We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#5 of 33 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 674: English reviews
new jersey
Reviewed 11 May 2015

If you are visiting Bath, you must take time and stay at the Royal Crescent! The entire hotel is shaped in a crescent overlooking expansive green fields and trees. Birds are chirping everywhere. We were promptly greeted and given a tour of the hotel and then to our beautiful, spacious room. The finest bed and bath linens are used in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jocar99
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for a taking the time to write this wonderful review. All our team will be delighted. We send our best wishes and hope that you may return in the near future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

What a lovely place! We didn't stay at the hotel so cannot comment on that but from the looks of it it would be a lovely place to stay. We booked a couple of treatments at the spa which was totally relaxing and well worth the money. The staff were friendly and experienced and talked us through our expectations and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie W
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Spa. We hope that you may return in the near future and look forward to your next visit.

Hampshire
Reviewed 4 May 2015

This is a wonderful hotel. Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are superb, the location magnificent. One small gripe - i expect a trouser press even in a period room - the refurbishment could have been better, our wardrobe wouldn't stay shut and some of the detailing is poor. This are minor items - overall it's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pshampshire
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we note your comments regarding the restaurant. On investigating this with the team I can advise that guests are asked to wait in the bar for breakfast only for a few minutes to allow us to reset the tables. It is often the case that many people arrive at the same time for breakfast...

Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Having been to this hotel about fourteen years ago, we were excited to return! My husband and I were a little disappointed. Firstly, we were shown to our room by a lovely lady, who also gives you a brief guided tour of the hotel. The room we were shown was a basement room. It really felt very dark and I...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank snoaks
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have 45 rooms here at the hotel including 18 suites. All the rooms are very different and our price structure reflects this. However all rooms are beautifully furnished and suit a variety of tastes due to their individuality. Our reservations team usually advise at the time of booking the type of room and whether...

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Apart from a little confusion on our arrival, our return to this outstanding hotel was pure joy. We thank Julian, in particular, for making our stay the best three nights we've had in a hotel ever, besides our stays at the Grand America in Salt Lake City, which is also, always superb. We cannot speak highly enough of the Royal...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grahamlds
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and of course we are delighted with your comments. We will pass on your comments to the staff and do hope you may visit again in the near future.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Stayed last Friday night. Lovely hotel in great location. One major problem. Book last minute and cheapest room they had ( still £300 b&b). Room 2 -if it's offered to you ask for another if you want to sleep in after about 6am. Next to the room is a staff room with a very loud door that slammed shut every...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Laurence7529
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We note your comments regarding the door slamming and have adjusted the doors to address the issue. The doors now close very quietly on checking today. Please accept our apologies that your sleep was interrupted.

Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Stayed for 1 night as we were attending a rugby match at Bath RFC. Our superior room was very comfortable and located in the main building. No street noise what so ever. An amenity tray was provided so we could make a cup of tea. My only criticism would be that the bathroom was a bit cramped. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mjbwestdown
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments, particularly regarding our very dedicated team here. We will pass them on and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

The Crescent in which the hotel is located is an architectural masterpiece and it feels very special to arrive there. The road is a cul-de-sac and you are able to leave your car in the road but the consciege holds the keys. Our reception was very welcoming and very good provision was made for our dog (dogs are allowed only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bloodhound44
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we note your comments regarding the Dower House Restaurant. We have spoken to the Restaurant team who offered several dining options to you, the Tasting Menus, The All Day Dining and the A la Carte and you settled on the All Day Dining Menu in the Bar. For a hotel of 47 bedrooms we...

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

We came for our first anniversary and lived the hotel. It was like stepping back in time! The ghost your was amazing. We definitely will be back and will bring friends with us!! The gardens are beautiful and the church behind hotel is beautiful also. Can't wait to come back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirlee28
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and found time to enjoy the City and its attractions.. We do hope that you may return in the near future.

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015

I visited the royal crescent hotel for afternoon tea to celebrate our friends wedding straight after the ceremony at the nearby Bath Guildhall. It was a surprise for the Groom who would otherwise have not agreed to it. Needless to say he loved it and we all had a brilliant time. The weather was kind to us for the UK...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed R
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted you decided to come to tea from the Guildhall. We have had great feedback regarding our Afternoon Teas and do hope that you will return in the near future.

733 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Classic Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Purple Room with Loveseat (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Fireplace (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Loveseat (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite with Balcony (32)
Viewed
Jane Austen Suite with Garden Access (36)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.9 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Bath Priory Hotel
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 33 in Bath
1,267 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 33 in Bath
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: ₹ 19,664 - ₹ 56,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
over a year ago
Lymington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 overlooks the Crescent. Some rooms overlook the garden and are in the Dower House at the back maybe nicer rooms but less period feel.”
  • View from Room 8
 of 5 bubbles SimonPL001, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Beau Ness is fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles charlier777, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room overlooking the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 516PeterL, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“54 has a queensize bed and avoid 55. Road noise on some of the rooms might cause a problem”
 of 5 bubbles reef-bore, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 28 is very small but end of hotel so quiet”
 of 5 bubbles rayofsunSomerset, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay