We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Reading Centre

25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Special Offer
CHEAPEST RATES ONLINE!
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Reading Museum
    0.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 4 days ago
Comfortable and affordable hotel in Reading
comfortable rooms, reasonable price if booked ahead central... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 814: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The locations is the only thing this place has going for it. Right in the city centre, close to the train station. Rooms small and dark, tv wonky, bathroom feels like in a boat cabin. Very loud noise from both street and other rooms. Breakfast cold and unappealing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganG09
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

comfortable rooms, reasonable price if booked ahead central location near to railway station and links every few minutes to central London Paddington staff remember you as business customer giving value to customer service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cuddles32
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJAV
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is right in the centre of Reading and walking distance from lots of pubs and restaurants. The room is quite basic as is the hotel bar. The breakfast buffet is fairly extensive and provides vegetarian options also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shastri S
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. I’m so pleased with your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Chander Kaushik General Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a clean room then that's about all this has to offer. There is no fridge or safe or carpet on the floor and the laminate flooring was very noisy to walk on. The first time we showered in the cubicle the water didn't go down the waste and flooded the bathroom floor. We phoned reception and told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colmich
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. Many thanks for mentioning about clean room. We do have the room with carpet as well. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you had because of drainage issue and not getting fixed on time. I am looking into...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Several of us stayed for work - half of us had broken heating/air con systems that wouldn't allow us to heat the rooms so it was freezing. Then my shower in the morning wouldn't stay at one temperature - so I couldn't even warm up in the shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephjm88
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you letting us know how your stay was. We regard all received reviews with the utmost importance as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services. Your feedback is very important to us as we are always trying to improve our service based on those feedback. Thank you once again for sharing your comments...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time staying in an Ibis and overall I feel very disappointed with the room. We chose this hotel for a brief overnighter before travelling from Heathrow. Its location, close to Reading train station & our coach connection to the airport, was good. The lobby was clean and inviting, check-in was quick, and we used the 20 minute free web...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you letting us know how your stay was. We regard all received reviews with the utmost importance as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services. Your feedback is very important to us as we are always trying to improve our service based on those feedbacks. Thank you once again for sharing your comments...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room is exeptionaly clean with all the nessecities and a comfy bed for a good nights sleep. Bathroom is small but the shower is large enough to fit two people. Staff are friendly and willing to go the extra mile, Great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you letting us know how your stay was. We regard all received reviews with the utmost importance as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services. Your feedback is very important to us as we are always trying to improve our service based on those feedbacks. Thank you once again for sharing your comments...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The current manager is all about cost saving and not customer satisfaction. Anne D, the previous manager ran the hotel much better. Now, there are very limited options for breakfast, no vegetarian, not even mushrooms or tomatoes. Also the apple juice an orange juice are now in decanters which is less hygienic. Only upside is the staff are friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M4J1K
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for the review on trip advisor. I must say I am highly disappointed to see your feedback about how I am running the hotel. I am always working towards achieving high guest satisfaction and result on our feedback portal reflecting the same. Changing Breakfast selection was never my decision. It came from the head office and...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception booked us in quickly. The reception and bar area were very nice, modern and felt very welcoming! Loved the new style room, extremely comfortable and relaxing. I had telephoned the hotel ahead of time to ask about the fee for car parking as I felt that the web site is not very informative! £12 at NCP for 24 hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ART12a
ibisReading, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. Many thanks for mentioning about the new rooms, and finding it extremely comfortable and relaxing. I will look on the website to mention about the car park charges; Will retrain the staff about the car park information. I am glad...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.4 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
876 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,635 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: ₹ 3,968 - ₹ 9,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Reading Centre staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
5 months ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Reading Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for a quite room away from lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles ART12a, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are to the rear, so noise intrusion is minimal. Turning down heating/air con will reduce noise further.”
 of 5 bubbles miketK8765KR, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the upper floors to ensure a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 401BillD, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“use another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles simonarm, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“14th floor great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 810stevef, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5