We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Show Prices
#13 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,937: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty bedrooms with hairs in the bed and a stained duvet cover. Main staircases not cleaned throughout our stay so remained dirty. Lack of waiting staff. Tables not cleared so guests cleared. Inedible buffet food on Christmas Eve. Numerous requests for food to be replenished at breakfast. Very apologetic staff who tried to their best. Duty Managers tried so hard....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peredurhmj
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booking over the phone is, for someone hard of hearing, a nightmare as you are connected to a foreign call centre, and no fault of hers a heavily accented operative. A difficult 20 minutes but got there in the end and managed to get a better rate than Hotels.com and others by joining the loyalty scheme. All I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Michael W Thank you very much for sending in your constructive feedback; it is appreciated. It is extremely disappointing to see that you found the staff to be scruffy and we are having a meeting today to address this concern. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future. Kind regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would advise people to not pay more than £80-£100 per night for this hotel because you do not receive a 4 star service. It is one of the most poorly run hotels we've been too. Our room was not ready so we left bags with them to store safety, when we returned they could not find our luggage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalaibh
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am disappointed to see that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. I am extremely sorry to see that your luggage was not stored safely; this is extremely unusual and my Head Concierge has asked to be associated with my apologies. As an M-Gallery hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every...

oxford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in a terrace of converted Bath townhouses, the Francis is on a nice square very close to all the attractions. Rooms are a good size (we had a classic double) and well maintained with very comfortable bed. Good shower room also. It was very cold when we were there and the heating system couldn't cope (some kind of secondary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxforduser
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear oxforduser Thank you very much for taking the time to send in feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased you liked the hotel and its location and found the staff to be helpful. We wish you all the very best for 2017. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What can I say about this hotel ! Just one big disappointment, From start to finish, First we were sent an email would we like to upgrade at an extra cost so we did to a larger room with a double bed, Also went for the fast track which was a waste of time. On arrival we had problems booking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TerryV310164
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is very disappointing indeed to read the review if your recent visit and I am extremely sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. It most definitely appears that the level of service provided was not up to our usual high standard and please rest assured that we have taken on board your comments, which...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a one night trip away on Boxing Day (To escape family). Managed to get a best rate by joining the hotel chain 'free' membership club. Certainly no complaints about the cheapest room option (see pictures of room 232). The hotel sits in a great location with a choice of hotel car park or long stay 4-5 mins walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkandHelenUK
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments and the lovely pictures you took of room 232, I must agree that this room is fantastic and very comfortable. My team and I were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to your next visit, Kind Regards, Mads Nielsen General Manager

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid £135 for one night in a tiny room, with barely enough space to squeeze around the bed. The room really wasn't large enough for basic items. The floor sloped severely and the ceiling was very low, was this originally a cupboard? Breakfast was extra £19.00 and parking for 24 hours £15. On the positive side, the staff were...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to see that you found the room to be small. Due to the history of the building, all the rooms vary in shape, size and décor; it is such a shame that you didn’t ask to see if there was another room in the same category that you may have found more comfortable. I am...

Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogers2712
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We regarded the time we spent in Bath, staying at the Francis Hotel as a refreshing time. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas when we arrived. The location is perfect. You are a tad bit over a block away from the Jane Austen Museum, from the Francis. As well, as just a few blocks walk from the City Center....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dejemahan
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We very much appreciate the kind feedback regarding your stay at The Francis Hotel here in Bath. It is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as I am confident they will serve...

Murrieta, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Francis hotel is charming, friendly, and clean. The location is ideal. There are two reasons it earns a 4 rather than 5. 1) the windows are not well-ceiled and rattled in the wind, which was noisy and obnoxious. 2) the room we were in, on the 3rd floor, has the lowest ceilings I have I ever seen. My husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always beneficial to receive both positive and constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again...

591 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (490)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (214)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (61)
Viewed
Classic Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,268 reviews
1.3 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
2.3 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
0.7 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,150 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: ₹ 7,852 - ₹ 19,756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Hong Kong, China
3 months ago
Jacksonville, FL
24 days ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior Deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Dhuds, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good for visiting the Roman Baths”
 of 5 bubbles markd0wling, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a very comfortable disabled room which was at the back and it was very quite”
 of 5 bubbles jeanndeavid, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At the back is quieter but no view ? , Front maybe better but not that quiet”
 of 5 bubbles TerryV310164, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You might want to request a room that isn't on the front side of the hotel which faces the street. A bit noisier than we would have wanted”
 of 5 bubbles dejemahan, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay