We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Reading Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Reading Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in a family room, plenty of space, everything in good working order and cleaned each day. No restaurant, but a very good selection nearby, breakfast can be booked but is a choice of box meals. Reception staff helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Des F
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Reading Central Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that during your stay your room was clean. We're happy to note that our hotel team were friendly and helpful throughout your stay and we will be sure to pass your positive comments back to... More 

surabaya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night in the centre of reading ,restaurants and pubs nearby. With cheap overnight parking,£3.50, in broadmead car park. Hotel has all you need and we were impressed with reception staff Camille Fernandez who went out of his way to fulfil all our demands,extra bedding, extra coffees, a bath, hair dryer. Room was on the quiet side of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank debi s
Newbury
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very plain and simple hotel - ticked all the boxes after a busy day out at the football with my son. Clean and comfortable room with all the facilities that you require. The price of the room was also great value for money for two people.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank DMcEnhill
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The TV turned on but was not tuned in.The radiator was hanging off the wall and the bedside lights would not turn off.Worst of all on reporting these defects to reception there was a lack of interest and the promise of a telephone call from management which never materialised.I feel cheated out of my money and am surprised that a... More 

Helpful?
Thank keithdrayton
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We wish for our customers to enjoy their hotel experience, so we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Reading Central hotel. It’s important that our team provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at all times, please... More 

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is basic and located next to a busy dual carriageway, though my room was on the quieter side of the hotel. The main problem was no hot water at all, and a cold shower isn't the best way to start your day. I was offered a full refund, but this hasn't been sorted as yet, despite me chasing... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jonkershaw
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family in the area and can honestly say it was terrible. The room was fine but the staff did absolutely nothing to shut up the noisy quests in the room next to ours even after several complaints from many of the other rooms on the floor including ourselves. We were kept awake... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KaylaImpey1636
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

checked in to a dirty room along with my friends room also after check in time, arrived back at 5;30 still to a dirty room even though the women on duty knew about this issue. A man on shift that evening had to come check our room as he said he knows the staff wouldnt of checked me in to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank leanneaustin91
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not to the exceptional standard we strive for and we do apologise for this. We can assure you we will be passing on your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel to enable us to improve the service we offer. If you wish you can... More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. They were hard, sharp in places. The pillows gave me a headache. Bedding and towels were stained and frayed in some areas. The bath tap leaked, spraying everywhere. The bathroom had no lock. The water temperature often went scalding hot to freezing cold. The room smelt damp. Marks all over the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our... More 

Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Room was far too hot despite the fan on all night and window open with a thunderstorm in progress! The kingsize bed only had a sheet no duvet (to be fair I didn't need a sheet let alone a duvet due to how hot the the room was, however seeing as thought the pull out beds had them I felt... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank mrsh848
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your helpful review of our Reading Central Travelodge with us. During the warmer spells, we know how vital it is to offer rooms to relax and beat the weather. To achieve a cooler room we have take measures to ensure our guests are comfortable, we have provided fans and lighter bed linen... More 

West Yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The Reading Central Travelodge is centrally located – the staff are helpful and friendly – there is reasonably priced parking nearby. Traffic noise only to be expected near a busy road. Otherwise, all fine.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank markmusic2010

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
873 reviews
3.0 km away
Travelodge Reading Whitley
Travelodge Reading Whitley
#20 of 32 in Reading
89 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Novotel Reading Centre
#10 of 32 in Reading
1,085 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#26 of 32 in Reading
256 reviews
5.1 km away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Central

Address: Oxthorn House, 60 Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Price Range: ₹ 4,309 - ₹ 7,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Central 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Reading Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading Central Hotel Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Reading Central staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Morecambe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Reading Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fourth floor rooms are quiet. Ask for quiet side.”
 of 5 bubbles 101debis, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 302 and 303 were good”
 of 5 bubbles 246brendanw, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont choose one, dont go”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelB398, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cheer yourself up at this drab hotel by doing some ironing”
 of 5 bubbles garylW5078HM, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room as for one before hand by calling the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mdymusic1, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay