mention our eccentric owner! I am sorry about him,...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

You order one thing and get something completely different. We ordered a Lemon & Blueberry tart and was given a White Chocolate tart. The couple on the next table ordered a Sorbet and got an Ice Cream. We ordered two soups and they forgot to bring the bread rolls, when asked, they gave us 3 small stale rolls. Does that...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank redwood36
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

I find it hard to reply to reviews like this - I guess we were all having a bad day on this occasion.

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
36.2 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
0.0 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
180 reviews
27.8 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
326 reviews
14.9 km away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
32.6 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range: ₹ 7,775 - ₹ 13,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Luttrell Arms staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Forest Row, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Luttrell Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay as we are local to the area.”
athollbakers, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Am sure that there are no "bad" rooms at this hotel!”
jamesdouglas2014, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 own patio area ont secret garden”
jacquifish6969, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All perfect”
deeannrob, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Personally I would always go for the 4 poster feature rooms as they are stunnigly beautiful”
TabbyWabby1, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5