We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Sheffield City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Sheffield City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 566: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Swift check in that was good. The room was sub-standard, bedding had old stains on it and the bathroom was interesting. I think I had a disabled room as it was a wet room and there was a chair in there, this didn't compel me to use it, although clean on the surface, again ground in black stains on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed here a few times now, but I just had to post this time as the rooms have just undergone refurbishment!! I would recommend staying if ever in Sheffield. 2.5 mins walk to city centre, Sheffield Hallam university and pond forge swimming and leisure centre. A really good location!!! New beds also!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeharrison74
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your college course, we're delighted that you like the refurbished rooms and we're really grateful that you have taken the time to post this very kind review here and for your recommendation. We hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on a future visit to the...

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean and tidy rooms, comfortable bed and the best shower ever, I will definitely stay here again. Close to everything, parking building across the road, easy to get to. Helpful friendly staff. A great hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6828CTdeborahm
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

My team and I are really grateful for your "Great Hotel" review, we're really pleased that you chose to stay with us and found our location ideal for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on your next visit to Sheffield. Kind regards Diane

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in December with my husband and daughter. We originally were put on the 2nd floor, however it had just been repainted and smelled strongly of paint! Also the heater in the room was broken and so the room was freezing! As my baby was only 1 month old we asked to be moved to another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m2017s
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here and for your kind recommendation though i'm sorry that you were initially inconvenienced. I do hope that you choose to stay with us on a future visit to Sheffield especially to experience the extensive refurbishments that we have undertaken. I'm delighted to say that the major upgrading work to the rooms (from the...

Nykoping, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel because of the location, but didn't expect much, but how wrong was I. This hotel is a gem. Staff fantastic, modern clean rooms, really good breakfast and a nice and friendly atmosphere ln the restaurant / bar. We will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanetted2017
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us over the Christmas period whilst visiting family. My team and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we're really grateful to you for posting these very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you all back on another family visit. Best wishes for 2017 Kind regards Diane

Scarborough, Tobago
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are upgraded with a modern look and are very clean, the hotel staff was pleasant I would recommend this hotel to any one , not forgetting 5 mins walk from city center and tram lines, the food is ok

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 279natashaa
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that the extensive refurbishments we've done so far are to your liking and we're most grateful for this kind review and recommendation. I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Sheffield. Kind regards Diane

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The standard was impressive for a budget hotel - clean and all facilities such as a hairdryer in the room. I had great views across the city. Receptionist was very welcoming. I look forward to visiting other Ibis hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G6250AZdeniser
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

We're delighted that you chose to stay at ibis Sheffield City Centre during your visit and my team and I are delighted that you found the time to post your kind review here. We hope that we can welcome you back on a future visit to the City. Kind regards Diane

Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Great hotel. Brilliant location for evening event at ponds forge. Contemporary room with all amenities, comfy bed, great shower, love the smell of the toiletries. Unfortunately walls seem to be paper thin. Not helped by inconsiderate guests talking, dropping things, banging doors in the corridor at 2, 3, 6 in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesska92
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst you were visiting Ponds Forge and i'm delighted that you enjoyed one of our refurbished rooms. I'm sorry that you were disturbed by other guests returning from the event. I hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future. Kind regards Diane

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

A lovely modern ,spotless hotel .A great stop off place for a few nights central to shops but the area is a bit run down . Welcoming staff .We ordered breakfast when we arrived and had to pay separate but was worth the money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy P
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your "stop over" visit to Sheffield, we're especially pleased that you found the hotel ideal for your visit. We're really grateful for this kind review and hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on your next "stop over" visit to the...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel being revamped, room was recently re decorated. Peculiar style, tiny room... little space for hanging your clothes. Bathroom, resembling the one of a boat, small but big compared to the room itself. Everything done with plastic or FRP, from walls to floor through the sink. Breakfast is served at the reception lounge, very basic, quality of the products could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakama O
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at ibis Sheffield City Centre and for posting your review here, we welcome all comments. We hope that we can welcome you back on a future visit to Sheffield. Kind regards Diane

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 km away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.6 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 54 in Sheffield
1,363 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
1,924 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city, just 5 minutes walk from the train and coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is ideally located for the Ponds Forge International Sport Centre (200 meters away) but also for all city centre destinations (University, Lyceum, Crucible theatre, Millenium Gallery, Winter garden....) The tram stop 150 meters away will bring you to the door step of Meadowhall shopping centre, the Arena or the Don Valley Stadium. The hotel boasts 95 ensuite bedrooms, all with internet connectivity,tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower. All our rooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: ₹ 2,821 - ₹ 5,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Sheffield City staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Sheffield City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Rosslareharbour, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you like a firm bed you'll be ok”
 of 5 bubbles janehC7137HU, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“It was very quit even though a busy road outside”
 of 5 bubbles car0lew48, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Good hotel when cheap.”
 of 5 bubbles stephaniem607, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles NeilS956, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay