We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Norfolk Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Norfolk Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 316: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Going away for Christmas so decided to go for the 'festive' menu. Reminded me why I go away for Christmas - it was shocking! My starter of 'chicken liver brandy parfait' came on a small plate, poorly presented and with not a hint of brandy. Had much better from Aldi. My 'perry brinded turkey' when it arrived simultaneously reminded me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found our preferred breakfast establishment closed due to a power failure but the Norfolk Arms was 5 mins away & accommodated us [as non-residents] with no problem. Sumptuous full English served by engaging staff who bought into our humour immediately (lots of entertainment about building bacon walls to separate beans from eggs etc.) Quality was spot on, especially the black...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deltablade
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communication at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we appreciate it. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your impromptu visit, we're always happy to welcome hungry passers-by for breakfast. I'll make sure your comments are passed on to the rest of the team - somebody deserves the credit for managing to be "engaging" so early in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here earlier on in the year and it was great. However, this time we did not enjoy the experience so much. The room was not very clean, particularly the bathroom, the mat which you put in the bath looked mouldy. One of the buttons on the top of the TV was broken and the remote was intermittent with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloeclimbs
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communication at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're disappointed that you did not enjoy your second visit to The Norfolk Arms as we aim to provide a consistently high standard of service. Your comments regarding the room have been passed to our head housekeeper who will be looking into the matter. We would like to offer...

Sheffield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal and it was so great that we could bring the dogs. Staff were attentive and friendly. The food was so excellent and beautifully presented. We indulged in chocolate brownies which were super. Such great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldWillow
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. I'll pass your kind words on to the team, I'm sure they'll enjoy the feedback! Thanks again, and a belated happy birthday!

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed for the weekend with my partner and infant son, I was delighted how attentive and friendly the staff and local community were. From start to finish, all of our needs were met, but also keeping a distance enough to have a 'home from home' stay. Despite being above a pub, noise was not a problem and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley R
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi Kimberley, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, it's very much appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We're very lucky to have such a "magical" location, as you say. The views are among the best in and around Sheffield, especially on a clear day when you can see as far as 40...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Stayed for one night and had an evening meal. Nice, polite, friendly staff. Room was spacious and clean. Beds very comfortable, I slept very well. The meal was tasty and it was nice to have some vegetarian choice. Everything was very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sara5785
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi Sara, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay and your meals, we always try to provide plenty of choice! We hope to see you again soon.

uk
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Visited here with a group of friends doing a dog walk, we visit many pubs & cafes on our dog walks, i can say this pub was friendly & accommodating to the dogs & humans, excellent even had a jar of dog treats on the bar. We will be visiting here again that is a definite i have recommended this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swstbrk
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, it's much appreciated. We always try to make our guests feel welcome, and that includes our four-legged friends...a number of dog walking groups visit us on a regular basis, the more the merrier! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Norfolk arms. It's very close to the peak district with amazing views which is a bonus. I only at ate their resturant once but I was impressed with the food. We stayed at the back of the hotel in a small block of rooms which were once stables. The room itself was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shireen96
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed blessed with amazing views, it's possible to see up to 40 miles away on a clear day! We can only now apologise for any disturbances you experienced during your stay. Our staff...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We turned up without a booking in the middle of half term holiday at lunch time. There were children, dogs, other sorts of people, lots of people. We were served in a reasonable amount of time with really good falafel burgers. Barnsley bitter and good Guinness

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed the Falafel Burgers, they've been a big hit since we added them to the menu during summer. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, thanks again.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Just back from a bracing walk to the Norfolk Arms. First time there, won't be our last! From the welcome (walkers, dogs and muddy boots all welcome) to the excellent Farmers Blonde beer and first class food we all thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We ordered from the lite bites menu, very generous sandwiches/wraps made with quality ingredients and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
TheNorfolkArms, Online Communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review

Hi Martyn, Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. It's great to read your feedback regarding the sandwiches and wraps - we always use quality ingredients so it's good to know they make a difference. It's also good to know that the time we put into caring for our real ale is noticeable - you...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.5 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#9 of 55 in Sheffield
609 reviews
17.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
12.4 km away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 55 in Sheffield
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kenwood Hall
14.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
6.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel Restaurant
Norfolk Arms Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: ₹ 4,019 - ₹ 7,695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Norfolk Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Norfolk Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a table for your evening meal.”
 of 5 bubbles ahih2016, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No 3 was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles ivankorolevic, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 is a disabled room in a separate annexe - this is a really big room away from the main noise of the marquee area.”
 of 5 bubbles JayPeaSee, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid annexes unless you want to wake early, probably best rooms in main building at rear (away from road)”
 of 5 bubbles PathManSlough, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 had superb views over the garden and hillside”
  • Room 7
  • Room 7
 of 5 bubbles Royace1, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay