We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Foxholes Farm Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Foxholes Farm Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our visit got off to a shaky start. It was a cold weekend, and the apartment had no heat. We followed the instructions to get the programmer operating, but zilch. As others have commented, the mobile signal is poor here, which makes it a little more difficult to contact the owners, but the wi-fi worked well. Only about half an... More 

Helpful?
Thank monxton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I recently had my wedding in this venue. Rachel and the team were fantastic. I must have sent them a million e-mails which they always responded to quickly! The cost was very black and white with no hidden extras and significantly better value for money than a lot of other venues. They were very flexible and allowed us to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthmarygarside
Management response:

Thank you Ruth for your kind comments about Foxholes Farm, we aim to offer bridal parties and guests in our cottages a weekend away from it all to relax and unwind and are glad that we succeeded in this for your wedding. Thank you for allowing us to host your special day and the best of luck for you and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We booked the largest apartment available. When we arrived it was 30C. We picked up the key from the safe and got into the apartment. At that point we discovered they'd lost the key to the patio doors so we couldn't get out there. Not that that mattered as there was no patio furniture as advertised. The room smelt of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason W
Management response:

Thank you for your comments, we are disappointed that the review has been published, however below we do set out the email passing between ourselves. It is apparent that you left the apartment before we could attend with the keys and also there was no mention by you of there being any complaints as regards cleanliness in any of your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Some reviewers were not so good for this place, but I have to say, they are wrong. Perhaps a bit of kindness would be better in the SMS they send with the instructions about how to get the keys. The trip. As usual, we used google maps to take us avoiding the motorway, so, it took us through the peak... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David Felipe A
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation and facilities, we are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and are glad that all issues you mentioned were resolved quickly and easily. we send all guests a short text message to advise where keys can be located so that guests can quickly and easily... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We were guests for a wedding in the accommodation. We arrived and were told more where we could not park rather than where we could. The cottage was OK but not cleaned and lots of cobwebs. The heating was on so turned of the radiator and turned down the thermostat and discussed we had a leak. We told the lady... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Astonchap
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review, we are of course very upset to hear how you felt about the weekend, however we should like to provide some contextual facts in relation to your comments. Heating: Immediately upon being advised that there was a leak with a radiator in the lounge area our maintenance attended site and turned off the water... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Just hired cottage 1 and 8 for 2 nights as we were attending a family wedding in Bradfield village hall. (2 adults, 2 OPS, 2 children under 15) This is a charming place, but basic. It was within walking distance (.6 miles) after the event. Glad I packed my flat shoes as the climb up the hill in the dark... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay in our 2- 3 star ETC rated cottages, the facilities provided reflect that rating and this may by way you felt that the cottages were simple, basic and essential. Our hillside location is perfect for the views over the village and peaceful location, but the 10 minute climb is up a... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We hired the 5 cottages and the marquee for our wedding in April 2016. The site has a fantastic view across to High Bradfield,the marquee is very nice and was warm, and the wedding manager on the day was lovely and helpful. However, this venue required a lot of extra (heating, skip hire, fairy lights) expense. It was definitely a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vanessaf0x
Management response:

We welcomed the opportunity to host your wedding here a Foxholes Farm and appreciate your feedback. we do feel it is fair to point out the fact that the brochure and terms and conditions of wedding bookings does clearly point out those items that are included in the wedding hire of the venue, along with a list of extras. The... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We arrived late on a Friday night after nearly a 5 hour drive, I tried multiple times to call the listed telephone number to let the owner know we'd be a bit later than expected arriving due to the traffic conditions going through Birmingham. None of my calls were answered. We eventually found the property, no signs of life around... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Samanthahoshi
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us, clearly you had made a long journey on a dark winters night up country. Our housekeeper was aware that you were due to arrive late, however this was not a cause for concern as all guests are able to access keys from an on site key safe for their own convenience, and therefore arrival... More 

warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Awful accommodation. Only the location is any good. Decor is shabby and basic and standards of cleanliness are very poor. There is no proper shower either, only an attachment over the bath. Also, WiFi and phone signal are virtually nonexistent, so it is difficult to contact owner re numerous complaints. Their attitude to guests is abysmal to say the least.

Helpful?
2 Thank WarwickshireCaroline
Management response:

Dear Caroline Thanks you for taking the time to post your experiences on this website. Our self catering cottages are all 2-3 star ETC rated and as such meet the requirement levels for the annual rating visit by an independent inspector. Following your arrival we did receive notification that you required a property with a shower, however having booked following... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Bradfield is a short drive from my boyhood home. In sixty years it has remained relatively unspoilt. The location of the property is on a rise with a beautiful view across the valley to High Bradfield. But the view is not available from the rental properties and even so that is where the best of it ends. The whole process... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank ianbowater
Management response:

Thank you Ian for your wonderful comments regarding our beautiful location accross the valley to High and Low Bradfield. Your comments though that this view is unavailable from the properties are perplexing as clearly our location is what it is and the views our location afford are extensive and far reaching. Foxholes Farm is owned by Mrs Jean and Mr... More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
8.9 km away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 55 in Sheffield
898 reviews
7.8 km away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 55 in Sheffield
317 reviews
7.5 km away
Garrison Hotel
Garrison Hotel
#22 of 55 in Sheffield
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Padley Farm
Padley Farm
#7 of 35 in Sheffield
49 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 35 in Sheffield
65 reviews
3.4 km away
Barnfield House
Barnfield House
#3 of 35 in Sheffield
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a quiet hillside in the Peak District overlooking Low Bradfield enjoying magnificent views across the Doomsday villages, Foxholes Farm was built in the 19th century and includes a Grade II listed castellated folly. The main courtyard has now been transformed into five peaceful holiday cottages sleeping from 2 to 23 people. We also offer a bespoke wedding venue for 15 very special marriage celebrations each year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Foxholes Farm Cottages

Address: Hoarstones Road | Low Bradfield, Sheffield S6 6HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: ₹ 5,425 - ₹ 8,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Foxholes Farm Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Foxholes Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Foxholes Farm Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage 8 I feel is the most modern and nicely decorated but they are all nice!”
 of 5 bubbles ruthmarygarside, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there.”
  • leftover bottles of wine
 of 5 bubbles jasonwK6180CN, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cottage 2 was the nicest and most spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles vanessaf0x, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles ianbowater, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“avoid at all cost”
 of 5 bubbles petpv, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay