We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Reading Centre

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Reading Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,019: English reviews
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been working in Reading for nearly ten years and in that time I've had the pleasure, and pain of staying in pretty much every hotel in the town. The Novotel is the most consist and reliable of all the establishments in Reading. This is down to one thing, the staff care, and not the vague "fake smile" care you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil-Winstanley
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr Winstanley, Thank you very much for your feedback, I am so pleased we were able to resolve the issue, and that you feel really welcome in our hotel. I will pass on your comments to my team and they will be delighted. I look forward to welcome you again, Yours sincerely, Anne Dubruille, General Manager.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my 7th time staying at this hotel. We booked 5 rooms and everything was perfect. Lovely clean rooms, fab staff, great pool and perfect location. Really nice hotel where the staff are really friendly and genuinely will do anything to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Do not hesitate to book.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay112
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here twice in a two week period over Christmas whilst visiting our daughter and both times we had good rooms in a quiet location without having requested one. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower and the toilet was located just inside the room door. This was good if someone was using bathroom but there wasn't any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colmich
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed our swimming pool, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the...

Akersberga, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Big and Clean room and service minded staff. Relax area with pool but remember that the area is tiny and not so big but very satisfying. near Reading station and also very close to center of town. Select top rooms for good view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatsH1971
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and you enjoyed our swimming pool and leisure facilities. We are indeed the only hotel in reading town centre with a swimming pool. My team and I were delighted to read that...

Hartlepool
Reviewed 1 week ago

3 night stay in January .I checked in online but that was a waste of time as it took 5 minutes to do and they seemed completely unaware of this when I arrived. Had specifically requested a quiet room as I was a light sleeper, and was given a room directly above the hotel entrance ( and a bus stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chip227124
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am really sorry your experience did not match with your expectations, and let me assure you we are taking the appropriate measures to avoid this to happen again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind...

N.ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights and could not fault the hotel in any way. Easy walking distance to buses, trains , restaurants and shops. Good sized, well equipped room and and amazingly helpful and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenmole
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel...

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had planned a romantic night and treated ourselves to an "Executive Room". Uppon arrival in the room we found that the fire safety regulations sign not on the door. The room was very shabby and out dated and looked very different to what was advertised on the website. The toilet was separate from the bathroom and had we been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyLGW
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am really sorry your experience did not match with your expectations, and let me assure you we are taking the appropriate measures to avoid this to happen again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night the week before Christmas. Room was the front of the property. It's on a noisy road, but I knew that when I booked. There was some festive noise but not enough to bother me. Bed comfortable. But very odd bathroom arrangement. The toilet was separate to the en suite and had no basin. So it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was in Reading for one night- this was the perfect spot to stay. Walking distance to the train station, restaurants, and a big shopping area. The room was large and comfortable. I liked that the window opened to get fresh air. They offered late check out until 3:00 which was really helpful for meeting my travel plans. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my team and I were delighted to read that you were so well looked after. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Anne Dubruille, Novotel...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sundayoladirana
Anne D, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
903 reviews
0.1 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
876 reviews
0.4 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,635 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.3 km away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#3 of 32 in Reading
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: ₹ 4,812 - ₹ 14,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Reading Centre staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Reading Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No traffic noise if you are the back.”
 of 5 bubbles greenmole, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Though in town it is very quiet in the rooms, but if you want your windows open ask for the higher floors, there are 13 !”
 of 5 bubbles roberthN5138CR, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors will have less room noise from external elements”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenRalph26, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel can become noisy with people leaving the nightclubs on a weekend”
 of 5 bubbles 239darrenp, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont sleep on the high street side of the building as night life can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 104darren52, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay