We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwells Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwells Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Cromwells Hotel
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was really hot, even with the radiators turned off so opening the windows wasn't an option, the trouble was that we were on a main street just above the front door, very noisy. Plus side was the central location and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PTMLondon
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on 14th April for two nights. We had the benefit of visiting Shrewsbury previously and had visited the Cromwell for meals and drinks. Thus we were aware of the parking fees and potential noise when we booked so neither were a surprise. However, bear this in mind if you plan to stay as previously documented. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithg32017
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed last night for 1 night. 1st impressions were very good excellent welcome from the duty manager. We were told to expect some background noise from the beer garden - that was not the problem it was the booming bass & loud voices coming from the bar directly below. We ended up going down stairs & sitting having a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel but having to pay an extra £20.40 for two days parking at the nearest NCP car park is a bit of an issue plus it is a bit of a trek and all uphill. The staff were most accomadating and breakfast was basic but very well prepared. Would I stay again I don't think so purely because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Satchmo1946
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was the smallest double room we have ever stayed in. Difficult to walk around the bed. The shower room was just as bad. The shower door would not open fully to allow access. No ventilation to the room. It was a sweat box. Heating could not be controlled. Breakfast was good but no soya milk for those allergic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 233RichardC
Bolton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just came back from staying overnight at this hotel . Had a lovely meal in the bar yesterday , my steak sandwich was delicious and excellent value for money , very good produce used in the kitchen here . Service in the bar and checking in was friendly and efficient despite the place being packed as it was a sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunnygirlBolton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend booked this place just for us to have a nice night away, room was close to a back courtyard. Local shops around and train stations is near by too. Lots of pubs and places to eat and also nice scenic places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed for three nights whilst visiting Shrewsbury and relatives. Great room ,comfortable bed ,well arranged bathroom and wonderfully sloping floors. The problem is parking but if you want a centrally placed hotel this is the downside. Parking is at NCP at the bottom of the hill,quite a climb if you are a little infirm. Breakfast was disappointing despite the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here valentines weekend, very claustrophobic!! First room bed was Very Very head down from a sinking floor, after few moments of disappointment we were very quickly relocated without a fuss, however compromised on space. Tea/coffee had to be made on floor as table in hallway couldn't even fit cups, bedroom area smaller than a box room, no bedside cabinet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samsmyth78
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your rather nasty and unfair 'review'. The room you chose was a budget room. The hallway you mention is still within the room. Unless you are of gaurgantuan proportions it should be acceptable. The building is a 500 year old Grade II Listed building originally designed as a house. We have three large rooms, with handmade four poster...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Been 3 x weeks running which was very good, This Sunday was not for the price of £12.50 for a one course, The beef was over done and the veg for 4 adults was a joke, 1 carrot each and a tinny bit of a two others, I was given that size last week on my own, Sorry but won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrencunnington
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

Darren, I have looked for the three 'very good' experiences you may have published before taking the trouble to publish this one. I can't find it. Why didn't you publish three very good ones? You published just the one poor one. Just trying to get some balance and understanding on your motivation. All you had to do say was, 'Could...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,083 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#12 of 55 in Shrewsbury
184 reviews
0.2 km away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#4 of 55 in Shrewsbury
120 reviews
0.1 km away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#18 of 55 in Shrewsbury
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cromwells Hotel

Address: 11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,799 - ₹ 6,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwells Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cromwells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwells Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwells Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwells Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one not at the front of the hotel.”
PTMLondon, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a different hotel”
topdjsteve, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
Satchmo1946, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms on the front are noisy”
kevind549, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 4 poster. and eat in the restaurant.”
robj776, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5