We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure George Hotel Reading

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure George Hotel Reading
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure George Hotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 483: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I stayed in a single room for two nights while stopping off in Reading before taking the airport bus. The hotel is very central and easy to find and walk to. You notice the quirks of this hotel immediately. To get to the room is like a mini maze, but it really adds to the atmosphere of this amazing building....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank wanderingoff
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We were booked for just 1 night. We were pleasantly surprised as we were put in an executive room. The room was extremely spacious and clean and bright. With a complementary glass of wine for each one of us made this an experience I would like to share. Nico at the desk with his smile went over the top to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel D
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 13 April 2015

this hotel is superbly located , adjacent to the renovated city centre and mall , 5 mins walk from the railway station , good size rooms ( executive) . there is nothing to complain for the price you pay and its great value . They offer you a complimentary drink on arrival if you are part of the accor loyalty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish A
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I was visiting Reading for the European Quarter Final, London Irish vs Edinburgh Rugby, I found the hotel through a simple google search. Normally stay in a hostel on rugby trips but this was a perfect hotel as it was right in the city centre and close to the local bars. It is a 10 minute walk from the train...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jbeaton93
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager

Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on my brothers stag do I organised. Found through external website, easy book. Must admit for the £40 we each paid for a single room and breakfast I was thinking something must be up but when 7 men go off on a jolly we don't care where we sleep. However it was excellent. Right in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager

Stockholm
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Stayed two nights at the George Hotel on a business trip. Really enjoyed the stay - the hotel has a very nice, unique atmosphere. You see that it's an old building when you climb the stairs and pass the narrow corridors on the way to the room (unless you have one close to the reception, but I was in 502...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thearndt
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager

Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daz6680
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Akersberga, Sweden
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Service minded staff, nice entre old fashion style. The room is small but comfortable and I love to stay in the middle of town. Nice walking in the mornings around the canals with view of old combined with new buildings, Walking distance to the railway stations

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MatsH1971
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Had one night stay over in March. Very friendly staff, immaculately clean if a little dated overall. Not recommended unless you're able to carry cases up and down multiple flights of stairs... The bar was very relaxing, Oisin deserves a special mention for very good service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Martin2014
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager

Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

Not a bad hotel for an overnight stay on business however with no lifts carrying my luggage to the top floor up endless stairs was not an enjoyable experience. Wouldn't recommend for a family but would suit a traveller who travels lightly. Not sure I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiemykangaroodown
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercure George Hotel Reading in the future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
901 reviews
0.6 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,021 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
875 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.2 km away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#3 of 32 in Reading
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: ₹ 4,766 - ₹ 11,574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There isn't a life in the hotel, so probably if you are elderly you would be best on the lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles 294paulat, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the Main Street for a bit peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles bibs1966, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 317 is quiet and not street facing (you can't see out the window, so if staying for several nights you might find this odd).”
 of 5 bubbles EmerK20, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try elsewhere!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Ferdy76, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 202 but room 201 is better”
 of 5 bubbles Bluebirdzz, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay