We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure George Hotel Reading

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure George Hotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure George Hotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 483: English reviews
London
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

I have passed the hotel before and been impressed with the outside, but never stayed. The building is attractive and obviously historic which is great for Reading but not always a great sign for a hotel. Anyway, check in was easy, staff were friendly and efficient. Directions to room sounded easy. As mentioned, buildings are old, but I am not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank busman77
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and i am glad you pointed out few issues with the room. We will ensure every room is checked and up to our standards. I am sorry if this has caused any inconvenience to you during your stay. Look forward to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards kayum Ansary

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015

I have stayed at the Hotel before and used it this time in what I call a "Flop run" - where I travel at end of day, arrive late, flop into bed and then up early to get going. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and in the centre, easy to find etc. Reception was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to write a review. I am sorry to know that your stay did not meet your expectation. I would very much like to discuss this in more details and would appreciate if you can call me on 01189573445. Look forward to your call. Kind regards Kayum Ansary

Knutsford
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Working away so after a long drive a bit fed up with no parking, plus a walk from the car park. Over priced, especially when you see rooms for £49 when I paid £92! Room was up lots of stairs and very noisy, wifi didn't work so all in all a bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank disco_munro
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am really sorry to know you were not happy with your stay. We have mentioned on the website we do not have parking and we have arrangement with Queens Road Car park where you get 50% discount with the hotel voucher. You can book the rooms at cheaper price if you book in advance and on a advance purchase...

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

I booked a stay for myself and my 3 children in person on 27th March, to stay 1 night on 2 May. I initially enquired about family rooms, was told they do not offer this type of room and was offered 2 x double executive rooms at a price of £65 per room, all clearly stated on my booking confirmation....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo H
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

I am a huge fan of the Accor Group - a point card holder and choose Novotel, Mercure both at home and abroad whenever I can. I stayed in the Novotel in Reading only two nights ago and it was superb. The George however might as well be owned by a different group, and is mainly on a different planet....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CotswoldsSpotter
Kayum A, Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to know that we did not meet your expectation. I am personally looking at all your comments to see where i can make some improvements. We do have a hospitality tray with Tea/coffee making facility in each room under the TV cabinet which is marked for tea/coffee and the fridge is provided for the guest to store...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

The George is what you expect from an old hotel sloping floors lots of winding corridors and rooms that are quite quaint. It's a comfortable hotel does a good breakfast and the rooms are clean - what more can you ask for. Yes a reasonable place to stay for a reasonable price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and i am glad you liked the historic feel of the hotel. Look forward to see you again. Kind regards Kayum Ansary

the valleys
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner booked last night here Hotel is lovely real oldey worldy Went to bed and from 0100 hours till 0600 was kept awake by youngsters partying in the court yard I rang reception but they could not control them at 0600 I got up and went to the court yard and got abuse off 1 of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheValleysWales
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and i am sorry for the inconvenience caused. We are reviewing our night shift management and i am sure this will be dealt with efficiently in future.

Watford, UK
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Booked for 4 nights on a business trip. Check in was completed quickly, And I was allocated a room on the 2nd floor. The hotel is a bit of a mish mash, so it was quite a trek to the room. The room was OK, nothing special, but the lighting in the room was not very good. The bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonos10
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the Mercure George reading last weekend, on arrival I was welcomed by the reception staff, the hotel was simple enough to find and is a great location! Anyone shopping or eating out will be very well suited here. The room I had was 314, a large spacious and well appointed room, nespresso machine was a nice touch, bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as a family group in two 'Executive Rooms' for a wedding in the area. On the plus side: central location; spacious well appointed rooms; clean; comfortable beds; cot and bed for second child organised for; good self service breakfast; really interesting old hotel; friendly helpful staff. On the downside: no lifts; no onsite parking (NCP car park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stefan K

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
902 reviews
0.6 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,025 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
876 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.2 km away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#3 of 32 in Reading
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: ₹ 4,775 - ₹ 11,732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There isn't a life in the hotel, so probably if you are elderly you would be best on the lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles 294paulat, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the Main Street for a bit peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles bibs1966, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 317 is quiet and not street facing (you can't see out the window, so if staying for several nights you might find this odd).”
 of 5 bubbles EmerK20, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try elsewhere!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Ferdy76, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 202 but room 201 is better”
 of 5 bubbles Bluebirdzz, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay