We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windsor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Windsor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 716: English reviews
Start your review of The Windsor
 Click to rate
South West
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was staying here on business & went down for breakfast at 7.50. I ordered smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. Nothing appeared by 8.20 so I asked when this was coming & was told soon. About 8.25 I noticed 1 of the servers coming in with her coat on - she had been out to buy eggs as they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneNeville
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in The Windsor recently and had a nice stay. The room was really spacious with our own courtyard garden and an enormous bed. The building is beautiful and the room was tastefully done and the location is amazing, super close to the hustle and bustle but actually very quiet and residential. We did have a couple of issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I do apologise for the blown fuse that caused the temporary problem with both your TV and kettle, i'm pleased this was resolved so easily. I'm also delighted you liked your room, its so nice to have a super-king bed and private garden to enjoy. I'm sorry you felt the dining room /Reception was a...

Rotherham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Working the next day in Bradford on Avon, the Windsor offered a good deal at short notice. Close to city centre and walking distance to all the pubs, restaurants and attractions. On arrival we found our request for a twin room had been overlooked- the delightful Claire moved us into an absolutely HUGE room with 2 double beds, 2 tvs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Even before we arrived we were sent information on things to see and some recommended places to eat in Bath. We were also given options of arrival gifts, although we did not take those up. On arrival, finding the guesthouse and parking were very easy. We went in and collected parking permit, as advised beforehand, and checked in. We felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyjetset2014
Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Windsor is a charming boutique hotel in a great location for wa Derrington around Bath . The staff are very helpful and responsive . The rooms are rather small and decorated in a comfortable English country style . We thought it was significantly overpriced given the quality of the property however we suspect the prices were abnormally high due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Locharburn1767
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just spent a couple nights here with friends. Good location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms small but very clean and everything you need is there. Only down side was double bed could have been bigger. Will be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris a
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review commenting on our good location, clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Although you booked a Classic double room, which offers a double bed, we do also have Superior and Deluxe double rooms which have super king beds (6'x6'6"). We'd love you to come back and try one of these as both the beds and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I wouldn't mind and yes, I do understand it says it on the website and they have to cover themselves blah, blah, blah but giving 3 weeks notice of a cancellation should be more than enough time to re sell the room. I understand if I cancelled with less than 48 hour notice I would lose my money but 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryk p
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Whilst I understand your frustration at loosing your deposit, i'd like to point out that you accepted our terms and understood the reasoning behind the decision when it was explained to you last month. As a small Independent business, we have the right to and will continue to strongly uphold our decision to retain deposits on all cancellations in an...

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this lovely small & friendly hotel for 1 night with friends. We hade a large family room with an additional seating area that easily accommodated the 4 of us. The hotel was in a great spot just a few minutes walk from the train station and main shopping area. Lots of bars and restaurants close by but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJT1978
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed the space in the family room and our central location, as well as our friendly and helpful staff.

New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, only 5 minutes walk from main shopping areas. Room including bathroom was very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast included lots of hot toast and croissant, much more than I could eat. If arriving on a Saturday when the Rugby team is playing at home, get there early to get a parking space, Mid day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailbnm
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Do come again should you be back in Bath.

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed at The Windsor and right from the beginning we were made to feel welcome. I received a couple of emails before we checked in, explaining about parking and where to eat etc. Luckily, as we checked in on a Sunday parking was free but usually it's £6-£12 for a permit which is a bit frustrating but can't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HCarmen
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it was good to have you stay and were pleased there were so many positives. We will of course point out how to turn the radiators down in future and I'll pass your thanks on to Claire who will be delighted as she's just recently joined the team. Do come again.

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,310 reviews
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#41 of 192 in Bath
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#15 of 192 in Bath
1,110 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: ₹ 7,628 - ₹ 18,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Windsor staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Windsor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room overlooking the back was very quiet and you can see a small part of the Bath Rugby ground.”
 of 5 bubbles gailbnm, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Typical georgian building comprising at least four floors, so if not good with stairs, choose a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenL48, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can get a parking permit from the hotel which is very handy.”
 of 5 bubbles lucym227, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower floor has the larger rooms, others average size. Very top rooms be sure you are ok with stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles jeancG1168ZR, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevator. Even below street level rooms are sunny, but they have shutters.”
 of 5 bubbles tlnorrod, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5